We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The care and love shined through” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton Gate Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The care and love shined through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The property sits atop a hill on High Street and while it is a 15-minute walk to the town center we usually drove as the trudge back uphill can be a little daunting - we are not big walkers btw. We've actually taken a walk around the neighborhood and it was lovely - peaceful and serene. It is set against a residential neighborhood and like much of Launceston, has a number of old, stone houses which really acts character to the surrounding.

We stayed in the Campbell room which is separated from the main house, which is like an annex to the main building. The bedroom and the living area are in separate rooms. What is immediately distinct is the meticulous care taken in decorating the room and making sure everything is tidy and in order. The room was tidied and the beds made everyday, which was a happy surprise for us as this was the first BnB that does that if we stayed more than one night. It is beautifully decorated with nice little touches here and there. What also stood out was the breakfast which had a good menu of hot items to order from. Breakfast hour is however short - between 8 to 9am, which is a little tight for us as there were three of us sharing the same bathroom. Nonetheless, I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Launceston.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Campbell room if you want a rom within the main house itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
100
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ashton Gate with another couple and we were all very impressed. The house is a beautiful Victorian bungalow, filled with antique furniture and ornaments, in the Victorian style and set in a magnificent garden filled with flowers. Everything was well maintained, spacious, and very comfortable.
The cooked breakfast was ample and delicious, with homemade jams and lemon butter.
Our hostess, Jennifer, was welcoming and informative and nothing was too much trouble for her.
We also enjoyed the complimentary port, sherry, muscat, and biscuits in the guests' living room, which added to the home away from home atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Charming B&B, thoughtfully decorated with many nods to the house's Victorian heritage. My sister and I stayed in the Margaret room and it was extremely comfortable. The beds were pretty comfy too, which is always nice when you're away from home. We didn't get the chance to relax in the lounge room and have a glass of tokay, but maybe next time. The best bit was breakfast, with homemade bread, lemon butter etc and home cooked eggs and spinach on toast. Jennifer is a lovely host too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place ticks all the boxes and is as good as any of the best traditional b&b's found in the UK. Excellent location, nicely decorated, lovely breakfast and nice guest lounge with free sherry, coffee, biscuits etc. An ideal spot to enjoy for an extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ashton Gate was perfect for our needs. We had a group of 12 and the room configuration worked perfectly. Jennifer was a gracious host and very accommodating to our needs. We all felt right at home and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meilin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had this wonderful tastefully restored and furnished B&B for our group of 12 ,coming together for a celebratory birthday. Even the location on the top of the hill was fine for our group and we were within easy reach of the CBD and various roads out of Launceston. Having the lounge room to come together was a real bonus although our rooms were spacious and the individual décor was noted and admired.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This delightful, spacious B&B with old-world charm is close to the CBD in the aptly-named High Street. Easy parking outside on the street in winter. I stayed for 2 nights in the Emma Room, nicely decorated, with tea and coffee facilities. The large modern bathroom is spotless; the heated towel rail was appreciated. Attractive dining room overlooks the park opposite (frost on the ground in June). Good breakfast is cooked to order, with delicious home-made bread and jams etc. The sitting room is available any time day or night, and is a great place to go to read, listen to music, and for a complimentary nightcap after dinner and the challenging walk up the hill from restaurants in the CBD. The house is well lit at night, making it easy to find. Jennifer is a lovely host, and she made excellent suggestions for dining out. My stay was most enjoyable and like to think I will return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Property: Ashton Gate Guest House
Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing