We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms terrible, staff nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A 4 star rated establishment according to the best western plus website (4.5 star rated on wotif),

-The room we stayed in was very uncomfortable due to no air conditioning, could hardly sleep at night as it is impossible to get any air flow through the room. Staff weren't very helpful but I guess what can they do.
- Parking is an extra $6 / day
- Gym is actually off site and is also at an extra cost.
Was surprised that for the price we paid these facilities aren't included. All in all was a blemish in an otherwise fantastic holiday.
I would consider this a last resort when returning, there are other hotels with more modern facilities.

(Stayed January 2014 as a couple)

Room Tip: If the weather is going to be anything near 25 degrees ensure you have air conditioning in the room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi Matt J,
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus, Launceston.
We are recently undergoing a complete refurbishment including new beds, soft furnishings, art work, IP phones & television and of course, air conditioning in the rooms which do not already have any.
We regret that your stay was uncomfortable in the heat and are working quickly toward rectifying this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Launceston and hope you will enjoy the refurbished rooms.
Regards,
Leon Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel was clean, comfortable and well looked after. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely and the hotel is in a fantastic location- stone's throw away from the mall. I would definitely stay here again when I come to Launceston overnight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear meggles54

Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston

I pleased that you found the Hotel conveniently located in the CBD and the staff looked after you.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon.

Kind regards

Leon wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Over looking the dismal carpark, there is nothing wrong with the room. They are simply well appointed rooms with all you expect in a motel. Room is attractive, the linen clean but the pillows are hard; The advertised free wi-fi is unsecured. If you want secured wi-fi you pay your $20.00.

The staff, while quite efficient, don't listen to you. Several times I spoke with staff for various reasons with various staff and they responded with vague approximations of the required answer. Not paying attention and certainly not giving individual attention. They are simply there to get their job done and go home.

The restaurant is appalling. We were shoved away in a non-restaurant room for dinner where we felt like an afterthought and the dinning room at breakfast was unremarkable and very hot as the air conditioning was not on. Both meals were ordinary.

Many people on the lower front floor rooms complained of a lack of sleep due to the noise of party revelers down stairs in the bar until the small hours of the morning and upon closing moved the noise onto the street. Hooning cars kept others awake on the lower front floors.

I was not impressed at all, there are other places to stay that make an effort and make you feel important. This place is not worth the money they are asking for a night. Only stay here if everything else is booked out.

Room Tip: Nothing special about this. To ensure sleep, if you HAVE to stay here, ask for a back room up on the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blujinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Blunjinja

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed two nights and everything was okay, but there was nothing special about this place. Definitely not 4.5 star rooms, but can't say in relation to the other facilities as we did not use them. It was clean but the bathroom was poky with a shower in the bath. Parking is $6 extra per day - not much, but could be built into the room rate. Probably not the hotel's fault, but demolition started over the road at 7am each morning, with setup before that, so not very relaxing.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David_and_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi David_and_Gill,
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus, Laucneston.
WIth a complete refurbishment underway, I am sure that your next stay with us will indeed be memorable for all the right reasons. WIth new beds, soft furnishings, art work, high speed internet, IP phones & televisions and free Wi-Fi we hope to deliver a really special experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus in the near future
Best Regards,
Leon Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here on a recent Saturday night. We were pleasantly surprised to be given a room upgrade, particularly as the room had been booked on a discount site. The room was really comfortable and modern. Some of the pillows were a little hard, but between the 3 of us we managed to swap until we were all satisfied

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry27Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear harry2Tasmania

Thank you staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
We are currently in the process of upgrading all the rooms with new soft furnishings which include new King Coil Plush King beds and TVs etc

We hope you will come back and see us again soon to see the continuing improvements we are making.

Kind Regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were greeted by Amanda who was helpful and very friendly. She checked us in, gave us some information on what was available in the hotel. The room was immaculate, clean as was the bathroom. The only thing that was an issue was that one of the towels had yuck on it, looked like old soap, but we had a spare so it was ok. The bed was very comfortable, hubby said cancel the rest of the holiday we are here!! Breakfast was a full continental which was Devine, everything to choose from, eggs scrambled or poached, bacon, pork or normal sausages, has browns, pancakes, baked beans, toast, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee the list goes on. The girl running the dining room was very helpful and friendly. Best breakfast I have had in awhile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Nicole M,

Thank you staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I am happy to read that Amanda was helpful and very friendly and your enjoyed the breakfast and our new beds.

I have passed you feedback on to the rest of the Team and Amanda

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is situated is a great part of Launceston, close to lots of food and entertainment. The rooms were modern, clean and reasonably priced. Bed was comfy and there great views across town from our window. Only let down was the parking, where you're expected to park out in the public car park and pay for the privilege (we paid for parking, but then found there were no spots available).

Room Tip: request level 5 or 6 for great views
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeVonFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear CHloeVonFrenchie

Thank you staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing