We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After our 6 day hike on the Overland Track it was just wonderful to be dropped off at this gorgeous hotel in Launceston Tasmania. The room was just perfect and had a bath to soak our weary bones. The staff were especially helpful advising places to eat and tourist spots to visit. It was a quite location but within easy walking distance to the main street and the Cataract Gorge. A cute cafe Cuccina at the bottom of the hill served the most delicious breakfast and coffee. Will definitely stay here the next time we visit Tasmania and will highly recommend to all our friends planning a trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on level three have access to balcony and a sitting room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjmacca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Auldington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 369 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Audlington was in great location within walking distance to town centre.
The staff were very friendly and recommended some excellent eating places in launceston. The gardens were beautiful.
Good value for money and would stay again and definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a great place , beautiful old building that has been refurbished brilliantly with all the modern facilities . Bathroom was outstanding with an excellent spa bath. The view of Launceston from our room was really good. The Auldington is just a short distance from the Cataract Gorge & the CBD. The family who run it are friendly & only too ready to give you information on where the best restaurants are located & how to get to local places of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Auldington is in a great location in Launceston. Just 10 mins walk from Cataract Gorge and the centre of town.
Our room didn't have a view but for the amazingly cheap price that we paid we were surprised to get a suite consisting of bedroom, sitting room and bathroom with a bath. All rooms had plenty of space and were clean, modern and well stocked.
The guy on the desk was friendly and did offer us an upgrade to the Bridal suite for a fraction of the price. If we were staying more than one night we may just have taken him up on his offer. He was very helpful in suggesting places to eat for dinner.
I would quite easily stay here again and would highly recommend it to other travellers to Launceston.
The only down was the $5.50 car parking fee. My husband wasn't happy about that.

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms would be good. But if you like to look out a window make sure you tell th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezzad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room at the Auldington was spacious, easily accessible and had a great outlook over Launceston's CBD.

It was very clean and tidy and the facilities were fine. The bathroom was a delight - loved the shower.

The location of the hotel was ideal, just a short walk to the CBD and access to the major routes out of the city were easily navigated.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel was a nunnery, I believe, but the way it has been transformed inside you would be hard pressed to be able to identify it as such. The gardens were a delight as well.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would have even better views and would eliminate any noise coming from peopl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oznoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The building was originally a Convent which has been superbly renovated to provide modern well appointed accommodation. Whilst all floors are serviced by a lift, I chose to walk the beautiful stairs to the third floor. Truly a lovely building with well thought out large rooms.

I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor front of house provides a beautiful view over Launceston
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We checked in late to a really dodgy hotel and (as ants and spiders were in our 7 year old daughter's bed) we decided not to stay. So at 7pm on a Saturday night we were forced to find accommodation quickly in Launceston, a city we did not know. There are lots of run-down but expensive hotels around the CBD but luckily Auldington starts with an "A" as this was one of the first places we called. Auldington was an amazing find for us and excellent value for money. Firstly on the websites we checked, they did not charge extra for children (most accommodation providers list "family rooms" for a set price but then charge extra if you have kids - this is very annoying when trying to compare rates). The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and having an elevator was a great help. The room was very modern, clean and upmarket, perfect for our family. Being slightly out of the CBD was an advantage as it felt safe and secure with good off street parking. In the morning when the sun was up, we found Auldington had a magnificent rose garden setting. The corridors are filled with beautiful artwork from a local artist. Leon the manager was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for us, we had prepaid accommodation booked for the following night as we would loved to have been able to stay longer. Auldington proved to be a highlight of our Tasmanian holiday. We will definitely recommend for families but it is a perfect base for corporate travellers as well.

Room Tip: There is a good selection of souvenirs at reception and a large guest lounge and balcony on the top...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrizwalds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing