We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heritage launceston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“heritage launceston”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had two great nights at Ashton Gate. We stayed in the spa suite and it was very comfortable clean quite and roomy. The cooked breakfast was excellent and sunset on the back deck was just magic. Jennifer was a great host and had plenty of information about Launceston attractions but wasnt pushy. Good location and easy to get into town. Beautiful gardens. A great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at Ashton Gate was perfect. A delightful historic home and Jennifer is a charming host.
The location is good, comfortable walking distance to centre for restaurants and shops. Delicious cooked to order breakfast was just great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonBedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

this is a gem! if you love the old world charm of a delightful,tastefully decorated B&B with delicious home cooked breakfast in a great location look no further.The guest lounge is inviting with well stocked bookshelves and an array of interesting antiques and bits and pieces , the courtyard and gardens so pretty with rambling roses..we stayed a night and decided to return on our way back from Cradle Mountain-we loved it so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up north
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

An excellent B & B not too far from the middle of town.
It was easy to find, there was parking directly outside on a service road and Jennifer [the owner] gave us a choice of rooms on arrival.
The room itself was delightful, our bed very comfortable, and the breakfast delicious.
A nice touch was the port and cakes in the lounge during the evening.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can, try the beds for size before you chose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappyat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are a lot of places to stay in Launceston, so picking one isn't easy. Tripadvisor pointed us in the right direction, but would this B&B live up to expectations? Absolutely. This is a big, old house, with beautifully decorated and well-maintained rooms that offer comfortable privacy. Our room, David, was actually two rooms - luxury! Guests are accommodated separately from the host, which I think is the ideal situation.

It's not easy to work out where to eat when staying in a city B&B. Our host, Jennifer, has compiled a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants and she assured us this changes based on personal experience and feedback from guests.

We like to load up for the day, so we mostly go to B&Bs that offer a full cooked breakfast. I'm a big guy and there's no way I could have eaten any more of Jennifer's offerings. Homemade yoghurt, jams and bread were delicious and plentiful. We ate breakfast with a couple who started their Tassie trip at Aston Gate and enjoyed it so much they finished there too. That says a lot to me.

The location is great we'd certainly return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A very tasteful B&B with wonderful breakfasts, a convenient location & gracious host. the rooms were spotless & decorated in keeping with the period yet not overly done as are many B&Bs. As noted in earlier reviews, breakfast was generous & delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstreview60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Ashton Gate late Feb and were lucky to get a room (the William Room) as it was apparently the annual Launy Cup (horse race) the next day. I think there may even be a public holiday. The owner Jennifer was very helpful and friendly and the location was perfect as it was very close to the city and highlights of Launceston and also very quiet. Our room was clean and comfortable and without all the teddy bears and funny dolls and doily features that seem to be all the rage in many b&bs in Tasmania. Breakfast was delicious. My husband and I would stay again if we were travelling through again without the children. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jendavo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Property: Ashton Gate Guest House
Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing