We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask Norman for the Signature menu”

Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 303 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $0 - $62
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ask Norman for the Signature menu”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Visited the restaurant with colleagues after an absence of 12 months. Decor remained unchanged and could do with a makeover but new front of house manager, Norman, who has brought with him a new wine list and new speciality dishes from all over Asia.
What a difference!!!!!!!.
Staff we attentive and knowledgable and the food has had a complete makeover.
We feasted on the twice cooked pork belly in soy sauce and chilli, freshly made prawn dumplings, duck wraps and, san choi bow, skelbrook pork racks and finished with mango moose and lemon cheesecake.
If it has been a while since you have been there make a booking and ask for Norman

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Many thanks for the review, and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the new menu!

There have been a number of changes which we have made at Dynasty, recently, as such to receive your positive feedback on the new selections is encouraging.

I hope to see you again; especially without the absence of 12 months between visits.

Regards,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    25
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful gourmet Chinese food and banquet menu full of surprises”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Fantastic food, and very interesting delicious tasting banquet menu. I had been to this restaurant many years ago, but was very surprised recently when I took a friend there and we tried the honey sweet and sour taster menu. Definitely not the usual things. Traditional Chinese food with a very gourmet touch which makes this restaurant much more than your local Chinese. So today I took a group of 13 friends for a special occasion so we chose that same banquet menu. The service was superb and very friendly and they were happy to split the bill. The food was plentiful and very nice - honey sesame prawns that were light and crisp and hot and and very tasty - the best I have ever had. The Dynasty pickled vegetables were so delicious and crisp and had a very unusual flavour. Vegetable Tempura with plum sauce is to die for and pineapple fried rice was gorgeous. Several people remarked it was the best Chinese food they had ever eaten - and I agree. Thanks to the Dynasty for a memorable afternoon. Perfect for a group party or for a table for two or four.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
I remember this group, and want to say a big Thank You for choosing Dynasty for your group event!

I believe the occasion, and menu choice, was spot-on, thus am very happy to receive your happy feedback.

Do drop by again and try another of our tasting menus! If you liked the Honey Sweet & Sour, I am certain that the Dynasty Taster will leave you as satisfied!

Regards,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a good experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great food and attentive staff.
Staff were more than happy to split the bill which is unusual nowadays.
There is plenty of car parking in the rear of the restuarant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PJSos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

really impressed with this resturant. Just strolled up. The ambience is excellent really gives you the chinese feel. The staff very friendly the food some of the best I have had. The pricing very reasonable. Overall a great resturant

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food with traditional Chinese decor”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Wonderful meal, excellent service, explained specials in great detail. Excellent selection of dishes and the food was quick to be served, was hot and well presented. We were not rushed and you felt very at ease with minimal noise enabling comfortable conversation while dining. Excellent wine list with reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cldpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing