We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 3 star property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Place City View Apartments
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was very disappointed by our stay here. We stayed for 2 nights and were given a ground floor apartment with no view. The photographs on the site and on last minute were absolutely no comparison to the room itself. It was probably last decorated in the 70's and was sparse (to put it politely) with cheap furniture. It is in dire need of a refurb. Relatives paying the same price stayed nearby (5 minute drive) and were in a lovely apartment so I believe it to be over priced.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the first floor or higher to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Was apprehensive about stay given the mixed reviews but now make sense after having stayed. We booked for 2 bedroom unit on two separate occasions. The first night we were put on the first floor in an older style unit. So yes old but still clean and for 120 for 4 plus baby still reasonable price given cooking facilities and decent shower. Second time round given a renovated apartment which was brand spanking new and basically awesome for the price paid so very impressed. Didn't have issue with noise.

So I guess it really depends on whether you get a nicer unit or not. As to the comments about clean up fee, I think it's fair enough to return the place in the condition that you found it. Don't expect others to clean up for me if I've made a mess in the kitchen and encourages the place to be well kept. That being said, we did have a sink to wash up.

I would definitely stay again if given a nice unit.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YWanderlustY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

During a recent trip to Launceston we stayed three nights at Adina Place Apartments in a very comfortable two bedroom apartment on the third floor. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, the lounge and dining areas were a good size and we had a great view. The building is not new but the apartment had been refurbished and everything was neat and clean. The bathroom was a little bit daggy but everything worked (the fan worked very well - better than most I've come across) and for once (so many apartments/hotels don't do this) there were towel rails for everyone! Everyone we dealt with was friendly and it was great to have the rubbish removed every day and offers of clean towels whenever we wanted them. The apartments are in a great position. Within easy walk of cafes, restaurants and pubs and in a few minutes you are in the middle of the CBD. Adina Apartments are good value for money and are in a great position. They are not five star but then they don't pretend to be. We had no issues with noise and the apartments were full when we were there. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We didn't have any problems with noise. Maybe you get less noise on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartments which were comfortable. We initially stayed for one night before going off to Cradle Mountain for a couple of nights and returned for two more nights before leaving Tasmania. The building is old – don’t expect a flash five star place – but keep in mind you are not paying five star either. The apartments are not big but there was enough space for two adults and two kids to stay in. It would be cramped if you had to stay indoors for hours on end. Staff are friendly and helpful. Yes, could do with modernisation and renovation but on the whole, I was pretty happy with what we got. We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors during our stay – good views and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly and pleasant and that's where it ends. All bed, couch and tables need replacing. Fridge needs defrosting as all food freezes up. If you looking for a quite place to sleep bring ear muffs as traffic can be heard like it was in your room. Sorry adina but you need a upgrade

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staying at the studio was a disappointing end to our holiday, the first thing I noticed was the tired look of the room and the horrible decor with its pale sea greens, brown bedspread, blue carpet and a painting on the wall covered with stripy carpet....then the bar fridge with the missing door on the freezer section. I didn't spend much time in the room and changed my mind about trying to self-cater there! Users, don't forget to bring your own shampoo/conditioner. Pluses were the friendly reception, cleanliness and the room having an air-conditioner, but next time I will stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here twice at either end of our trip to Tasmania with two girlfriends. Both times we were greeted by very courteous staff. The rooms were well maintained and clean. It's not fancy, but the beds were comfortable and everything was looked after well. The owners clearly take pride in maintaining a comfortable and clean hotel and we really appreciated how kind they were to look after our excess baggage while we went for a week hiking, and allowed as early and late checkouts without charge. Thanks so much - would stay again if I was in Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Place City View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Place City View Apartments

Address: 50 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $93 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adina Place City View Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Place City View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Place City View Apartments Hotel Launceston
Adina Place City View Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing