We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great coffee and breakfast after a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sebel for a couple of nights on a work trip. The 1 bedroom suite, as already described, was very spacious. The separate loo was perhaps overkill for a single person but might come in handy for a couple (?). Comfy bed ensured a restful night- despite my concerns I didn't hear any road noise.
What was spectacularly good was the coffee and breakfasts. Yummy eggs florentine. Unfortunately the dinner did not live up to the same high standard; although the menu read well it failed to deliver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coorong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thankyou Coorong for yuor feedback.
I am very happy that you found the room to your liking.
I will pass the information on about your breakfast and dinner to our kitchen team.
We do pride ourselves on the quality of food and service in the restaurant and I can assure you this feedback on breakfast will be well received as to dinner as we work through any issues that may have occured.
I hope you have the chance to visit again for work or leisure again
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 908 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Launceston.
Pros:
1. Location - easy walk into CBD and opposite some great historic buildings like Boags factory.
2. Spacious room - had a one bedroom apartment which was absolutely huge.
3. Toilet separate to bathroom.
4. Buffet breakfast - was included in our package. Got to choose any hot item from a large a la carte menu. Had a ham, tomato and mushroom omelet which was very tasty as well as selection of traditional continental items. Coffee was also to order, as many as you like.

Cons:
1. Fittings are a bit tired and need updating.
2. Noisy - the room was at the front of the hotel and although it had lovely view from balcony of the historic wool stores across the road, however the hotel is adjacent to a bus / transport centre so there is a good deal of traffic on the street in front of hotel at most times of day. Clock tower in the post office up the street tolls each quarter hour so if this is likely to disrupt your sleep suggest you don't stay here.
3. Inefficient use of space in the room - although room was absolutely huge, there was a lot of dead space that could have been used better. The room had a small kitchenette located in a very large cupboard unit which could have easily been converted to a full kitchen with a cooktop, full size fridge and even laundry facilities which could makr better use of the space and offering more amenities to the guest which I woukd pay extra for. There was a large area immediately adjacent to these cupboards that had nothing in it and appeared to be just 'dead' space.
4. One bedroom apartment really wasn't a one bedroom apartment - the bedroom doesn't have a door or doors shutting it off from the rest of the apartment. No door between the hallway, toilet, bathroom and bedroom. Only sliding doors between the living room and bedroom. Could still hear noise from corridor as a consequence.
5. Concealed drawers in cupboard and bathroom - although impressive from a design perspective can make it very difficult to find things like cutlery and hairdryers. I had to call Reception when I couldn't find a teaspoon to use to stir the sugar in my coffee!

Tips:
1. Ask for a room at the rear of the property if you are a light sleeper away from the street and clock tower.
5.
4.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thankyou Klewi for your response to your stay.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay when visiting launceston.
I do appreciate your feedback and am happy you found your stay for the most part suited your needs.
Our one bedroom suites are quite large and some do have kitchenette features. We do have two bedroom and four bedroom options which have more facilities regarding kitchens and separate bedrooms.
Being a cbd property there is a degree of city noise, the city clocktower included which affects most cbd hotels in launceston, but we are happy to allocate rooms for the light sleeprs on the other side of the hotel.
Once again, I do appreciate your honest feedback and hope you can stay again at some stage.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Travelling alone so wanted something modern and basic.

Got a discounted online price ($114) and was impressed. Large bathroom and room. Walking distance to CATARACT GORGE and town.

Friendly staff. There was some construction across the road, that was annoying, but the room had earplugs supplied (apparently to fend off the CLOCKTOWER bells).

Gym basic but adequate.

Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thankyou BexB for your comments.
Hope you have an opportunity to stay again at some stage.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Tassie. As we had an early morning flight. We needed something basic. We scored this at a bargain rate and our expectations were exceeded. Again, great location. Spacious rooms. Comfortable bed. Could do with a bit better heating but overall a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks Jas1310 for your response.
I am very happy you had an opportunity to stay with us during your stay in tassie. Hope you get a chance to pick us again if you are travelling this way again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for two separate one night stays as a Le Club Accor Hotels Platinum member recently. I stayed in a 1 bedroom spa suite both times.

Room was nice, however there were a few shortcomings. The toilet did not have an exhaust fan or window in either of the two rooms. The rooms were also not sound proof - I could hear clearly the surrounding rooms.

The room itself other than that was quite nice.

Only negative was on the first stay which was a Tuesday no parking was available, and the on street parking is metered on a weekday which involved me having to go and put money into the meter in the morning. I elected to use the on street parking on the second stay as it was a Saturday night and parking at the hotel was $8, but on street parking was free on Sundays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thankyou BT91 for your response.
Unfortunately we do have limited parking and is on a first come basis. Metered parking is around the hotel and is free after 5pm until 9am weekdays and after 12 noon Saturday until 9am Monday mornings on the weekends. We are happy to have you call ahead to reserve a spot where possible.
I hope you have an opportunity to stay again when in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for the footy. Great location. Short walk to Aurora Stadium, Cataract Gorge & city centre. Staff went out their way to allow check in a bit earlier which was greatly appreciated. Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom was large and the shower was hot and strong. Enjoyed a lovely dinner in the restaurant downstairs. All staff were a pleasure to deal with. The only minor negative were the 'bells' chiming. This might annoy light sleepers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareBear7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thankyou ClareBear773 for taking the time to post a response on your stay.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and you found the size and condition of your room and the proximity of our hotel to Aurora stadium for the football suited your needs.
Hope to welcome you back, maybe when the football is next in town.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $157 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing