We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family accommodation in good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic family accommodation in good location.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first time in Tassie and The Sebel was a great choice for us for our 3 night stay in Launceston. We arrived Christmas Day to a friendly staff member, service was great throughout stay.We were a group of two families so we both had apartments, ours 2 bedroom. The apartment was great, spacious, clean, modern. The apartments had a small kitchen, full size fridge, and everything required to cook.
The Sebel is located on the outer parameter of the city streets, near the beer Factory, everything is within walking distance, lovely park for kids to play close by.
There is a large council clock in Launceston (about 2 blocks from The Sebel) that chimes every 15 minutes, first day we noticed it but after 1 day got use to it, it's not too loud and stops around 10pm, it won't keep you awake, we live on rural property with complete silence and didn't bother us, adds to the charm of the small city.
Only one criticism, the room service food is woeful, and overpriced.
Special thanks to Tash that happily changed our room to accommodate my disabled mother, she was friendly and nothing was a problem.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivestarplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thankyou fivestarplease for taking the time to post a response of your stay at the hotel.
I am delighted you enjoyed the size and convenience of our 2 bedroom apartment style rooms which met all the requirements your family needed.
We are centrally located within walking distance of most atttractions within Launceston including Aurora Stadium where we see visiting AFL teams play.
I will pass on your comments to the restaurant team. Our room service menu has a range of quick style meals including burgers, pizzas, toasted sandwiches etc through to our restaurant menu featuring a range of Tasmanian produce.
We hope to see you again in Launceston at some stage.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    352
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
168
397
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were amazing and very big, equipped with a kitchen and all the cooking utensils you needed. The bed was very comfy. Staff were very helpful in recommending tours and places to go and eat. They were always willing to go the extra mile for us, allowing us to check out late as I was sick on the last day, and providing us with extra milk and butter for our toast. It is also a great location as it was only 10 minutes walk from all the shops and bars. Also very quiet, I don't know what clock all these people are talking about. I didn't hear a thing!! Thankyou Sebel for a fantastic stay. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thankyou Rachel C for taking the time to post a response on your stay at the hotel.
I am delighted you found the size and layout of our rooms met your requirements and especially the service you received from the entire team. I will definately pass this on the them all.
I do hope you get the chance to visit Launceston again so we may again welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in another hotel while in Launceston but thought I'd try the Sebel for a change. Well what a good choice that turned out to be. The rooms are excellent! Spacious and tidy far superior to where I normally stay. The food is fairly standard fare but this is more than made up for by the staff who are friendly and professional, It's a nice touch when the bar staff remember what you drink ( nice work Tara). The breakfast is also good and cooked to order, it's nice not to get rock hard eggs from a bay marie for a change. This will be my Hotel of choice in Launnie from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thankyou Lurtz70 for taking the time to post a response to your stay and appreciate the positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to the team especially Tara in the restaurant.
We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I were recently travelling through Tasmania and stayed at The Sebel for 3 nights. We were so impressed by the cleverly designed 1 bed apartment/suite. The kitchen unit was fantastic - equipped with everything, fridge, 2 plate ceramic hob, microwave etc and even a small dishwasher! The bathroom was huge by hotel standards, and contained a mini laundry ( washer and dryer stacked in a cupboard). The apartment/suite even had a balcony with outdoor furniture. Everything was immaculate every day - 10 out of 10 to the housekeeping team!
The front office team were really helpful and friendly from start to finish. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Penne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thankyou Penne T for taking the time in posting a response to your stay at the hotel.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the size and cleanliness of the rooms along with the service of the team met all your expectations.
We do look forward in welcoming you back should you visit Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

this place is great to stay in, quiet- private-easy parking very clean rooms full kitchen the staff were more then helpfull with any needs ,2 local papers free at the desk just a pleasure to be there beleave me you wont go wrong give them a try

Room Tip: the of road rooms are more private and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thankyou Johnnie C for taking the time to post a response to your stay.
We are delighted you found the hotel met all your requirements and hope to see you again when you next visit Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After much research I decided to book the Sebel for our first family holiday with the new addition. Overall I was pleased with my stay at this hotel. There were a few negatives but the positives far out weighted them.
PROS:
-SPACE!! it really is like your own little apartment.
-full length wall to wall bedroom cupboards, which easily fit my husbands mine and our babies clothes, shoes, everything.
-kitchen, full size fridge, dishwasher, cupboard space. Was so handy with a baby.
- beautiful view with floor to ceiling Windows in lounge and bedroom. Also lovely balcony with table and chairs.
-washing machine and dryer in room!! Bliss when travelling with baby
-fantastic customer service!
CONS:
-the bed, it was a king size bed made out of 2 singles. The middle of the bed had a hard ridge right down the center, this made it impossible to roll over your half of the bed, if was SO uncomfortable.
-the key cards were really annoying, never working to get in the building, up the lift, in your room. Most of the guests were experiencing the same problems.
-the couch was very colour faded and had several stains, it just looked really over used and unclean so I never wanted to sit on it.
-no bath!! This was a real disappointment. All the pictures showed a bath in the bathroom, but it was not the case. Even the discription of the room I booked stated bath, but it was a shower only.
-room service extremely over priced and lousy food. Go to a restaurant!

Over all a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katebatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thankyou katebatty for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at our hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is appreciated and I will pass this on to all areas concerned.
All of our one bedroom deluxe rooms have standard king beds and ensuite bath and shower facilities. We do however have a few one bedroom superior rooms which have the benefits of a kitchennete and laundry facilities but only have a ensuite bathroom featuring a walk in shower. These rooms also have a king bed ensemble which can be split to form two large single beds. In times of peak occupancy we do need to allocate all rooms based on their original booking. Both rooms types are the same spacious size.
We do have plans for a soft refurb of the rooms including wifi installation in early 2013.
Once again I do appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights with our 2 young children and in-laws. The room was spacious and clean. We had our own kitchen so didn't use any of the hotels restaurant facilities. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thankyou Kellie S. for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the hotel.
I am very pleased you enjoyed the facilities and cleanliness of your room and that it catered for your family needs.
We hope you have an opportunity to visit the hotel again
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing