We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touring Tasmania Sebel Launceston a Great Starting Point” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Touring Tasmania Sebel Launceston a Great Starting Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have toured Tasmania many times and recommend if one is kicking off in the North and North North-West, Launceston is the place to start. The Sebel offered us a spacious one bedroom suite with separate bedroom, bathroom and toilet. It ranked high in all ways: cleanliness, position, space, facilities and the staff were friendly, open and welcoming. The restaurant offerings represented great food from Tasmania's premier growers, producers, vineyards and whisky makers. The whisky tasting is worth sampling. Tasmania produces some of the best in the world. As always we recommend that anyone deciding on touring Tasmania to please allocate a sensible amount of time to getting from place to place. There is much to divert attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou CliffB2040 for your posted comments.
I can tell you enjoyed your stay in Tasmania and your comments really hit the spot.
I am also very happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the facilities suited your travelling needs.
I hope you have the chance to visit again at some stage.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    338
    73
    20
    9
See reviews for
159
374
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location. Very comfortable rooms. Very friendly and efficient staff at reception. Let down by poor room housekeeping
and lack of any sort of information about the hotel or Launceston in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vernon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou ARCHY238 for your feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay overall as well as the service you received.
I apologise for the lack of information in your room. I am not sure why the compendium of hotel information was not in your room. We have a full array of pamphlets and brochures in our lobby and a team of staff who have been to many attractions available to pass on any recommendations.
I have also spoken with our housekeeping team about the cleanliness issues. We have very high expectations on the cleanliness and quality of our rooms. We are also currently progressing through a maintenance program of painting and repairs due to high usage over time to ensure our level is satisfactory to all guests.
Once again I do appreciate your time spent to pass on your comments and allow us the chance to continually improve our facilities and service at our hotel.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sebel whilst in Launceston overnight. Hotel is of a good standard and staff were friendly and helpful. The only disapointment, albeit minor was that I booked a two bedroom superior suite as we were staying with family, however when we arrived at the room found that it was two inter-connecting rooms and not as the photo on the Sebel website depicted. That said, the rooms were big and well appointed and given it was only a 1 night stay I was not too fussed. A bit more attention paid by housekeeping would not go astray (crumbs from previous guest all over bench and very sticky bathroom floor). Highly recommend the Market Place restaurant in the hotel for dinner. Service and food to a very high standard and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou Lathe_12 for your feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I do apologise about being given and two bedroom interconnecting room as apposed to a two bedroom apartment. Unfortunately an error occured with our booking system and it co-incided with all these room types being booked.
I have passed your comments on the crumbs etc in your room to the housekeeping team who prepared your room as cleanliness standards is something we place a high emphasis on and in general is well commented on.
I am pleased you did enjoy your meals and the service while here and I hope you have the chance to visit us again at some stage.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed in many top quality hotels in Australia and overseas, but have never stayed in a place that tick all the boxes as The Sebel Launceston. The service from all staff was exceptional. Gavin is a shining star who could not do enough for us and looked after us like royalty. The room was AMANZING. Clean, well appointed and a pleasure to experience. We dined in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and the food and service was first class and of good quality. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who will be in the area. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!! A MUST TO EXPERIENCE.... Sue & Steve

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou Sue and Steve for your kind words.
Hearing your comments really makes the job we do all the more rewarding.
I will definately post your comments for the entire team and have personally spoken with Gavin as well.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great stay in Launceston. Found the Sebel close to everything, clean, modern and one of the most quite rooms i have ever stayed in. The beds were amazingly comfortable and facilities great. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and had our own balcony. Rooms large and complete with spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thankyou TEN59 for your response to your stay.
I am delighted you found our large two bedroom suites to your liking.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel exterior was not the most exciting thing to arrive to and walking into the small lobby an unattended desk took the wind out of sails a bit. We were to receive the Anvers chocolates on arrival which were delivered to us by a guy at the door with a handful of them trying to get through his rounds as quickly as possible... I'd recommend the Sebel perhaps puts them in the room before the guest arrives.
No worries, the room was lovely although the windows needed a good clean, the amenities weren't refreshed and the daily room clean was the minimum (ie bed made, garbage cleared).
The Gym was no bigger than my bedroom and the bike ran out of battery whilst I was on it.
The thing that saved the experience were the lovely girls at the front desk. They were delightful and funny and turned our average opinion around. Thank you ladies!
To be honest, I wouldn't pay full price to stay here. It's more 3 star.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thankyou Ozzie05 for your feedback on your stay.
I am sorry for the service of your room. This is something we do place a high regard on as can be seen from other guest comments. I have passed on your feedback to our housekeeping team.
At all times we do try and have welcome amenities in the room before guests arrive. Our priority is to have the entire hotel cleaned and serviced before our guests arrive followed by placing the amenities within the room. On this occasion they were not quite there and I do apologise for this.
On a brighter note, I am happy you found the service provided by the team a highlight of your stay. The personal touch is a key component to our industry.
Please feel free in contacting me personally at the hotel should you be interested in staying in Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing