We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an Accor Std Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Canberra
1 review
“Not an Accor Std Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I arrived here on a friday evening having been travelling for work up in the north west part of Tassie. I picked the hotel because of the location and thought that given it was part of the Accor group, surely it would have to meet their standards.

Upon arrival i was attended to by the (what i assume was) the evening assistant reception manager. Upon approaching me he told me he just needed to answer the phone, to which he literally answered it, rather than placing on hold and checking me in. To say he was a pleasant chap would be an understatement. Lets just say that customer service is a field he probably should steer away from. I asked numerous questions and was responded with 'Yep' for each of these. When i asked for a map he just handed me one and as i looked at it, i said are there good restaurants around, and all i got was another 'yep'. After getting such solid responses i figured i would probably do better in googling the area and going for a walk to find something.

After checking in i noticed that the room i was given was not what i had paid for. My checkin documents stated i would get an airconditioned room and i got one without. I thought that as there was a panel heater on the wall it would suffice. About 45mins later while researching i heard a piano, a man singing (i could hear word for word of the song). Turns out i was directly above the main resturant on level 1. I'll just note that i was on level 2. This music was so loud in the room. I went back to reception and found that the music was louder in my room than it was in the hotel lobby.

I asked the assist mgr to change rooms, which he obliged and i was put up on Level 5, to a room with airconditioning - suprise suprise, those rooms do exist.

This room was similar to the last room and with the aircon on heating it did warm the room faster.

However, it was at bed time when the real magic happened. The loud bangs, people arguing and general noise really came to life. After putting in my ear plugs to block the sound to sleep, i could still hear certain loud noises.

I spoke to a couple from level 3 the next morning and they complained of the exact same thing. The wife said she had hardly slept at all and was shocked at the aruging and screaming of people.

Upon check out the girl who served me was lovely, was happy to oblige my queries on where to grab a quick bite to eat before i hit the road.

Overall, the room was tired, yes, but it was relatively clean. Though the shower curtain in the bathroom could do with a makeover. What hotels have shower curtains in this day and age?!?!

Would i stay here again? Most definately not. If you're looking for some quiet at bedtime i'd suggest you find somewhere else.

Launceston city pretty much dies after 5pm, so i'd dare say it might be worthwhile staying a bit further out - or at the hotel sebel down near the Boag's brewery - looks a lot nicer!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to help you sleep or stay some where else Get a room with airconditioning system or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K02500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear K02500,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, your comments are very valuable to us.

I was disappointed to read your read your feedback regarding the hotel and I am sorry that the service at the hotel did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I was disappointed to read that you would not choose to return to the hotel in the future, however it is my sincere hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future when you will once again be confident to recommend the hotel to your colleagues and friends.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance,

Yours Sincerely,
Joseph Pirrotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    535
    300
    70
    48
See reviews for
227
484
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had the good fortune of stopping here for a night whilst in Tas. Rooms were well appointed with good TV's, internet (first 30 min free) and good water pressure in the showers. Dined in the restaurant which was surprisingly good (for a chain hotel). Great fresh as oysters, lovely juicy steak and amazing Creme Brulee to top it off!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broulee, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

found the staff really good, enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant, we also had dinner there one night was good, rooms could do with a make over, close to attractions easy walk, did not pay for parking was given a voucher to put on the car,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Check in and quality of the room and restaurant were great. Lovely bar and service. Minor issues with check out when the Manager on duty was drunk and after 20mins of messing around didn't end up checking us out properly which involved us having a phone call later in the day to process all of the charges again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in Launceston, as the first part of our 10 day trip in Tasmania. Had a great time in Launceston and the hotel was centrally located, with ample car parking for parking up after undertaking day trips.

The room was comfortable enough though the pillows were a bit on the soft side. The staff were also very helpful. The only downside was that our room was a bit noisy, though we were staying there on a Friday and Saturday night, so it would probably be quieter during the week. The rooms weren't that insulated for noise either.

We didn't have breakfast there, as the price seemed a bit steep - bought some fruit and yoghurt from nearby instead.

All in all, a comfortable, clean and centrally located hotel, ideal for exploring both the town and wider area.

Room Tip: Probably on a weekend, a room facing away from the road leading up to the hotel, though wherever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CCRP,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, your comments are very valuable to us,

I was disappointed to read your feedback regarding the noise level around hotel please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

On a positive note I was pleased to read your comment regarding the Team at the hotel, and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston in the near future,

Best Regards,

Joseph Pirrotta
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location was great right in the city,rooms's were clean and overall look of the hotel was nice.
However you could hear flushing of toilets, screaming babies and people talking.
Noisy at night because locals who drove noisily and fast at night.
Parking was an additional cost of $6 per day, which is quite tight and not secure
There was no air conditioning, a portable machine is provided, along with a free standing fan.
Water has smell when you had shower

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear pcl2013,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Launceston.

Thank you for your comments regarding the availability of air conditioning. We are continually focused on improving the facilities and services of the hotel; hence your comments are very valuable to us.

The car park at the rear of the hotel is a public car park, similar to a majority of parking in the city centre and as such the hotel has negotiated a reduced rate for our guests to park for a 24 hour period,

Thank you once again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston in the near future,

Best Regards,

Joseph Pirrotta
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found the hotel satified our requirements very well. Good location, rooms good for the price we paid, food in the restaurant was good and found prices on par with what was in other places. staff friendly and very helpfull. happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing