We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    551
    305
    70
    48
See reviews for
235
493
99
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here many times now. Central location, very reasonable rate and nice clean hotel. It amazes me that people stay at other more expensive places in Launceston and turn their noses up at this hotel. It's absolutely fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your latest stay at Mercure Launceston, this time over the Christmas period.

I was pleased to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us, I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Launceston. I will be sharing your comments with the Team as they are great reward for all of the hard work that they invest into the hotel and our guests.

The Team and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you Happy New Year and all the best for 2013 when we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The only good things about this hotel was the staff, which was very professional and the location. Others than that, there was hard to find any positives. The rooms look like a cheap motel rooms, quality of furniture is bad and there was this unpleasant 'old house' smell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Ironh59,

Thank you for taking your time to write a Trip Advisor post following your stay over the Christmas period at Mercure Launceston.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I have spoken to my Executive Housekeeper and we will be further investigating your 'old house smell' as this has not been brought to our attention previously.

On a positive note I will share your comments regarding the professionalism of the Team with them as I am sure this will be well received.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2013 when we hope to welcome you back to Mercure Launceston,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our stay in Launceston was very enjoyable. The hotel is ideally situated in town with ample parking. Room was relatively small but well appointed and had 2 beds as requested. As we are 2 single women travelling together we often find it difficult to get a room with 2 beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpyd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear mpyd1969,

Thank you for taking your time to write a Trip Advisor post following your stay over the Christmas period at Mercure Launceston.

I was pleased to read that you both had an enjoyable stay with us, I hope that you enjoyed the rest of Christmas in Launceston.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2013 when we hope to welcome you back to Mercure Launceston,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Whilst being in a central location, the hotel is very aged and is definitely in need of a renovation. We booked a standard room over the Christmas period, which was reasonable but if we stayed at Mercure again we would definitely pay extra for air conditioning, as it was very hot and stuffy in the room.

Room Tip: Ensure you pay extra for air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear PiaStephanie,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor post following your recent stay over the Christmas period.

For your next stay prior to booking please call the hotel direct or check our website accorhotels.com.au for further details on our King Rooms or Mercure Privilege Rooms on top two floors of the hotel which are all fully air conditioned.

In the meantime I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the very best from Mercure Launceston and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed here on several occassions and always recommend the hotel to others. Rooms are clean and well looked after and the staff friendly and helpfull. The only issue can be the road noise late at night or the garbos in the morning. Last stay was booked online through the Accor website and included breakfast. It was excellent value. The cleaners do an excellent job with the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossnAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear RossnAnne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your most recent stay at Mercure Launceston - it is always a pleasure to have you staying with us.

To help provide all of our guests with a good night's sleep we have arranged that no hotel suppliers, including the garbage disposal truck do not visit the hotel until after 8am on any day of the week.

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Property: Best Western Plus Launceston
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing