We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM SERVICING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We feel a little more attention to vacumming rooms daily, especially around the skirting boards. We had a three night stay, and our room appeared nt to have vacummed on the second day. Food and service in the dining room for breakfast and dinner was excellent. with friendly and smiling staff, with nothing a problem to explain and expand on the menu. Front office staff also very helpful and obliging. We stay with you a few times during the year and it ispleasant to be recognised as past guests,not necessarily by name. Regards, Leon and Leanne Collins

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyrose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, executive Housekeeper at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear MollrRose_12,
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete a trip Advisor report regarding your recent stay at mercure launceston. I have noticed your comments regarding the attention to dust in the room you occupied. Please rest assured that I have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurence.
I will share your comments regarding the excellent food and service with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Kind Regards
Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
Mercure launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg1961
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPAE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed here one night combined business/leisure

staff were fantastic and accomodated all our requests except one (will come to later)

room spotlessly clean

location couldnt get any better for access to CBD

restaurant good quality food but limited choice for dinner. breakfast fantastic

the one issue we have had twice now with this hotel is the noise level. last time we were placed near an elevator which kept us awake all night. this time we requested a quiet room but there was a band playing downstairs which coupled with traffic noise caused a restless night sleep

all in all a great little hotel if and if you can find a quiet room would rate higher for us

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineSmithton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If we hadn't got an extremely low price for our one night stay at the Mercure, we would have felt ripped off!
The room was clean, tidy and what you'd expect for a budget motel. The bathroom is a bit out of date and the general standard of the room is not 4.5 stars.
Parking is very limited and is first in best dressed so if you were arriving late like us, you missed out. There is however plenty of on-street parking in the surrounding blocks. We had a fair bit of noise from the theatre patrons next door after the show had finished.
We also booked a porta-cot for our baby but it wasn't put in the room so we had to make do without it. If we weren't so keen to turn in for the night we would have approached housekeeping.
Overall, the stay was what we needed for one night but felt it wasn't up to the standard of other Mercure Hotels that we've stayed in.
Also, save yourself some money by having breakfast at Ellie Maes around the corner - half the price, generous servings and deliciously cooked!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, executive Housekeeper at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear oj05,
Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your experience with Mercure Launceston.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.I would like to apologise for the porta - cot not being placed in your room. I have since spoken to all involved and please rest assured we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent furure occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is opur hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
Mercure launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for just under a week. Front desk and restaurant staff very friendly, helful and courteous - nothing was too much trouble, even though we had problems with the company that booked our holiday for us.
The only downside was that the bed wasn't comfortable - my back was aching in the mornings - and I tried different pillows. Location is very handy, with a pub around the corner and two restaurants, and on the other side, the main shopping centre,

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view to the hills/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, executive Housekeeper at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear margw5,
Thank you for your comments. At Mercure launceston we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest.
We are able to offer alternative mattresss's to meet our guests needs and perhaps if you stay with us again you could mention this. Once again thankyou for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be a pleasant one.

Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
mercure launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

well the first evening Friday 13th was good we were very tired as had been up since 4am Friday dinner at Snappers was terrible soup very watery Risotto tasteless we did make a comment to the waiter regards this Saturday we went to bed at 11pm was awoken at 3am by very ferrel guests banging on the door and swearing (I mean very bad language) called reception and complained herd other guests telling them to shut up ... but they did not just got worse with the language (these were young teenagers I have not heard language like this for a long time eventually went to sleep at 4:30am ,, We have stayed at this hotel a few times so was a little disappointed this trip Regards Michelle Morice

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_morice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $102 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing