We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a spacious room with a view”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and a spacious room with a view”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came across the Auldington on the last night of our around-Tasmania holiday. A lucky, drive-up find! The old convent is in a good location and we had a second floor, front room with a large balcony view over Launceston. It was a bright and spacious bedroom with great en-suite facilities. Although the hotel is a Victorian era building, the furnishing in our suite was comfortable, tasteful and minimalist.
It was only a short walk into town and to a choice of nearby restaurants.
Who cares about a small $5 parking charge when you're on holiday! Leon's hospitality makes up for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    132
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
70
204
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor room with a double bedroom & bathroom. Average standard of furnishings and decor. Charge of $5 for onsite parking was somewhat unreasonable we thought. Window opened onto verandah which offered a good view of Launceston, as the property is on a hill, however in the morning a party of departing guests talking at length outside the window was rather intrusive. Very close of Cataract Gorge and the Stillwater Restaurant, however a bit further away from central shopping area of Launceston. Bathroom was large but not very well designed as there was hardly any shelf space around the vanity unit but lots of unused space in the rest of the room. They do offer free hire of DVD's to guests. We were flying home the next day at the end of our holiday so accommodation for this particular night wasn't really a priority and the rate was very reasonable. If you are simply looking for reasonably priced, comfortable and convenient accommodation in Launceston this is fine, but nothing special.

Room Tip: To take maximum advantage of the views, a room on the higher floors would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I had a 1 night stay here recently to save an early morning drive up from Hobart. I had a ground floor room which had a separate bedroom and living area with a bathroom off the side of the living area. The bathroom featured a large two person bath and separate shower. The living area had a flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd player, small fridge / mini bar with cutlery and crockery. The bedroom had a large queen bed also with a flat screen tv/DVD and large wardrobe. The view of a night from the third floor verandah is stunning, head up there if you are on the ground floor.

The location is good, being a 5 minute walk from a number of restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and I will certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has more of a motel feel. Cheaply updated. However, at $100/night, it's adequate and clean. The parking charge of $5.50 is absurd considering you park on their property and the parking lot is nearly empty! We didn't pay and just parked on the street (5 second walk away). Launceston was just a stopover for us on our Tassie holiday (and an opportunity to enjoy the amazing Stillwater & Black Cow Bistro) so for us, the Auldington did the job.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank keykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have a third floor NE corner room with balcony and 180 degree views of the entire town of Launceston. I've paid far more for a Backwater, California room with a freeway view or a Cudgel-the-Tourist, Colorado room on a freeway with surly desk clerks and a view of a parking lot. I'm very pleased with the accommodations. Clean, tidy and roomy.

The desk clerks here are very helpful (cleaned the windows for us at our request) and knowledgeable about the immediate area and the more distant surroundings for day tours. They helped me to find local cheeses, wine, salad and bread for an in room dinner and gave me ideas for our excursions over the next few days. They could not be better informed for our needs and added quite a bit of info to our extensive googling and online research of the area. Not all good things have an online presence easily found.

I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. That would be you, Gen.

Room Tip: View rooms are my thing. Third floor corners would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and the accomodations were good! Everything was clean and spacious. We also did our laundry there and it was incredibly cheap and quick!

It was a bit of a walk to local bars and restaurants but definitely doable.

A quick note about Launceston -- typically no restaurant serves meals after 8:30pm. Had to have a pringles and red wine late night dinner from the mini bar.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cobolovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in a King Suite which had a king bed, and fold out queen bed in adjoining room. Was clean, well maintained and great value for 2 adults 2 young kids. Short drive to Cataract Gorge and a walk into town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank map_bgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Property: Auldington
Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing