We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Food, Some Good, Some Not”

Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 364 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $58
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

I have to say I had higher expectations of this place.

We ordered a selection of dishes that genuinely lacked flavour.

The fried rice had an overpowering lemon grass flavour, which we really odd, and given it was supposed to be a premium rice, there wasn’t much else in it.

The combination chow mien again lacked flavour and was quite bland.

The prawn toast and spring rolls were nice however again the pork dish we had was bland.

Overall considering the price I am a bit disappointed with what we got. Maybe we caught them at a bad time, but I will be looking to other restaurants around Launceston first before we come back again.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank lachieb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019

Have never ordered take away food from Dynasty before but didn't fancy getting ready for a full sit down meal so decided on take away.
service was extremely quick a lot of people getting take aways on a sunday night so very popular. Ordered the duck spring rolls beautiful combination with vegetables and combination seafood chow mein.
I was extremely please with the variety of fresh vegetables in both dishes the meat content was extremely good value the seafood nice and fresh.
All dishes were tasty without the aftertaste of oil or flavour enhancers.
25 minute wait for take away so used the facilities and sat at bar and ordered a couple of drinks couldn't fault the service.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

as we had not been to this restaurant, but driven past so many times i thought this is worth a try ,the service right from the moment we walked in, was amazing , seated in less than 2 mins , the waiter was so polite, and then the food was there , we had 6 at our table but never waited at any time, for us all to be served, the food was amazing,,,,, the service outstanding , thank you all .

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank guruwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Both times we have ordered takeaway from this place, we have found the service disappointing. The first time we had to wait ages for someone to come to the counter. Giving them a 2nd chance, it was worse. We were waiting at the counter and wait staff saw us & ignored us. Then one came out & said 'are you right' in an abrupt manner which is language we find rude. Why can't you say 'may I help you?'. The food is only ok for us & sadly this restaurant will no longer be used by us because we find the service lacking. We eat out weekly & run a BnB so this is not a place we will visit again or recommend to our guests. It does seem popular inside so maybe that is where the good service is.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

As visitors to Launceston, our host James at Auldington Hotel recommended this restaurant. It exceeded our expectations with such beautiful & colourful Chinese decor - quite a stand out in this day of plain dull restaurants. Clearly the owners take great pride in their establishment. Our food was extremely well presented and delicious. My husband always orders sweet and sour pork and he rated it 9/10. My king prawns with ginger,shallots and vegetable was very generous and flavours subtle yet impressive. Chinese uni student staff were very polite and provided wonderful service. Thank you to everyone for making our evening so enjoyable.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank eldersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing