We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations - Certainly not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is a good basic hotel around 3 or 3.5 stars. No air conditioning. In room evaporative cooler didn't really have any effect. Room was clean but the bathroom was very average (less than 3 stars). Found breakfast in restaurant was expensive and not good value but room service breakfast was a little better. Stayed 2 nights and the room was made up in a slap happy fashion (bed not made up properly etc). Staff quite friendly and helpful. Fairly close to everything in the CBD. Would recommend as long as your expectations are around 3 star. Not great value given what we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetotravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2010

Good value with Advantage Plus membership rates; very close to city no need for a car to get around

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We enjoyed the room which is spacious and clean. The rack of lamb at the restaurant was well cooked and tasty, and reasonably priced. However, for unknown reasons there was fire alarm at 1:00 a.m. which was annoying and I wished was a rare occurrence.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The place was a nice clean friendly atmosphere, much brighter and more enjoyable than staying there a number of years ago under different management / ownership

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pakenham
1
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Front end check in was poor and being placed in a disabled room was very ordinary considering I am an advantage plus member. After the poor ceck in we didnt even use the facilities on site.
My reccomendation below is based on my veiw on the staff and service at the time,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Good location and very handy to shops, the room was very comfortable with quite a nice view. Not too happy about the parking situation should be included in your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $99 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing