We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in Launceston Sebel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Corrimal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Launceston Sebel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Only spoke to staff at desk they were helpful and friendly. Did not use the restaurant on our 2 night stay as had other things planned. Can't help there. Being an Accor hotel I am sure it was fine. Booked the room on Accor special so was a great price for a big room and spa. Best room I have had on an Accor booking in 2 years

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank illawarrawollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thankyou guesswhoMelbourne for taking the time to post a report on your stay.
I am very happy you enjoyed the service and facilities at the hotel and its close proximity to many attractions.
Your feedback is also valuable and I will communicate this to our housekeeping team. The cleanliness of rooms is a key focus and I assure you this is not a regular occurance.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    343
    73
    20
    10
See reviews for
163
385
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very good quite location; within a couple of blocks of city centre and within easy walking distance of the museum and arts precincts, eateries, restaurants, rivers, etc. We managed to get onto an excellent discount rate for our stay. The room was large which included a separate lounge-kitchenette area. The toilet was located in a separate room (WC) which was an unusual inclusion in a hotel but a welcome relief. The entry area was also large but could have been put to some better use. Walls should be adorned with photos / paintings to add some vibrancy. Since we had all meals away from the hotel we can't rate the onsite restaurant. Hotel parking is very limited; spaces are squishy but not expensive at $8 per day. However, there is a suggestion that more spaces were sold than available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank holidayers906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thankyou holidayers906 for your response to your stay.
I am happy your enjoyed the facilities, size and layout of our rooms.
The feedback on paintings, while limited wall space is something we can consider when we go into our next refurb.
We do have limited car parking spaces and some are suited more to small cars and others can accommodate larger cars. We only allocate the number we have and in times of high demand it does fill up. If you are travelling here again, please let us know and we can pre-allocate a bay for you especially if you have a larger car like a four wheel drive.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The appartment we had was well stocked and it is all in good condition.Launceston is only small and you are never more than 10 minutes from anything.The staff were helpful and recommended some nearby restaurants.Parking was easy.Only wish that the stupid city clock would not chime all night - our sleep was very disrupted and on another visit I would stay out of the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fewbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanyou fewbar for your response to your stay.
I am very happy you enjoyed the facilities, service and our location to most attractions.
The town clock is a long standing feature of the cbd of Launceston.
Despite requests from the city hotels to have the chimes reduced in the very late hours, this will not eventuate.
I would welcome you back to the hotel and if doing so please take the chance to request a room on the other side of the hotel where any noise from the clock is very minimal.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel which is conveniently located and of reasonable quality. The staff were friendly and helpful but the major problem we had with our stay was poorly handled. The problem was that the airconditioner in our room was extremely noisy, obviously needed maintenance, and had to be switched off so we could sleep. At the outset we raised the problem with reception who came and listened to the aircon and agreed there was a problem. We were not offered another room but were assured it would be looked at the next day. We left early the next day (to go hiking) and returned late. On return the aircon was still noisy so we checked with reception who told us that the mainenance person had looked at the aircon and said it was operating normally. This was clearly not the case (a bearing was on the way out) and we again slept with the aircon (heat) off.
Service in the restauraunt was courteous and frienldy but the food was very ordinary. The menu was limited, which is not an issue in itself, but there was a caveat with almost every item. e.g. there were no beans tonight or the pork cutlets were not available etc. The restaurant was also very noisy - you could hear alll the kitchen noise (pots & dishes clanging) and staff discussing their social lives. Not the ambience one expects!
A small point - we are Accor Advantage club members and were not advised of benefits to members which were available at the hotel including free internet access, luggage tags and bottles of spring water.
Summary - the hotel needs to do things a little better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John_C_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thankyou John_C_Senior for your feedback.
We are always looking at ways to improve the service we provide.
I do apologise about the noise of the heat pump. Having these in every room provides the flexibilty to heat and cool to your desire. We have since had this serviced and we do try to maintain their upkeep due to their high usage in winter and summer months.
The extra benefit our hotel only provides to Le Club members in free internet, water and luggage tags should have been communicated. While we have only been with Accor and their loyalty members since January, these added benefits have been appreciated but it appears we are still ironing out the finer details.
I hope you have the chance to visit again and I can assure you that this is not a reflection of the standards at our hotel.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay here. I visited for business and stayed in a one room apartment which was tastefully decorated and very cleverly designed to be generous and spacious. There is heaps of storage and very unusually a toilet in a room by itself that is separate to the bathroom. The staff were very warm and welcoming. I also used their conference facilities and could not fault the service and really appreciated the small touches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thankyou Katherine S for your comments based on your recent stay.
I am very happy you found the size and layout of our rooms, the service received and the conference facilities suited your needs.
I hope you have the chance to stay with us again some time soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night after 6 nights in a motorhome travelling up the East coast. Granted any thing would be better than the motorhome. The Hotel was perfectly suited. Close to the centre of town, easy to find, lots of local restaurants (thai, chinese etc.) The rooms are large, clean and modern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdeahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanyou Perdeahal for your response.
We are very happy you found the cleanliness, facilities and size of your room to your liking.
I hope you get the chance to visit our region again some time.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were so glad to have stayed at the Sebel, Launceston. Booked it due to rooms having kitchen and laundry facilities plus seperate bedroom. Location ended up being PERFECT, as it is just on the edge of town so we were able to walk to Cataract Gorge, the brewery, shopping centres, Aurora stadium retaurants and the mall etc. Although we had a car we didn't need it. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms modern & large especially bathrooms. Restaurant looked good but didn't get time to try it. As it is not an overly large establishment, it isn't noisy or overly busy. Just one minor failure, the cleaners could check rooms properly as there was still food from previous people under the couches and bathroom ws not well cleaned during our 3 day stay. But still will be staying here when next in Launceston as for the price it is great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guesswhoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing