We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for what it is”
Review of Elaia

Elaia
Ranked #63 of 312 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $7 - $130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Xoxoxox
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for what it is”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I purchased the $25 Vegetarian breakfast thinking i was in for a real treat for that price but unfortunately all I was served was a run of the mill poached eggs, soggy over cooked spinach, a super small portion of mushrooms and two frozen packet hash browns still dripping in oil.

The meal would have been ok with a $10 to $15 price tag but after paying $25 for that I felt robbed. In total I spent $28 for very average breakfast and a long black.

When I mentioned to staff that the breakfast was a bit expensive for what i received all she had to say was yes I know.

Do yourself a favor and east at the busy cafe next door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    83
    44
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

After driving around Launceston last night we settled on Elaia for dessert. The citrus tart was great, the tiramisu ok. After traveling around Italy recently it had a bit too much cream and not enough egg yolk in it for my personal preference.

We were back for lunch today with family and everything was great.

Caesar salad, calamari salad and fish and chips all fantastic. My husband had the salmon sandwich and his only complaint was it wasn't big enough.

Service was excellent. We had one person who needed to eat and run before the rest of us and the staff were very accommodating.

I would definitely recommend the macarons also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Disappointing overall. A nice location and a nice style. We waited an age for our coffees, breakfast arrived before they did and they were a bit too weak and milky. Meal serves were very small so we both felt not quite satisfied. The berry compote had 2 berries in total. The meals were tasty though. It was packed so others must like it. Maybe we caught them on an off morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Doesn't look like much but the food is amazing.
A simple garlic bread and pizza was so tasty, much to our surprise.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ricaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaiaritsa, Owner at Elaia, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello and thankyou for your recent review and rating!!

We are not sure what you mean by 'doesn't look like much' but nevertheless we are delighted you enjoyed the Garlic Cob and pizza!!

Wish you all the best in your future travels and dining experiences.

Cheers

Ritsa Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanceston, Tasmania.
1 review
“Lovely place to visit!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great food, great service and great atmostphere.
Been there quite a few times and I have never been disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara_Paige_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaiaritsa, Owner at Elaia, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
YAY YAY !!! Happy Dance!! We think we are a lovely place to visit too which is why we love working here... and twenty years of being here proves exactly that!

Thankyou for taking the time to review our cafe. We wish you all the best and look forward to servicing you again soon.

Ritsa Nicholas
Elaia Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elaia also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Elaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing