We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,friendly service,Great room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly happy staff at checking in and out. Luxury one bed room apartment was thoughtfully laid out. A modern bathroom with deep bath and a separate loo. Comfy bed and very good linen. Went out for dinner but had an excellent full breakfast in the restaurant. Recommend this hotel for overall value, location, comfort and service.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thankyou Niki T for taking the time to post a response after your stay.
I am delighted you found the quality of the hotel and the service you received to you expectation including the restaurant and breakfast.
We hope to see you again when next visiting Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 888 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Possibly the worst breakfast my husband and I have ever had. Never felt more ripped off in my life. $64 for two breakfasts.

Very ordinary customer service, average food quality, lack of variety, and seriously…. at $32.00 per person, you then have to pay for a second cup of tea/coffee if you want one. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank Maryanne0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thankyou Maryanne0427 for taking the time to post a response to your stay.
I am disapointed your breakfast experience reflected on your stay at the hotel.
I do appologise for this as we did not have a full compliment of staff and the service and upkeep of the buffet was not to the standard you would expect.
$32.00 per person is the full breakfast price per person.
This includes the continental buffet featuring breads and pastries, cold meats and cheeses, fresh cut and whole fruit, yoghurt and bircher muesli as well as a selection of cereals and juices. It also includes any hot meal you would like to order from the a la carte menu as well as a loose leaf tea or espresso coffee.
You can order a simple hot item for $13 or even tea and toast for $7 if you wish to pay less.
I have spoken with the team and we should have been a bit more flexible with the second coffee and as I said before, I am sorry that the level of staffing on a busy day was not as it should have been and detracted from the experience you should have received.
We generally receive very positive comments from the service, quality of our rooms and food and can assure you that this is not the level you would normally receive and note we have identified this to ensure we manage it better in the future.
I do appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

spacious and well designed suites with a balcony, in a quiet location yet in walking distance to all the sights including the river and historic sights in the CBD. Also close to some great restaurants in town and on the river side. The hotel restaurant is very nice also and includes al fresco. Off street parking is easily accessed and reasonably priced. Staff were extremely helpful and prompt with fixing faults in the room (which were only minor - eg battery in safe needed replacing). Kingsize bed really comfy, and amenities well maintained and spotless. A small but well equipped gym

Room Tip: Have stayed here twice now - once in a room facing the main street, and another facing a side alley...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxandruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thankyou maxandruss for writing a response to your stay at the hotel.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found everything to your liking.
I will pass on your comments to the staff as we are very focused in providing warm genuine service.
I do hope to see you again when visiting Launceston next.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene692
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is right in the city centre. I have stayed 3 times and have enjoyed each stay. Apartments are very clean and spacious.
On one on my stays I had a separate toilet. Bathrooms are clean and a good size.
If you are a light sleeper make sure you stay at the rear of the hotel as you can not hear the chimes from the city clock.
Restaurant was very good for breakfast. I have not eaten a night time meal there.
The hotel is so central you can walk almost everywhere.
Parking at the hotel is not great. Very small spots and only really good for small cars. I have had no damage to my vehicle whilst parked out on the street over night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasgirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thankyou tasgirl35 for taking the time to respond to your stay at the hotel.
I am very pleased you found the size, facilities, location and service to your liking.
We do have limited undercover parking with many suiting small to medium cars and a few suited to larger cars on a user pay system.
Alternately there are many metered on street parking around the hotel which are free after 5pm - 9am weekdays, 12 noon - 9am Saturdays and free on Sundays.
We hope to see you again when in Launceston
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Sebel is a great hotel, good location, lovely rooms, well appointed and offered us everything we wanted for a 3 night stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. As apartment style we had a full kitchen and laundry which was very handy.

Unfortunately the city clock chimes every 15 minutes 24/7! If you are a light sleeper this really creates a disturbed night sleep. Not the hotel's fault and when I mentioned it to the Receptionist she explained the many attempts made by management to complain to the Council to no avail. I am sure they would have moved us if we asked but we were staying in a two bedroom suite and had so much gear we were not up to moving.

I would recommend this hotel but, if you think the noise might disturb you, mention it on booking and get a room at the back of the hotel. I am sure the staff will oblige.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thankyou oztravellers1 for taking the time to post a message about your stay.
I am pleased you found the size of your room, the facilities and service to your liking.
The town clock is a permanent feature of the city and on the hour it does chime the number of times reflecting the hour of the day.
We are a hotel with rooms facing all sides of the building and for lighter sleepers we do try and allocate a room on the other side of the building.
Once again I do appreciate your comments on tripadvisor and hope to see you again when visiting Launceston
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This modern hotel is located near the middle of town and a most pleasant place to stay. The staff are friendly, efficient and attentive. The rooms are large (I had a separate bedroom from the living area with a small kitchenette) and the bathroom likewise of generous size. The rooms are clean and the hotel a good place to stay (apart from the town’s clock sounding from 6am). The 7am breakfast arrived precisely at 7am. A really nice stay with wonderfully comfortable bed and pillows. I’d certainly stay there again when next in the beautiful old Tasmanian city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thankyou PhilthetravellerXI for taking the time to post a comment on your stay at the hotel.
I am delighted you found the features of the room to your liking and especially the service friendly, effecient and attentive. I will definitely pass on these comments to the team.
We look forward to your next stay when visiting Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $139 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing