We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condition of Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne Australia
1 review
“Condition of Room”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My Husband and I were critical of your Do Not Disturb signs on the door as both sides mean the same thing. Usually the opposite side means Please Make Up The Room.
Housekeeping must have a lot of headaches dealing with servicing the rooms. we know we did, I also query Airconditioning on hot days,
Regards,
Sandra Sanger

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artist934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear artist934,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston.

Thank you for your comments regarding the Do Not Disturb signs, admittedly the signs can be confusing for all users, as a result we have had our own signs designed that will provide our Guests the opportunity to display a 'Please make up my Room' on their door, also making to easier for Housekeeping to identify guest rooms that are vacant. These signs are being introduced to all rooms in the next week.

For our guests who prefer the option of air conditioning our King Rooms and Mercure Privilege rooms on the top floor of the hotel are all fully air conditioned.

Thank you for your comments artist934 and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Launceston in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    551
    305
    70
    48
See reviews for
235
493
99
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

While the Hotel may have been around a while it is well maintained and in a good location. Rooms are clean and well appointed. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the Mercure and while it was not spectacular it was good, tasty fare. Service was also good and front desk was helpful. This is an excellent location to tour Launceston and Northern Tasmania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Accorhotels.com Traveler,

Thanks you for your Trip Advisor post, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel provided a good base for your tour of beautiful Northern Tasmania. I will share your feedback with my Team.

I hope that next time you are traveling to Tasmania we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Hotel has a great location right in the centre of town we enjoyed to fun filled days, the
parking for our hire car was great for only$6.00 per day, the staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean, we will return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked this as a 4.5 star mystery booking in Launceston CBD. The only thing correct was the location.
The room was a plain old hotel room. They'd taken out the bath since I stayed here years ago, but nothing else seemed to have been done. Certainly NOT 4.5 stars.
One bedlamp did not work and the corners in the bathroom were mouldy, and the room carpet quite dirty. I did not bother to complain... just wont go there again, or take the risk on a mystery deal.
Also the parking was $6 per night and totally unsecured.

Room Tip: Choose one down the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Executive housekeeper at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear 2 oldhobatians,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Launceston. I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have certainly noted your constructive feedback and would like to assure you that a number of these concerns are currently been addressed through our improvement program. Our car park is controlled by a private company at what we consider a reasonable cost compared to other carparks.
I hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next travelling to Launceston, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in arranging your accommodation

Julie McGee
Executive housekeeper
ph 03 63339999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a well centrally located hotel, close to Brisbane Street Shopping Mall and the George Street restaurant strip.
The hotel is well priced, clean and comfortable, the rooms are not overly large and well equipped,the staff are very helpful and friendly and my stay there was most pleasant

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhardstauner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed five nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the location in the CBD of a delightful city. Staff were helpful and polite in all areas of the hotel. Dining menu is quite good and well priced. Hot breakfast was always good. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryngae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Executive Housekeeper at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Accor Hotel Traveller,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Launceston. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Property: Best Western Plus Launceston
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing