We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checkin issue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Checkin issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Checkin night staff did not refer to booking via APVC and put me in standard room at higher rate.
I noticed this the next morning when i referred to by voucher. Day staff understood the error and advised there would be a reduction of my room rate for their error.. Not sure if this occurred

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Launceston.

Our apologies for any confusion in relation to your reservation on arrival, I was pleased to read that the team were able to resolve the error the following day but noted you weren't sure if the reduction occurred or not. I would be more than happy to check this for you and can be contacted at the hotel

From you ratings of the other aspects of your stay It would appear that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    535
    300
    70
    48
See reviews for
227
484
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

We booked this hotel under a tv travel show special offer. On check-in, we were given a parking voucher which was not included in the deal.
We had a "privilege"room for half price, and would say it was good value at full price. The top floor room was airconditioned, and while it was at the front facing the theatre and the setting sun we were completely comfortable. The king bed did not crowd the spacious room, and the pod coffee maker and choice of superior teas were bonuses. We did not use the restaurants, finding a lovely Italian place within two blocks.
If driving yourself, make sure you take a map, Launceston's one way system is complicated by a mall and you need to know where the turns are.
Cataract Gorge is nearby and well worth a visit, although the cafe is very expensive and could do with some soundproofing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handbag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear Handbag88

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your visit to Mercure Launceston.

We are blessed to be surrounded by some lovely natural attractions, the Cataract Gorge being one of the best, truly amazing having such an amazing attraction so close to the city. I was glad to read you found the Privilege rooms enjoyable, they are a relatively new addition to the Mercure Brand and like yourself I feel the provide great value for money.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Launceston.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Nothing adverse to report. Perhaps a liitle later check would have been appreciated , since we were not flying out until 3.30 pm

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor members and users. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rated the property so highly. We are very proud of the our team and hotel and it is always a pleasure to receive positive comments which I will certainly be sharing with our team. A quick note on late check out if you are visiting with us again, depending on availability we can usually extend a complimentary late check out until noon, or late for a small additional charge. We also have the facility to store any luggage you may have which can leave you free to get in some last minute exploring or shopping.

I again thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Launceston

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Very disappointed in the Reservation staff at the Mecure Launceston, I had sent one email and called 4 times only to hear they were in a meeting, just stepped out for a moment or already gone home, left messages but no replies, ended up having to call the ACCOR reservation helpline because the website wouldnt let me book rooms as well. Requested a credit card form twice from Mecure Launceston and still didnt receive it.
Reception girls were nice and thats about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear AshBrown

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback and share your experience with fellow travelers.

I do appologise for the difficulty you experienced trying to make your reservation, this is normally, and should be a smooth and easy process. Whilst this certainly did not get your visit off to the positive start it should have been it was pleasing to read the service your received at reception was a pleasant one.

I again thank you for your feedback and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is our first trip to Tassie and our stay was excellent, good service, excellent breakfast. Did the gorge chair ride and a river cruise and can recommend both. Didn’t see much of the town as we were not there long enough but will definitely be back and will stay at the Mercure again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing