We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous little place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Two up on York

kitchen with all you need, plus tv
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen with all you need, plus tv
main bathroom upstairs master bedroom upstairs with queen size bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
kitchen with all you need, plus tv
main bathroom upstairs
master bedroom upstairs with queen size bed.
seating down stairs
laundry
up stairs landing
lounge room up stairs
HALL WAY FROM FRONT DOOR
electric log fire to keep you warm and cosy.upstairs lounge
up stair front verandah.
lounge
lounge room
front entrance
front entrance
front of the townhouse
picnic basket
kitchen
launceston seaport great place to have dinner or just coffee and a chat.5 mimutes  walk
10 minutes walk to Cataract Gorge
breakfast on the balcony
keeping warm
front entrance
balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry W
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little place”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Absolutely everything you need for a memorable stay in Launceston. The townhouse is very well-equipped, beautifully decorated and clean - all within walking distance to many of Launceston's tourist attractions. Liz and Shane are lovely hosts with heaps of local knowledge and some great suggestions for restaurants, etc. Would recommend without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
So glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our amazing state of Tasmania. Thank you for your review it was our pleasure to have meet you both and to have you staying at our townhouse .Cheers Liz and Shane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
1 review
“Luxury with the personal touch”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Really lovely townhouse in the centre of Launceston, easy walk to shopping, restaurants, cinema and Cataract Gorge. Fittings and furnishings in this restored two storey terrace are really first class but what made it very special was Shane and Elizabeth's thoughtful touches- like the champers and chocs for my husband's birthday. They went down a treat! Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Thank you so much .it was a pleasure meeting you all. Thank you for
staying at our townhouse in Launceston to celebrate your husband birthday .Cheers x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy1954
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem, very convenient, fantastically helpful owners”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We arrived to find Liz and Shane waiting for us. Lovely people and very helpful in getting us settled in. This is a fabulous terraced colonial town house, very conveniently located near to the centre of town. Beautifully decorated with everything you could want to make your stay comfortable. The nearest supermarket was only 5 minutes walk away, the same for restaurants if you wanted to eat out. All the local history walks were easy from the house including the gorge - which was a delightful walk. Had we known how delightful the property and Launceston were - we would have booked for longer. Gets my vote !!
This is not really suitable for people with mobility issues, or small children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
What a pleasure it was meeting you both. Thank you for your great comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elegant decor with everything you could need”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay at Two up on York - we were very comfortable and appreciated all the thoughtful touches . The owners had thought of everything including fresh flowers , torches , first aid kit , incredibly well stocked kitchen, even facilities to wash and hang clothes - with an outside line and a small folding clothes airer. We loved the off street parking around the back of the property . We loved this property so much we wanted to take it all around Tassie with us - our teenage daughter even wanted to take it back to Sydney with us . Thanks Liz and Shane for our warm welcome and ongoing support when we needed it during our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The elegant decor
Liked least: Having to leave this property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
THANK YOU SO MUCH . WE ARE GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY. CHEERS LIZ & SHANE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyunqing
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Townhouse”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed at the townhouse for 4 nights with my family. Shane and Liz waited for us in the townhouse and gave a detailed introduction to the place and how we can use the appliances. They also checked on our travel plans during our stay, and provided directions to nearby restaurants. The townhouse is just a 5 mins walk away from a large supermarket, which closes late at night. The beds were comfortable and came with electric blankets. I loved the kitchen the most and we spent most of our time there. The kitchen was well equipped and well stocked with free and payable items. The wifi connection was good as well. Some smalls issues we had were the stairs leading to the main toilet, which Liz has informed us to be careful. The toilet at ground floor was too cold to be used at night. Laundry facilities were adequate. Very nice experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well-equipped kitchen
Liked least: The staircase is a little too steep
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
THANK YOU SO MUCH XX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
two_and_a...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Two Up on York. The owners Liz and Shane went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay in Launceston, from practical things in the house (pantry items, extra towels, blankets etc) to local tips on things to do and places to visit. They were super friendly and we were very grateful for their help. The house itself has a lovely cozy feel to it and was very clean upon arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
THANK YOU SO MUCH XX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol_tro...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Personal attention”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was an excellent rental with a high standard of cleanliness and comfort..Facilities were excellent, with everything you could possible need for a short stay including cooking utensils, kitchen equipment and washing machine. You are given a warm welcome by Liz the owner, who cannot do enough to make your stay memorable.
A good find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Washing machine
Liked least: Personal items for sale
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
THANK YOU SO MUCH XX X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing