We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”
Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Launceston
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
WestAustralia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location. Lovely staff (especially Renae) who were happy to make sure we were happy! And even our ( unintended) late arrival was sorted quickly. No trouble with the cot and high chair. Suggest you get supplies first before you settle. Otherwise it's just a 1km walk to a supermarket. Parking across the road in a secure car park was simple and cheap. Good free wifi. Lovely interesting rooms with separate bedroom. Great that it includes a washing machine and dryer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denizen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Great to read from your review that our central location and well equipped facilities more than suited you during your recent stay. I'm also pleased that one of our friendly team was able to assist you so helpfully as we pride our selves on providing for all our guests friendly profesional service at all times. Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments and we look forward to your next visit. Regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    305
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
216
238
15
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in a 2 bedroom apartment last Sunday night. Turned out to be a very large, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment which was a pleasant surprise. Full laundry and kitchen facilities as expected with Quest apartments. It appears that parking is an issue at this hotel, but as we stayed on a Sunday night on-street parking availability wasn't an issue. Did notice the parking officers out doing their job between 9 and 10 on Monday morning so that might be a trap for the unwary. Service was really good and all staff we came into contact with were very pleasant to deal with. Our room was at the rear so was relatively close to the clock tower. Heard the bells, but it wasn't really an issue for us. (Maybe we just all slept so soundly as the beds are really, really comfortable, that we just weren't aware of the bells)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,
I'm pleased one of our spacious fully equipped apartments more than met your expectations during your recent stay and thank you for the high marks across the board. It's always wonderful to receive feedback from guests mentioning we have played a small part in making their visit an enjoyable one. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit. Regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Quest Launceston for 2 nights, the apartment was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Unfortunately the town clock chimes all night, although I believe it is reduced noise through the night, but is still very loud and kept waking most of our family up. Our apartment was right next to the clock and the Quest have double glazed to reduce the noise, but it is still too loud. I find it strange that the clock couldn't be turned off through the night. The only other annoying thing was that although we had two bathrooms (ensuite and main) if either of the bathroom lights were on then the noisy fan runs in both bathrooms. So if someone needs to use the main bathroom through the night the people in the master bedroom have disrupted sleep because of the fan. So in all this was a very noisy place to stay. On a positive note this hotel is very centrally located to restaurants and shops. The staff were very helpful in this hotel. The hotel supplies milk for coffee and tea but only for your first day so don't forget to buy some if you are staying for a few days, there is a convenience store just down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the town clock as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm pleased to read that you found our service, cleanliness of the apartments and our central location more than satisfactory, but I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. It's feedback such as yours that allows our maintenance schedule to be updated and hopefully prevent a similiar situation occurring in the future. Upon your next booking, please advise our friendly staff that you would prefer to be located in an internal apartment away from the town clock. We look forward to welcoming you back again sson to Quest Launceston. Regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really liked this Motel/ Serviced apartment, very clean, tidy, spacious , and within a short distance to some great places to eat. On arrival ( January 10th 2014) we were greeted by a very friendly, happy lady. It was the start of a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review from your recent stay.
I'm delighted our centrally located spacious apartments met all your requirements especially in regards to cleanliness, service, location and value. Again thank you for choosing to stay at Quest Launceston and we look forward to your next visit. Regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this apartment hotel - great location, clean, comfortable & free guest laundry. Very disappointed with the 3% credit card charge, which added nearly $10 to the bill. Who carries over $600 in cash for each hotel to avoid this charge?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you LouiseEdgar for taking the time to review Quest Launceston from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities and our centrally located position within Launceston. I understand your disappointment with the surcharge and I wanted to reiterate the surcharge is 1.5% on all credit card however the option of EFTPOS, Cash or direct debit (before the stay commences) can also be used as a method of payment which don't incur these fees. My apologise for the misinformation you have received. I would like to welcome you back to the property and would ask if you could please make direct contact with me to help you with suitable payment options for next time.
Many Thanks
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
03 6333 3555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop over before we head back to Melbourne. We booked a one bedroom apartment. The place was fantastic. Apratment comes with a full kitchen, washing mechine and dryer. The place was clean and very welcoming after long day on the road. Since the apartment was in the middle of the city is walking distance to the city centre. We stayed only two nights but had a very relaxing time. Staff was friendly and helpful
I highly recommend this place. Value for money.

Negative's-

The apartment wasn't ready at 2 pm. We had to wait another hour before they cleaned and make it available. After a long day on the road we didn't accept this. Staff apologies for the delay but didn't bother offering anything in return,which I thought was bad.

Parking is on the road side or across the road there is a car park. Hotel got a arrangement to get $5 parking overnight. Unfortunately our vehicle had a roof box and the hight was over 2.1m. We couldn't use the car park across the road because of the hight restriction of 2.1m. We had to park roadside after 5:30pm. Roadside parking near the hotel is 1 hour and metered till 5:30 during working days which is a major drawback.
If you plan to stay in and rest during the day, you need to keep moving your vehicle which is a major drawback.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your welcoming review on Quest Launceston. We appreciate the feedback about the car parking and I do apologise we were unable to help further with this. I also am concerned your apartment was not ready prior to the 2:00pm guaranteed time, this is not a common practice at Quest Launceston and once again I do apologise for the inconvenience. We are glad our facilities in the rooms met your expectation and appreciate the feedback you have about our team members here. Quest Launceston strive to produce the best customer service and hope this reflects on our guests whilst they are staying with us. We hope to welcoming you back in the future and once again thank you for taking the time to review the property.

Many Thanks
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Run down and rather tired hotel, we stayed in a small dark 2 bedroom apartment which smelt of humidity/oldness/urine (unsure, but there is an obvious ventilation issue) , there were large dark stains on the carpet . It really is very close to the town clock that chimes every 15 mins day & night and you can well and truly hear it at all times (sleep is a bit of a problem here). The window frames make a horrible sound as the wind blows. In other words, depressing stay ... Big mistake , we don't recommend this place to anyone, we tried to be out for as long as was possible , even though it rained in launceston.
On a positive note all reception staff were very friendly, the location is central, 2 bathrooms, free Internet, own laundry.

Room Tip: Noise for the clock - forget about sleeping here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Launceston and provide feedback to the property in ways we can look to improve. I would firstly like to apologise for the two bedroom issues you have raised and would like to know from you which room this would be. We have started our steam cleaning for carpets in rooms and corridors as we have noticed some rooms require this treatment. Our team at Quest Launceston do our best to action any concerns at the time of stay however understand this isn’t always possible. If you could please contact me I would like to speak with you further as we really do have a lovely property and I would like you to experience this for its true ratings.
Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Property: Quest Launceston
Address: 16 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing