We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Launceston
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Our apartment at the Quest was clean, bright and very well equipped. We had heating, which had been turned on for us - and that was much appreciated. We found however that none of the windows in our apartment would open - so no fresh air - and also no air-conditioning. Would not stay in Summer. The noise was bad on the first two nights (weekend), but settled after that. I believe double glazing windows are happening....

Could not find any fault with the staff at reception, very helpful and friendly. We did have to drag our suitcases up the stairs on our arrival - and found out that there is a ramp at the side of the building (doh)....Launceston is wonderful, make sure and eat at the "Jailhouse" best steaks ever... Enjoy

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Townsville6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 817 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2007

After reading reviews of this hotel describing noise problems I decided to book directly with the hotel to ensure that I could get a room high up and at the back. "Not a problem!", they said. "We'll give you a room on level 3 at the back", they said. "Great", we say.

However, when we book in we are given a level 1 room (104) right at the front of the hotel with the drag racers zooming and the clock chiming every 15 minutes.

Not happy, we call reception and let them know that this is not the room we booked. They give us the keys to 102 and a subterranean (I kid you not) room at the front of the hotel. The noise from the drag racers is quadrupled once just below the road. Room 102 turns out to be an "access" room designed for disabled guests and faces the side of the building which is only marginally quieter than the front. At least there is a glass door on the bedroom on this one to block out some of the noise. The bathroom is naturally designed for a wheelchair guest and is reminiscent of a locker room shower area. It is also very dusty and I have the feeling that they don't get many disabled guests staying.

The ONLY reason we decided to stay at this hotel was because they guaranteed us a high room at the back. The whole point of doing research on properties is to find out the problems and combat them. If the hotel then chooses to tell you whatever they want to get the booking, well what is the point.

I cannot stress enough to not stay at this property, even if they promise you an acceptable room. Given that they blatantly lied to us to get our business and then refused to give us a more acceptable room, I will never be staying at this hotel again and will let everyone I know travelling to Tasmania to give them a wide berth.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank yes_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed at the Quest Launceston apartments for 5 days in December 2006 with our 12 year old son. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 5th (& highest) floor of a beautiful restored historic building in central Launceston.

The apartment is brand new (Quest opened in August 06) & the decor is modern, neutral, tasteful & above all, comfortable. The king size bed in the separate bedroom was heavenly with crisp quality sheets & soft quilt. The fold out sofa bed in the lounge was also very good.

The kitchen has all that you need for 4 people including full stove, good size fridge, & microwave. There is a laundry in the beautiful fully tiled bathroom. They also have studio & larger 2 bedroom apartments.

Situated in Patterson street the apartment is in a great position - a one minute walk to shops & restaurants, & less than 10 minutes walk to the river bank. We hired a car & did some great day trips - Tamar region including Beaconsfield , the caves at Mole Hill & the heritage drive down to historic Ross. The Cataract Gorge is right in Launceston & is a must do. The chair lift is great, as is having a cuppa with peacocks for company.

The reasons that we didn't give Quest a perfect score are:

1. The noise factor. Unfotunately most nights local hooligans used Patterson street to race their hotted up cars. The staff were aware of the problem & are hoping to install double glazing - which is vital.
2. There was airconditioning but only in the lounge area & being summer, the bedroom got very stuffy. We couldn't open the windows at night because of the noise problem already mentioned.

However, these issues wouldn't stop us from returning to Quest Launceston in the future. Next time we'll ask for an apartment at the back (hopefully quieter) & come in cooler weather (so the airconditioning won't be an issue).

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

The apartments are new, stylish and spacious, within a restored heritage building. Bed was superbly comfortable and the bathroom (included a washer and dryer) was spacious. Large tv, cd/stereo, modern kitchen and appliances.

Very flexible and professional staff - how refreshing! Initially our request for a three bedroom apartment could not be filled due to high occupancy but to our surprise, all three of us were upgraded to an apartment each on arrival. Weren't we lucky (and grateful, after a very long day)!!!

My one bedroom apartment was so roomy, we had our meals and meetings there. My room at the front of the property was quiet, but one of my colleagues did complain about the chiming bell tower from her apartment higher up.

Car parking is at a parking station directly across the road. Loading and unloading in front of the building can be tricky if there are no car spaces vacant (although there is a loading zone and we did find a space right out front most times despite it being a busy period). The five or eight steps at the entrance could be difficult if you have accessibility issues.

Very well located for shopping and restaurants, 3-5 mins walk. It's located on a one way street and was quiet at night.

A very welcoming place, for business or pleasure. Oh and did I mention comforable - yes, the apartments have adjustable heating levels and electric blankets!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotelbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Taiwan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alagu Murugan S, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Chung Chuen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alagu Murugan S, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 如果你不想在房中爬樓梯,要早提出喔!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieng1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alagu Murugan S, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Address: 16 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $137 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing