We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    539
    301
    70
    48
See reviews for
230
486
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

what a poor door lock and system on my room. A stranger ( woman) was came into our room at mid-nite, but we surely locked the door before sleep, it's totally the fault of the door lock accidently , but the hotel-management just blame us had no door lock properly before sleep, what a shame !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear LCM45,

I am disappointed that you have shared your experience on a public forum when I have previously conducted an internal investigation and shared the hotel report on this incident with you.

I would like to assure you that my resulting email was not meant to cause offence nor apportion any blame; it appears that this has not been the way in which it has been received.

I would also like to re-iterate that I am truly sorry that you were disturbed whilst you were sleeping and assure you that this is the first occasion that this has occurred at Mercure Launceston.

The lock system, the door handle and the door closure mechanism have all received a thorough inspection by the Maintenance Manager. The electronic lock has been read which shows that they key card provided for your room was the last card to enter and the first card to re-access your room in the morning. The lady who entered your room was an elderly guest with a medical condition who was so severely disorientated, this resulted in the hotel calling an ambulance for her whilst we located who she was traveling with.

I am sorry that you have not accepted the findings from the hotel and are not satisfied with the explanation provided however I do not know how such an occurrence could occur with correctly functioning hardware and software.

Once again, I am disappointed that you have lost confidence in Accor hotels and I remain at your disposal to assist restoring your faith in Accor.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Centrally located, resturant was lovely and great food.
Rooms spacious, however looking tired.
Would have expected to have at least ceiling fans and or air-conditioning.
Not small desk fan and portable air-con.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andelas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Andelas5,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston.

This year Summer has brought with it some very high temperatures in Tasmania which was wonderful, until it came to last thing at night and temperatures did not fall as they normally do, resulting in humid overnight conditions which was a challenge for us all.

Air conditioning is offered (to our guests who prefer it) at the hotel on the 5th & 6th Floors, in our King Rooms and Mercure Privilege Rooms both of which are available via all booking channels.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your experience in Snappers Restaurant - I will share your great feedback with my Food & Beverage Team as I am sure this will be a source of motivation for them.

I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Launceston in the future ,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have booked 2 rooms - one for our friends. Both prepaid. We requested King Bed rooms. Our friends got a King Bed, and we arrived to find a Queen Bed in ours. So we changed to Twin Beds on another floor. However - these rooms were NOT Airconditioned - and the windows don't open! We either had a choice of paying an extra $50 for a mini-suite -or stay in that room. It was already 6pm and we were leaving at 7.30am the next morning.
We chose to stay in that room - but ended up hot and bothered. So no sleep.
The next morning - on check-out - the staff said that the Hotel Manager would ring me to re-imburse? So far - no phone call. We definitely did not receive what we paid for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I know that Tasmania is not known for its summer, but when you are shelling out $169 a night one would assume an air con. To be fair I didnt ask if the rooms were air conditioned but when we arrived (hottest couple of days since time began down here) the room was just plain hot. It then cost me $100 to upgrade to a room that did have A/C. Admittedly it was a far superior room size-wise, but all i wanted was an A/C not the 'penthouse suite'. The staff were very friendly however i do think that the Mercure group should review their motel stock and award the 4 stars accordingly.

Room Tip: if you want air conditioning dont just think you will get it if you pay $160+ per night. It cost us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Kmcdona,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston.

This year Summer has brought with it some very high temperatures which was wonderful, until it came to last thing at night and temperatures did not fall as they normally do resulting in humid overnight conditions which was a challenge for us all. As you highlight, air conditioning is offered at the hotel on the 5th & 6th Floors, with the Spa Suite that you experienced being on the 6th (top) floor of the hotel.

I appreciate that you did not anticipate paying an extra $100 per night on your trip however we were very busy during over that period and unfortunately only had a limited number of rooms to offer to you. I hope that you had a pleasant stay overall and enjoyed your time in one of our air conditioned Spa Suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston in the future Kmcdona - perhaps in one of Tasmanian cooler months?

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston

Floors in Tasmania albeit rather warmer than usual and I am sorry this resulted in an uncomfortable night. We do offer King Rooms and Mercure Privilege rooms that are all air conditioned and are located on our 5th and 6th floors.

On a positive note I will share your comments with the Team regarding their high levels of customer service and I am pleased to read that your overall stay was a very pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to another Mercure in the near future!

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing