We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
A TripAdvisor Member
launceston
1
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We enjoyed our night accommodation, room was clean and modern. Good close location to CBD. Friendly staff on reception and helpful. HAve stayed at many hotels and the Mercure is up to the standard of all. keep up the good work

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,325 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Great Bay
1
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Every thing was catered for. We used all the facillities. Tram Bar, In house movie , Parking and minibar. Our package included breakfast. That was great too.Staff were friendly and helpful which is important to us.
Thank you very much.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the past 6 months after previously being put up on work trips at other Launceston hotels, i now specifically request the Mercure (and get grumpy when they are full). Ive even convinced a few colleagues who now also stay here. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and it is easy to get everywhere in town, and importantly- its a calm and relaxing environment. I dont know why but i always feel better when at the end of the day of travel and work i go into a hotel where the staff seem to be genuinely smiling.

Just a small warning- sometimes if you arrive at the same time as a tour group it can get a little noisy in the lobby and check in isnt quite as speedy.

I changed from staying at the Charles when i got sick of the snooty attidude of staff and checked into a room with someone elses hair in the bed (gross!!). Ive found the Mercure much more friendly and always bed hair free!

Scrolling through the reviews i couldnt believe some of the comments about the restaurant. I eat most of my evening meals at the hotel restaurant when i stay and have nothing but good things to say about the food at Snappers (and the room service options, especially when im not back until late are good). That being said- i think it has got better in the past 6 months- it went from being good to fantastic. Both the pork and duck are divine, and there are some really really good vegetarian options. And dont get me started on the desserts... I dont know what its called but there is an AMAZING chocolate cake that i sneakily order everytime i stay.

The bar is good and often quiet, so great to unwind at the end of the day. Overall- would recommend the Mercure in Launceston as a good value, clean, quiet hotel with a great restaurant for the business traveller.

Room Tip: Snappers Chocolate Cake and a glass of wine
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_ClaireMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Traveling Claire

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Launceston with your fellow travelers.

I was delighted to hear that as a regular guest you enjoy the facilities of the hotel and specifically Snappers Restaurant. We do get a lot of positive comments about the restaurant, the food and the service, and it is always a pleasure to pass on some great feedback to the team. I picked up that you noticed an improvement in the food on offer a couple of months back and yes it was around that time we welcomed our new Executive Chef, Nicholas Moritz to the team. Nick has spent many years in Melbourne working in some of the better eating venues and we are very excited to have him now as part of our team.

Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ulverstone
1
Reviewed April 5, 2011

A great place to stay, close to town staff very polite and very help full .I would recommend the mercure to other people ,as every time i have stayed i have never had a problem .my room s are ready for me when i arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney NSW
1
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband and I were very disappointed with our stay especially our dinner at Snappers restaurant. I ordered a steak and it was very tough and not pleasant to eat. My husband ordered Beer battered flathead fillets, they were certainly not flathead if they were they were either frozen or imported. There was a very strong terrible flavour to the fish. We made a complaint to the waitress who was very nice and offered us a free coffee. Not good enough, if we were not Accor members we would of walked out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear AccorTraveler

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback in relation to your recent stay at Mercure Launceston. I was very surprised to learn of your meal experience being below your expectation at Snappers Restaurant. We normally receive very favorable feedback in relation to both the meals and service in the restaurant. I have shared your feedback with our kitchen team as we do consistently monitor the quality of the produce.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane
1
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The price was good and we enjoyed our 2nd night free. The staff were excellent and the hotel was generally up to scratch. Parking could be a problem. We arived back after diner and were lucky to get the very last space. The hotel is in a very central position and we would definately recommend the Mecure Launcesten to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gladstone Qld
1
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Food & service in dinning room first class.
Reception great help
overall enjoyed stay & will come back
Sorry but I'm back at work & find it a nuisance that you require me to write mpre than I wish so my tip is you should review that requirement.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $103 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing