We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Taffy Down Under
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family option”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The pros

1/ Location - as others have said quiet yet close to CBD and Seaport area.
2/ One bedroom apartment perfect as baby Coffi could go to sleep in the bedroom at 7pm and we could spend the evening in the separate lounge having dinner, watching TV without disturbing him.
3/ Portacot and sheet was provided free of charge and set up in the room prior to our arrival.
4/ Check-in staff (Ruth) was extremely helpful. We arrived very early (10am) and she checked to see if there was a room available (there wasn't) but said she would call as soon as it was (which she did at about 11am).
5/ Decor and furnishings were modern, clean and in good condition.

Con's
1/ We needed an apartment with a full kitchen to prepare food for baby Coffi (rather than just a microwave) which according to the website are 'available on request'. Prior to booking I called to 'request' a room with a full kitchen but I was told that these were only available on request (which is what I thought I was doing!) however there was no guarantee that on checking in we would get one. As I was running out of time on this occasion we took the gamble, but in normal circumstance without a guarantee of what we were getting I would have just booked elsewhere.
2/ King bed mattress had one of those uncomfortable ridges down the middle so must have been two singles zipped together.

Overall, a very positive experience and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0ffiC0ffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thankyou hofficoffi for your response.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the service provided by our team.
A number of our one bedroom suites do contain a microwave/convection oven, hotplate, dishwasher and fridge while others do not. I have had your profile updated to have this allocated for your next stay.
Also some of our beds can be unzipped to make a king bed into 2 single beds, with the matress protectors this should not be noticable and I will review with the housekeeping staff.
Once again thankyou for taking the time to respond and we look forward to your next stay
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    354
    75
    21
    10
See reviews for
172
400
35
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night over the Easter holiday
- we were accompanied by our 14 month old son and stayed in a basic one bedroom suite
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but noticed that many of the other hotel guests did.

REALLY LOVED
Laundry room with free washers and dryers and complimentary laundry liquid thoughtfully supplied

LOVED
1) Great location in the CBD
- close to shops and restaurants and within a short walk to the Seaport (more restaurants)
- close to the beautiful City Park
- right next door to the Transit Centre where buses arrive
2) Stylish, modern and contemporary decor in both the common areas and the room itself
3) Well designed and furnished room which just worked beautifully. We were very comfortable during our stay.
4) Well stocked kitchenette
5) We were offered a cot for our son on check-in for free. The cot was delivered and set up in the room before we had even finished getting our bags in. Now that's service.

Now for the not so good news.

REALLY HATED
Undercover car parking was provided but there was a charge of $8 a night. Admittedly, this is not a large sum of money but we have stayed at many hotels all over Tasmania including in the Hobart CBD and have never paid for parking. What made it even cheekier is that the hotel is located in a very quiet part of Launceston with plenty of street parking which would be free after 5pm and on the weekends. I have written to the hotel suggesting they waive the parking fee and offer undercover parking as part of their service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thankyou ridot1 for your feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed your time here in Launceston and enjoyed our hotel along with our facilities and service.
We do only have limited under cover and do charge $8. Most other cbd hotels within Launceston also charge for parking as they also do not own or manage the carparks surrounding their facilities.
On street parking is available and is metred and as you suggest is free after 5pm weekdays and after 12 noon on Saturdays and all day Sundays.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed in spa suite. It was clean, comfortable, well laid out and well worth the money paid. Great location for exploring Launceston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbushill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thankyou jbushill for your response.
We hope you have the time to visit the hotel again and take advantage of our position to further explore the city of Launceston and the surrounding areas.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed in King suite.Reasonably priced for a city room and well equipped and comfortable.
Easy walk to city centre ,shops ,cinema and restaurants by the water.Generally quiet but church bell broke the silence on occasions at night if on main road.
Good Value

Room Tip: King suites very good and not that expensive for good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thankyou jillmalt for your kind response. Our central location does make it easy to walk to most attractions, shops, sporting venues. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Terrific location, comfortable rooms, well equipped and kind staff.

Helpful?
Thank KatkaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thankyou Randall B for your response.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the rooms covered all your needs.
We look forward to your next stay at the Sebel launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for seven nights, something of a working vacation. I needed a comfortable place to work with enough space so that my wife and I could manage daily needs.

We had the one-bedroom suite that nicely met our needs. It had a workable kitchen. The bedroom was nicely positioned so as to allow a view of the good-sized television set. The bathroom is roomy with a great shower. The washer, dryer, and dishwasher are quiet. The decor is modern (my wife particularly liked it).

There is a charge for Internet, but not if one is a member of the "Global Hotel Alliance." That includes the Sebel chain as well as other upscale hotel groups. Joining is free and worth the trouble.

We had originally planned on staying five days longer, but left early not because of any dissatisfaction with the hotel, but rather because my wife ran out of things to do while I was working. Launceston is a pleasant town, but perhaps not the best place for an extended stay as a tourist.

The staff was excellent, cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street do get some noise from the health club across the road — but only for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thankyou Randall B for your response.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the conditions of the room and the service from our staff to your liking.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel should you visit Launceston again
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (after one night in Somerset on Salamanca in Hobart which was terrible). So when we got to our 2-bedroom apartment here, it was amazing! This hotel was actually cheaper than Somerset as well.

Check in was good and there's free parking for those with cars. The whole apartment was tastefully furnished and modern and looked and felt new. Location is great - easy and near enough to walk to some good restaurants and is a short drive to attractions nearby. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thankyou reginacheah for yuor comments.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
Our large 2 bedroom spa suites give you plenty of room to spread out.
Hope to have you enjoy Tasmania again sometime
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing