We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked a queen room with dissabled bathroom for 2 nights. We were shocked at the size of the room, being for someone dissabled would have been difficult in a wheelchair getting in and out of doors, was more of a one person room. Had toaster, cereal, bread etc covered the basics but was dark and backed onto a clifface retaining wall. The room had a bad drainage smell once bathroom door was closed was bearable. Luckily it was a base for us and we didnt spend too much time in it. One good thing about it was the Kmart mall across road. Parking was at door but extremely tight when full house. Staff very helpful. Not likely to return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Travelling with a family these apartments were good for a short stay. 24 hour Kmart across the road should you need it and also a Coles open till midnight. Not a lot of room for the kids to move around. A short 7-800mrtre walk to the centre of town. No Restaurant but some deals with local eateries for 10% off.

Room Tip: We had the bottom floor with kids and the floors above sounded like elephants herding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a one bedroom studio which had enough room to sleep four people. There was a queen sized bed in an alcove room and then a separate room with 2 single beds. In addition the studio had a spacious lounge area with TV, a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom.

The kitchenette is well equipped although it took a while to locate the stove top cooking facilities - a plug in 2 element affair kept in a drawer whereas I was looking for a bench top stove. The microwave was a convection/ microwave. I have always found these a bit daunting to use but there is an instruction book available for the technologically challenged!
The heating was good and it was nice to have an outdoor area to look out on to from the lounge room.
Elphin Villas are very conveniently located, only a 5 minute walk to the K Mart Plaza, close to the city centre, and not far from St Luke's hospital.
The reception staff were very helpful when we phoned to make our booking and were very understanding when we had to cut our planned 5 day stay short to 3 days, and did not charge us. Much appreciated.
Our room was right towards the downhill end of the Villas close to Racecourse Rd so a little noisy at times from traffic. As a hint, when booking request a room closer to the reception end, the uphill part, as I think this would be more secluded and quieter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenelopeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in motel room for four nights while in Launceston for work and was quite happy with this motel.
The room was not very large but big enough for one person with a bed, table and chairs. The microwave, toaster, kettle and breakfast supplies (cereal, bread, butter and jam) provide a breakfast option which is useful as there is no restaurant onsite.
The room met most of my criteria for a good stay by having a hot shower, adequate heating, comfortable bed and easy to access power points by the bed and the mini bar.
The only negative points are that the window coverings don't block the light, so wouldn't be idea if you don't want to be woken up when the sun gets up. Also that they only provide a minimal service over the weekend, so the bin was emptied and towels were changed but nothing else was done.
The location is pretty convenient - even without a car. There is a Coles and K-Mart just across the street, as well as a pub which provides a decent evening meal. Alternatively a 10 minute walk or $5 taxi ride gets you to the centre of town where there are some really nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Recently spent one night at the Elphin Villas with my husband and daughter. The Elphin Villa's are in a great location for a self-drive holiday, easy to reach from CBD with car, easy parking & a nice walk (About 15min), opposite a 24hr Kmart & Coles Supermarket which is open to midnight.

The staff were very friendly and effecient, which was nice to see, very helpful.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa, which is spacious enough for 2 Adts and 2 Children or 2 Couples. The room had everything you would need for a short-term comfortable stay. The room has had a recent refurb which was nice to see, as there are many apartments in Launceston which are long overdue. Some small attention to detail was required, such as an un-finished paint job in the room, flecks of paint on the floor, fridge has some spilt liquid inside and the bathroom whilst clean overall, could do with some attention by making sure cleanig includes on the floor behind the door and down the side of the vanity (Dusty), easy to miss, however is noticed by guests.

We stayed on the ground floor as it was easier with an infant and you can access the garden area from your room. I must say however that we could hear every movement from the noisy guests up-stairs and the stomping and closing doors was loud enough to wake out daughter. So if you are a light sleeper and don't mind a few stairs I would probably say that the up-stairs would be a better option. Not really the fault of the Elphin Villas, just noisy guests and poor building design I guess.

I would stay here again and reccommend this property to my clients (I am a travel agent) and family.


Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravel7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Myself and 2 girlfriends stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. The Villa was nice, comfortable and had everything you need... although some Austar would be good. The beds were comfy and there were 2 bathrooms which you definately need for 3 women, lol.

My only complaint is that the heating is a little stingy. There is an electric wall heater which works really well when it is going, but it is on a timer.... so you go out for a while and come back to a cold unit again. Not to mention over night... brrrr.

The location is great, you can easily walk to the mall, and it cost us a grand total of 5 bucks to get a taxi back the room after a night on the town :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KadenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Second stay here now, this time for leisure, perfect location for exploring the city on foot (hire car also made it ideal base for Tamar day trip). From memory, room seemed refurbished since last stay 18 months back and very clean. Boutique feel to this place and excellent service (happy to spend time assisting with driving itinerary/ sites to see etc) make it great value for the money. Will hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 24 Racecourse Crescent | Racecourse Crescent, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elphin Villas Motel and Serviced Apartments is in a quiet location and a 10 minute stroll to the city centre. The well appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained villas are spacious and full of natural light, some with two bathrooms, some with full-size spa bath and all with their own private courtyard. Our 1 and 2 bedroom studio units have a kitchenette, lounge/dining area with ground floor units opening onto a restful barbeque and lawn area. The motel rooms are well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and kettle. All rooms are non-smoking and air conditioned. Free Wi-Fi and free off street parking at your front door is provided to all guests. Adjacent to the villas is the Coles/Kmart shopping centre and KFM Gym. 10% discount vouchers for local restaurants along with charge back facilities is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphin Hotel Serviced Apartments
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing