We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classy and clean”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Ashton Gate Guesthouse B&B

Pros:
2 min drive to town/shops
Central location
Heritage building
Friendly service
China cups and saucers
Fresh cooked eggs breakfast to order and homemade bread, jam, lemon butter
Elegant lounge room stocked with books, cake, newspapers and complimentary liquors
Small TV
Clean Victorian style rooms and furnishings
Electric blanket
Modern bathroom
strong shower pressure

Cons:
No DVD player
Limited storage space

Tips:
Close to Tamar Valley wine route and Cataract George which can be explored over 2 days

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Ashton Gate in the Joyce room which was an enjoyable experience. Their home is beautifully decorated in Victorian style furnishings. This B&B is about a 10-15 minute walk into the city centre although the steep hill on the way back was punishing. The owners are very friendly offering advice and imparting their knowledge of the area. Breakfast was nice with home made bread; white and oat/malt. poached fruit and museli, assortment of juices and a choice of cooked breakfast which consisted of two eggs either fried, poached, scrambled or an omelette and a choice of sides; tomato, mushrooms, spinach,chippolatas, cheese and chives. Their is tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom and electric blankets.

My only criticism would be the T.V which was tiny and no Dvd player.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My 3rd stay at this place. Lovely decorated period B&B. Clean and Good value. I liked the breakast. It was well cooked. Suit those who like a traditional setting. Opposite a park and has a suburban atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweeInSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This was the first stop for my husband and I in our brief anniversary trip of Tasmania back in May. We arrived late at night and were warmly greeted by John and offered port and biscuits before heading to bed - wonderful!

Our room (William) was lovely and not OTT frilly, although clearly decorated in tradional style. The breakfasts were lovely, and John provided useful advice but was never intrusive. A great location only a couple of minutes from the centre of town. This was our first trip to Launceston but we will stay at Ashton Gate when we return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A beautiful period property with lots of attention to detail in the furnishings. We stayed for 3 nights in the Margaret twin room and had a wonderful experience. We were met by John who was a fountain of knowledge on the area and gave us lots of great ideas of what to see and do. The sitting room was lovely and cosy to sit in and read, and the breakfasts were magnificent (especially the home made breads and lemon butter).

The house is situated on a hill - which while being a tough climb - did provide for a great excuse to eat our fill at breakfast.

If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed! I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Launceston as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMcClafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is a pleasant place, and John and Jen are nice hosts. The cooked-to-order breakfast with lots of home-made touches is very good.
On the (slightly) negative side... you wouldn't stay here if you like modern and minimalist style. It is a very "Victorian" place full of fiddly knicknacks - like antique teddybears on the bed - you get the picture.
It's not really in the centre of things, but parking is easy in the street outside. We had the authentic brass bed in the "Emma" room, which I found a bit short, a bit soft and saggy, and a bit squeaky. The bathroom was big and spotlessly clean, but we seemed to be competing with some other room for hot water when showering in the morning.
If you like antique furniture and florid decorations, this is the place for you - and if not, you'll still be well looked after and get an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Perched high on a hill looking over Launceston, Ashton Gate is a beautiful place to base yourself. We stayed in the fully self-contained "Jennifer" suite - a converted stables, which has full kitchen with dining table, full gorgeous bathroom and a separate room - the kids slept in the lounge room on very adequate daybed and flip out divan. John and Jennifer - and their dog Clara were wonderful hosts, the breakfast in the morning is to die for, and they were very accommodating of our small young children. Our kids also enjoyed the 'fairy garden' which is fully enclosed and very safe for playing in - complete with flowers, garden chair and water fountain. There is also a park just over the road. Great with directions on things to do and places to eat. We had such a wonderful time staying here at Ashton Gate, that we will return! Being fellow supporters of the Hawks was also a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The4Birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Property: Ashton Gate Guest House
Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing