We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable walk to the heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent location, just a comfortable walk to the heart of the City, a great way to unwind after a long day.
Large, clean rooms, perfect as my home away from home, with delicious, great value for money meals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is one of the highest compliments we can receive when we are described as someone's 'Home away from Home' and I will share your comments with the rest of my Team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Launceston in the near future,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

central location to walk to city centre however they charge $6.00 for parking which is quite tight and not secure. secondly expect to be woken at dawn by trucks and other noise (even on a sunday). Not worth the money. we have stayed in all types of rooms at this hotel and they are clean but lack comfortable beds for a good sleep.If you are happy to stay out of town 5 minutes by car I recommend staying at the country club villas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefloods2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear thefloods2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

The benefit of a central city location can occasionally bring with it a busier and noisier environment when compared to a more rural location on the outskirts of the city. I was disappointed to read that you were disturbed during your stay by traffic noise however and for future stays suggest that you request a room on the car park side of the hotel as opposed to being on Earl Street.

I hope that you provide us with the opportunity to serve you better on your next trio to Launceston after which you will be happy to once again recommend the hotel to your family and friends.

Best regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Great to place to stay close to shops etc .hotel is clean and service was good but the park looks like an after thought had to do couple of laps of block and stalk the car park before finally getting a park needs to be managed better

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leppy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Leppy84,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

During the time of your stay there was a State wide dance event at the Princess Theater opposite the hotel and a high number of the competitors were staying at the hotel hence the car park was very busy throughout the day. I understand your frustration at not being able to find a car parking space and we do offer valet parking to our guests during busy periods when they can park their cars on the hotel driveway which we will move once a space becomes available. The hotel can also offer further parking nearby including a secure parking option.

Further to your comments and our limited parking provision we have developed new procedures for the management of our car park when we are busy in an attempt to provide parking, even if it is off site for all of our guests.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns Leppy84 as this helps me rectify this issue for our future guests, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had a couple of nights here last week and everything was very good. The room was clean and tidy, the restaurant downstairs had good food and the staff were very friendly. The tramway bar is a great spot for a quiet drink and I appreciated the tasters from the restaurant as a tempter to dine there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trw1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear trw1089,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary tasters in the hotel lobby, as well as dinner in our Snappers Restaurant and a drink in our Tram Bar. Our team works hard to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy services from our Food & Beverage department.

Also your comments regarding your 'clean and tidy' room have been forwarded onto our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Launceston in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Sarah Ambrose
Food & Beverage Manager
Mercure Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was okay in every way without being spectacular. ...but the meal I had for dinner as room service was by far one of the best meals I have ever had. The room was clean and had everything you need for an over night stay, but the mattress was a bit soft for my liking. I think a firm mattress is a MUST in hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ouchmooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Ouchmooey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at the Mercure Launceston.

Your comments regarding your room service dinner being 'one of the best meal I have ever had' was a pleasure to read and this feedback has been forwarded to our Executive Chef. Also your comments regarding your clean room and your mattress preference have been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper.

We pride ourselves in providing quality services to our guests, through the standard of our rooms, meals and customer service delivered by all of our staff. Receiving comments such as yours serves as an encouragement to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Launceston in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Sarah Ambrose
Food & Beverage Manager
Mercure Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afarmakis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureLauncestonGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing