We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A White Elephant”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a convent, but is now a hotel stripped of all warmth. Modern art , cold feeling, and draughty too.

I got a special winter deal, but would never pay the asking price for this place. Bed was so soft and sinky, I was glad I was alone in it !!

The towels smelled of some some of petroleum smell, but when I mentioned it to the duty manager he just asked about when the next time I would be coming so he could........., I said I was telling him for the sake of ALL his guests.

He told me that at peak periods they get nearly $1000 per night for the room I had. I said you have to be joking. He said when it was the last room in Launceston people would pay that rate.
Not a good attitude to business.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another place !! And work out your own fire plan, because if they have one they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Leon Bowman is very helpful. Very quiet as off the street. Beautiful rooms, lovely views over Launceston. Rooms very clean & comfortable, highly recommend to anyone. Our first time at the Auldington but would make this me first place of choice next time I come to Launceston.

Room Tip: Corner suite large & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've stayed at the Auldington several (maybe five?) times in recent years and it remains our first choice of accommodation in Launceston. We have no personal connection to the owners or managers - we just really love the hotel. It's a refurbished convent which gives it history, charm and a little quirkiness. It's quite small so if you want the experience of a larger chain hotel, with all the added-extra services, you should maybe consider staying elsewhere. We have never found a problem with cleanliness, comfort, hygiene or service.

Our recent stay was an overnighter, at a cheap wotif rate. We were really happy with our room, as we always are - and we love the Auldington bathrooms. This hotel is one of the few where we would actually consider taking a bath, it does feel really clean. Our bed was comfortable, we slept well, the room was cleaned properly right into the corners and behind/under the furniture, all appliances worked, the air-con was warm and efficient, and the bathrobes were a nice touch.

To comment on a few previous reviews ... Yes, they charge for parking - but with free parking out on the street, onsite parking at $5.50 is a reasonable opt-in charge which no-one is forcing you to pay. No, you don't have to lug your cases up the stairs - they have a lift. No, they don't have room service because they don't have an onsite restaurant, but they're happy to give you information about local pizza delivery places, and there's a Chinese restaurant about a block away. Home/hotel delivery by restaurants isn't really a big thing in Tasmania, and late-night dining in Launceston doesn't give you much choice. If you read the compendium you'll see that they do have a small range of microwave meals available if you really can't find something else.

With cafes within walking distance the breakfast pack isn't necessary - but once again it at least offers something for travellers who might be pressed for time.

We found the staff welcoming, helpful and friendly - and we won't hesitate to return to this hotel when we next visit Launceston.

Room Tip: Check out the games/reading room for a nice spot to read the paper or have a game of Scrabble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived having booked two adults and two children. There were no amenities towels or most importantly pillows for the kids. The bed was worn out. All charm has been stripped from the rooms which are dirty and cold. No doonas or adequate bedding, just a thin worn out blanket. No fire plan or emergency information. Parking costs over $5 a day and this was never explained to us. Dont bother with this. Stay at a motel. Itll be cleaner and cost less

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jabskjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Trip Adviser reviews appealed and we booked in for $110.

Has a more guest house/private hotel feel.

Large renovated room and bathroom with an enormous bath.

Quiet until 7.30 when a neighbour decided to whippersnip his edges, but it was time to rise and get on with exploring Launceston and have a wonderful breakfast in Cafe Cuccina just down from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 37 had a delightfully big bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Probably 3.5 rating. Room was spacious and modern. Balcony overlooking city lights but not quite the view I was expecting - a lot of foreground rooves etc.
Biggest issue is obvious attitude. I was asked on phone when they checked my arrival time from the internet booking if I had a car. I said yes. They issued me a parking pass - but it was $5.50 a day - in suburban Launceston??? I parked in the street about 20 metre walk. Note on key warned that a day fee of $60 will be charged if late for check out at 10am. Sign on night buzzer warned that if not an emergency a call out fee will be charged. Attitude seems to be that guests can stay - if they follow the rules!
On leaving at 8.30am another couple were looking around trying to find where to leave their key. Reception didn't open until 9.00am and there was no key drop. They complained of an uncomfortable bed. Ours was fine.
It is a nice building with interesting art, but I'd probably check elsewhere for a new experience rather than going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst on business. Great location on a hill overlooking the city. Had room 14 which consisted of a large refurbished bedroom, its own lounge with chairs and mini bar and a sizeable bathroom with a very large bath. Meals are not served here. Could not complain, only wish I had more time to take it in more. If breakfast is required, the hotel will give you a pack at around $13 but there is a great little coffee shop about a 100 metre walk away. Despite previous reports, my mattress was fine. Definitely recommended

Room Tip: No restaurant here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDHAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $86 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing