We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel did the right thing in the end” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Carrickalinga
1 review
“The hotel did the right thing in the end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

After a bad experience, the hotel definitely came up trumps in the end. They refunded the cost of the taxi which we had incurred due to a genuine mistake on their part. They did this promptly and pleasantly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_bronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with your fellow travelers.

I was pleased to read that despite an initial problem regarding your transfers our team were able to resolve the issue for you. We are very much focused on delivering exceptional customer service and I will be sharing your response with the team.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston next time you visit.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    535
    300
    70
    48
See reviews for
227
484
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights on arrival in Tassie and 2 night on departure. Easy to find, very central lcoation, very friendly staff, clean rooms, good price, great resturant - so all and all - very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAM_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking some time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay in Launceston and the Mercure.

I was glad you found the location of the hotel handy to the many fantastic attractions that Launceston has to offer. I also thank you for the feedback on the hotel and our team. We are very proud of both and I will be certainly sharing your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Never go to this hotel if you wish to have value for money. Even our tour director passionately dislikes this hotel.
On arrival we were greeted with a grunt when asked for our key.
Key card did not open door. Had to go back to reception ot have it reset.
Room was on second floor, front of hotel . NEVER accept a room on the front. All rooms face the back of the Princess Theatre so at weekends it is the gathering place for very noisy groups unitl at least 2.30 am.
Although April, the room was like a sauna, a very small fan making no difference.
Windows can open about 6 inches but due to the noise outside I was up and down opening and shutting the window multiple times during the night.
We were at the hotel with a tour group however the dinner provided for us was umbelievable. I am sure prison food would be superior to what was dished up to us. Onion soup which was I am sure liquid vegemite with a few slices of onion floating in it.
Dry fish fillet with no sauce, lemon or flavouring, sloppy beef ragout which became just liquid by the time the last group was served. Dessert was dry slices of cake. Cream arrived about 10 minutes after the cake.
City clock strikes every quarter hour including all though the night.
Room was reasonably clean however on the bathroom floor, in front of the toilet was a large pile of black hair.
Wake up calls were confused with some people staying over woken at 6 am.
Phone rang duirng the night in room for no apparent reason.
Waited 10 minutes at reception in the morning and finally someone came and said he had been counting the money in the safe.
In all ,the staff were extremely cool and disinterested.
Find another place ot stay...Mecure Launceston is a dump.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dargie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure,

I was naturally very concerned to read of your experience, and that it did not live up to your expectations. We do take your constructive feedback very seriously and we have worked through the points you have shared to ensure we improve across these areas. I was surprised to read that we did not deliver the service levels that we normally receive very good feedback on, and am sure we would be able to ensure a much improved experience should you give us the opportunity to look after you in the future.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, like previous reviewer we booked the room as a 'mystery hotel' via lastminute.com and were very happy with the price. Room was bright and clean, no aircon as other reviewers have noted but this wasn't a problem as weather wasn't that hot. Staff were friendly and the Tram Bar was cute. Our biggest issue was that our bathroom looked like something straight out of a nursing home - shower chair and rubber non-slip mat in the steel floored shower, and the highest toilet I have ever used. The shower chair in particular was a bit of a mood killer as there wasn't really anywhere else to put it. As an active couple in our mid-20s, it would have been nice if staff had recognized at check-in that we would not be needing this and offered to remove it. Staff were also a bit confused about how to access the internet. Despite these issues, we had a great time there and the location was perfect. At the right price, we would def. stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micragetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers!

We are very proud of our friendly team and it is always great to read that the hard work they do is recognized. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with them. I noticed your comments in relation to the bathroom and after checking I was able to confirm that you did stay in one of our two accessible rooms, and whilst these are the last rooms we allocate unless specifically requested the night of your visit we were fully booked. I certainly do take on board your suggestions on how we may have better recognized this however in relation to the share chair in particular. I was pleased to read the balance of your experience was a positive one and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and let you experience another of our rooms next time around.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and myself went to Launceston for a four day mini break. The staff at the Mecure were very helpful. We were on the sixth floor, had a lovely view of the city and mountains in the background. The room was clean, big and fully equiped with modern TV, latest coffee machine. We didn't experience any problems with hot rooms, as the weather was perfect both day and night for us. We ate at Snappers restaurant one evening and found the food to be excelllent. Much better than the Hotel around the corner for the same price! The location was ideal, as we walked everywhere. To Cataract Gorge, James Boag Brewery for a tour, the shops and restaurants. We did a one day tour to Cradle Mountain with Under Down Under..... We had the best time that day. Overall a fantastic mini break, well worth giving it a go.
Only negative was you could hear noise coming from a night club close by until early morning, that happened on Friday night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This was a last minute selection for Launceston and bought the deal over the internet as "Secret Room" so we had no idea where we were purchasing. It was a bargain and we were sceptical due to other peoples reviews. We got a large room on the 4th floor, the welcome at reception was great as was the cleanliness and comfort. We had breakfast in the restaurant and this also was of a high standard. The hotel is in an excellent location and we just walked around the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
719 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are failry newly renovated. However, as others have mentioned, don't stay here if it is hot weather. If it is over 25 degC outside, the hotel retains the heat and as others have mentioned, there is no air conditioning... The room was boiling. I have also stayed here another time when it was hot and siad never again, but I was tempted by a cheap rate. However, I won't stay here again... I told the receptionist and emailed the manager. They advised that they might put air conditioning in some time, but it would be expensive. I would strongly advise avoiding this hotel in the summer months. Note it can get hot in Launceston! Plus they charge for parking...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing