We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - shame it's near the chiming town clock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - shame it's near the chiming town clock”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for one night in a fabulous "King Spa Suite". We enjoyed a spa in the big clean bathroom whilst nibbling on the complimentary delicious fudge and port before settling into the big comfy bed for a good night's sleep...or so we hoped. The town clock (which, if it wasn't opposite the hotel seemed that way) chimed every quarter of an hour! Not just boing boing on the hour, but it gave you warnings at 1/4 past, 1/2 past and 1/4 to, to let you know the big daddy chime was coming up next. And every time the big daddy sang, so did his choir of noisy children!

Obviously this is out of the control of the hotel, but it did spoil what would otherwise have been a great stay.

If anyone can convince the Launceston City Council to quieten the clock then you will not find a better place to stay in a great location. Until then, pack your earplugs (because there aren't any supplied even though they're well aware of the problem!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thankyou barrydoll for taking the time to post a response to your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
We are very happy you enjoyed the standard of the hotel.
Despite request to have the bell altered for the nights by hotels within the cbd, it is a heritage listed building and will remain a feature of this city.
We have updated your profile so that your next room should you stay will be on the other side of the building. Again for the light sleepers, we do now have ear plugs.
We hope to see you again at the Sebel Launceston when next visiting the area.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    352
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
168
397
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were lucky enough to book when there was a sale (for the Launceston cup race week). We had an amazing spa suite room, looked brand new and we could not have been happier. There was some street noise, but this was to be expected where the location of the room/hotel was. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the parking rate was very reasonable, we would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Spa rooms worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalLass4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thankyou Locallass470 for taking the time in posting a comment regarding your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
Launceston Cup is always an exciting time for the city and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay here during that period.
I will pass on your comments to the staff and we are all very conscious of the service we need to show to meet our guests expectations and it is genuine.
We look forward to your next stay hopefully during one of the many events here in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had to make a flying visit to Launceston - chose The Sebel through Wotif - and were so happy with our choice. The staff really made our stay - they were professional, helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. A lovely touch was the complimentary cups of Gluwein in the afternoon - very warming. The room was large and well set out, great to have the separate toilet - in fact it would be ideal for a longer stay as it was well equipped with fridge, microwave, jug, toaster, crockery, glasses, etc. It seemed to be set out that the neighbouring room can join up and become a large apartment - good for families. As well as the shower in the modern bathroom, there was also a lovely big bath - sadly no time to try it out. We were comfortable and warm - and the king bed made for a wonderful sleep. There was a lovely restaurant on the ground level - where breakfast is served - is also great for a late nightcap too. Would definitely stay here again - we are planning already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karralika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thankyou very much Karralika for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
As you mentioned, the size of our rooms and the variety of one, two and 4 bedroom apartments are perfect for families or friends travelling.
We look forward to your next stay and while the gluwhein was a winter treat for weekend travellers we may have something else in the summer months.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was a great hotel to stay at - I highly recomend it. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable, the facilities were clean and well presented and the location was just perfect! Our room was a reasonable size. I could have stayed there for weeks and been completely satisfied. We will definately stay here again next time!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room that captured the afternoon sun through the windows and on the balcony. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thankyou Laura Q for taking the time to post a message about your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
I am very happy you found the size and condition of the room to your liking, the location of the property and in particular the service you received. I will pass this on to everyone concerned.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Rooms are very big, clean, great attention to detail, excellent quality and the service was very professional. I would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thankyou Lauren W for taking the time to post a comment on here.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Sebel Launceston and found the size and condition of your room met your expectations.
We look forward to your next stay when in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is definitely up there for a nice place to stay in Launceston - great steps forward just like the Hotel Charles but it is always a “but” with accommodation in Tasmania. I always wonder if local hotel management ever go overseas to see how others do it. They should – it just all those little extras that always seem to be missing.

I am going to compare this with the Hotel Charles as I think they are similar categories and have stayed in both – for business trips – and others might be trying to make a decision.

• Both are great for being modern and fresh – not a dingy dark old world room in sight
• Both efficient on check in and friendly – although the Hotel Charles more welcoming. Nice to get good service
• Both good heating

Let’s start with the good for the Sebel
• Lovely huge room – separate lounge room and bedroom – huge and compared with a Hotel Charles standard room luxurious – with sofa and kitchen area. Like a mini apartment whereas the Hotel Charles standard room is just about all bed with a chair jammed in.
• Central and walking distance to town – Hotel Charles is a drive
• Separate toilet – can be important if there are two of you
• My room service Grim Beef steak dinner was fantastic – the toasted sandwiches I had very late at the Hotel Charles was also not too bad
• Bath tub – none at Hotel Charles – but ..... it was plastic, uncomfortable and had no bubble bath. I had 2 conditioners – so not sure if that was an oversight /slackness or not
• Shower head was not that good
• Really, really comfortable bed and pillows at both

The oh dear
• $20 for internet access at the Sebel – I am so sick of hoteliers in Australia making their guest pay exorbitant rates to access the internet – get with the program people it should be free like electricity is – it should just come with the room – or at the worst be cheap. This just feels like a gouge to me. Internet access is free at the Hotel Charles
• Parking – woe full – really tight spots and you have to pay – free at the Hotel Charles and a bit more roomy
• No bathrobes – can’t remember if they had them at the Hotel Charles
• No in room information including phone directory – which meant when I was trying to work out the Internet access I had to put boats back on and go down to reception. All the receptionist could say – was “that unusual we just had a lot printed”. When I asked for another set was told there were none! No apology and no service – just told to dial 9 in the future
• Ordered room service breakfast and got some bread in a basket to toast myself. Not a big deal – but should have been told that was the case.
• No view – looking over a car park – had a lovely view at the Hotel Charles – not that important to me obviously as a business traveller

Would I stay at the Sebel again – yes especially for the size of the room. If I was paying though (I was not in this case) I would probably save my dollars and stay at the Hotel Charles if it was a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thankyou SuziiW for taking the time to post a coment on your stay.
Whilst very extensive, we do appreciate the feedback and will take many points in improving the experiences of the guests.
We are looking at the price of internet as well as installing wifi in the near future. I will also pass some of the information you provided on to our staff. While we have had most of our compendiums updated due to our new connection with Accor hotels, we also provide this information on the movie page of every guest's in room tv's.
We do look forward to your next stay and hope we see you again at the Sebel Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fantastic spacious rooms! We stayed in a King spa suite as this was an upgrade deal on wotif. The hotel was lovely, The room was big and everything was neat and clean! I really wanted a spa as I am 6 months pregnant and felt like a treat. The location was great and parking is only $8 a night, however we opted to park on the street as we were in and out due to a conference my partner was attending. I loved having a balcony for fresh air which is quite rare in any CBD. No negatives, except our room was missing bath robes and sugar... If I had to find something. Definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for lovely accommodation in the CBD with plenty of space at a great price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmattHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thankyou emmattl-Hobart for taking the time to post a comment on your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
We definately appreciate your comments and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I hope you may get another chance to stay with us either before or after your baby is due.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing