We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Ashton Gate was just picture perfect! Pity we only stayed there one night but the property is just lovely. The rooms are comfortable and make you feel like you are living in the country. You sink into their couches and just don't want to get up again. They're in front of a park and just at the end of the road from the shops - just watch out for that hill!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123maddoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Arrived with 2 friends who had already booked a room. I had no booking as I hadn't planned to be in Launceston that night but due to snow in the central highlands I missed the Redline coach.
John was very friendly and had a room there right ready to go, everything was very clean and even had gluten free bread for breakfast.
Nice stay, great service and far quieter than a lot of Launceston accommodation options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed in Ashton Gate House in May and we found the accomadation to be excellent. The hot breakfast you were offered was excellent. There was also fruit, muesli and yogurt to help yourself. The faculities were amazing. The Sitting Room was very relaxing to read or just sip on the sherry that was complimentry. The bed and ensuite facilities were also immaculate. The bed was very large and comfortable. The close proximentry to the city was great. Jennifer gave us the highest of service and I would recomend Ashton Gate House to any one that wants a hassle freee and very relaxing holiday 10 out of 10 for us

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy3706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at Ashton Gate Guest House for 2 nights and were really impressed! The rooms are so beautiful and decorated with great sophisticated taste to Victorian era (we stayed at William), everything is so comfortable and clean. We spent some time in the lounge room that is the most amazing and comfortable lounge room I have ever seen, we played chess and cards while having complimentary wine or tea with home made biscuits. Breakfast was so delicious and there was a good choice of egg dishes. Loved the atmosphere of this house and hospitality of Jennifer. If you are to stay in Launceston look no further, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Loved William room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed just one night. The room was nice and the accommodation was quiet. The lounge was comfortable with port, tea and huge cookies on offer. We found the male host extremely friendly and chatty.

In the morning breakfast was lovely but the female host was a little rude and cold and we didn't feel very welcome at breakfast. We made a few small requests to changes on our cooked breakfasts which seemed to be the most difficult thing in the world for her to cope with and she almost argued about it with us (I think it was something as simple as adding a dash of cheese or something!). We felt very uncomfortable after this as we are used to hosts who go out of their way to please you.

We would probably stay here again and would hope that this was just a one off grumpy morning for our hostes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

The owners, Jenny and John are most welcoming and from our experience find it hard to accept some comments posted on this site. John was a mine of information on places to visit and excellent restaurant recommendations.

Both Jenny and John made us welcome and offered access to their wi-fi and at no cost - large hotels please take note!

We shall recommend Ashton Gate to friends and will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melb
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Beautifully presented
Average breakfast.....pork sausage was off
I had a lovely room
Host needs to stop spying on guests as to whether their eating in his lounge
I was kicked out as soon as its 10.00am
If you turn up to early watch out
Beautiful poodle & gardens
I would go else where as people are made to feel unwelcome sorry John but thats the message you give of.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Property: Ashton Gate Guest House
Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing