We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WATCH OUT FOR BIG BEN” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Launceston
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WATCH OUT FOR BIG BEN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

As expected of the quest the rooms were clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful, this includes the cleaners. However the downside of our stay was the lack of sleep from the hourly church bells that rang throughout the night. The internet access was also very expensive up to $15.00 an hour which is an unreasonable charge as access is so cheap elsewhere and often free.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomtom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    286
    66
    29
    14
See reviews for
205
217
15
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

After staying at numerous hotels in Launceston, and never really been happy at where I stay (either too far away, too expensive, no air conditioning, poor service etc), it's nice to finally find a hotel which I'm happy to return to.
The rooms are clean and modern, the location is great, parking you must pay for - but it is not excessive and the rooms are not expensive.
I haven't been bothered personally by the noise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b747sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed at this great hotel for just one night for a bit of rest and recreation and shopping in Launceston. Fantastic staff (especially friendly and efficient Jess), beautiful room, excellent facilities and a great mini bar, however, what was promising to be a very pleasant evening turned into a nightmare by the loud and relentless techno (or some such) music reverberating through the room from the early evening until 3am in the morning! I read other comments about the loud clock bells (and I too heard them every 15 minutes while I was waiting for the music to stop), but speeding cars, loud street noises, etc. were NOTHING compared to that pounding music. Not even hiding under four pillows could muffle the noise. I know it is not the management's fault and I understand they are working hard to rectify the problem and it won't even dissuade me from staying there in the future, however I will ensure it won't be on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breeza49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed for 4 Nights , If you would like a quite night pick the front of this appartment building you will be not anoyed by the BELLS, a little bit of traffic noise, but after 9.00pm Bliss. We had Apartment 3A & 3B. they are on 2 levels ,half moon window at street level and first floor level ,great for family., The Staff are great and very helpful. A big bonus is the secure car park opposite the apartment for $ 4.00 great value. If you like Thai Food the best is on the corner of Patterson and Charles St, Say Hi to Jin for me.Walk across the street you are staight into the shopping area. Would stay here all the time in Launceston. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were advised this hotel was quiet and in a good location. It was far from quiet. The town bells are SO LOUD.... the windows do not have double glazing & then to make it wors on the Friday & Saturday nights the music & crowds from the nearby night club could be heard until AFTER 3am!!! Room standard & staff are fine otherwise, but the lack of sleep certainly spoilt the trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazstar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and two small children accompanied me to Launceston for a business trip. We had stayed at Quest before on numerous occasions and had always been very happy with the location and the staff. Quest is our preferred venue in this city. We make a point of staying there and they always go out of their way to give us a great deal and ensure our stay is pleasurable.

Quest's building is well laid out and appointed. The rooms are very comfortable and the self catering facilities are a real bonus. The in-room entertainment options keep the children occupied and there is room to move. No complaints at all about the room.

I note some of the comments made by other reviewers and note the following: Quest is situated on Paterson Street. Paterson Street is in the centre of the city. Be aware, there are cars! They make noise! Also, Launceston is proud of its history. They have a post office clock. It chimes! Do either of these things cause a problem? Not for us they didn't and they never have.

I have stayed at a large number of accommodation venues in Tasmania, Quest is my favourite by far. The staff are first class and nothing is too much trouble. For us they have always gone that extra step and I could not recommend them more highly. If there is a problem and they can fix it, they will. I couldn't ask any more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusffolkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We have just spent 3 nights with the Quest in Launceston. Obviously the bell is a unique issue to Launceston and I cannot blame the hotel for this. I actually got used to the noise however other members of the family sought ear plugs to help with the issue. Another major problem is the noise from the street and the side alley. Sleep was a problem. The unit itself was perfect, with a large kitchen and washing machine and dryer. The best part of the Quest is their staff. They are very helpful. We had a problem with our air con unit and the issue was immediately resolved.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Property: Quest Launceston
Address: 16 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing