We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and comfy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Burnie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Location and comfy bed”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only HUGE problem was that the key cards did not work efficiently. One did not work at all and the other one had to be put in and out about 20 times at varying speeds before it would work, every single time. SO if you want to get into your room quickly then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a remodelled room, but make sure the key works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Tracey P

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

I do apologize that your key didn’t work, I have arranged for all locks in the Hotel to have their sensors cleaned.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    572
    313
    75
    50
See reviews for
248
513
105
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

No complaints from us although the rooms will be better when refurbishment is completed.
Price was reasonable so we were satisfied with our choice. Parking for guests at $6.00 per night seems a bit of a bad choice. I'm sure most patrons would rather pay $10.00 extra per night and be offered "free" parking.
My pet hate is extra for car parking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mark C

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, I have made a note about the car parking and will be offering a package that includes car parking moving forward.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

When a client told me that they had booked this hotel for a business trip to Launceston I was not expecting very much (in fact I was expecting an out of date motel with ghastly bedspreads) and I have to say I was nicely surprised by how modern the hotel was. I am not sure what some of the more negative reviews are about - it is a Best Western after all and not a top of the line hotel group but it was modern and the bed seemed new and was very comfortable.
I had a king size room on level 5 and it was all up to date. Typical hotel room - bath in shower but all clean and nicely presented. Unlike some of the other more expensive hotels I have stayed at in Launceston they offer free Wi-Fi which I think is fantastic. If you want to be in the town area it is also in a great central location.
The only down side is having to pay $6 for parking - I think if I am a guest this should free.
I had room service for breakfast which arrived on time - lovely breakfast - my only complaint is my coffee I ordered (as the room option was only instant - yuck) went cold pretty fast and there was no way to heat it up. If they wanted to take the next step in service it would be great if they had plunger coffee in the room.
Overall a good stay with happy and helpful staff on reception. I would stay here again.
I used one of the meeting rooms for a presentation and the room was a good size for 20 plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear SuziiW

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and you found the Hotel a nice surprise. We are in the process of finishing off the first stage of our refurbishment and the bathrooms will be completed next year. I am also awaiting on new espresso machines to be delivered and installed on the 5th floor.

But we will look at your idea of installing a plunger coffee in the room.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel to stay. Staff very helpful & accommodating. Room was neat
Value for money.

However the hotel was close to all teh shops & eating places but litte out of the way from UTAS.

Buffet breakfast was the same every morning - no variety

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Reena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reena P

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and you found the Hotel a "Great hotel to stay. Staff very helpful & accommodating. Room was neat and Value for money".

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as we could not get a room at the Sebel which we had previously stayed at in Launceston. When we arrived at the Best Western we had to move rooms three times before they got it right. We asked for a queen room yet they kept sending us to a triple room (extra bed). The rooms were already quite small so having that extra bed meant we could hardly move around in there. So after the fourth time up and down to reception we were finally in the right room - was hoping for an upgrade after all that but received nothing - not even a voucher for a drink or two or even dinner on them!

Bathroom too small and outdated. Breakfast nothing special either. Pastries were not fresh which was disappointing.

Credit to the young receptionist on during the day. She was very polite and helpful which was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambrini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Brini A

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience in our New rooms

kind regards,


Leon Wood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We purchased two nights here as a part of a 4.5 star wotif mystery deal. I honestly think that the 4.5 stars might be self-rated, as it doesn't even compare with real 4.5 star hotels we've stayed in. The accommodation is neat, clean and functional, but very basic. Close to everything, located in the heart of Launceston. Breakfast not included in room rate. A good hotel if you're looking for basic accommodation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Franca L

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston and writing a review

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and you found the Hotel “accommodation neat, clean and functional" I am pleased to note that we are accredited by AAA rating.

We are in the process of finishing off our refurbishment, but it sounds like you received one of the non-refurbished rooms.
I do hope you will come back and see us again soon, so that we can show the improvements that we have made.

Kind regards

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stay in hotels regularly as a couple and like a nice room, we had reservations about staying here initially but once we walked in we were both very happy. We had a Superior King room and it was lovely, everything you need and free WIFI. Staff were lovely and the service was good. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Sharon B

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel soon.

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Property: Best Western Plus Launceston
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing