We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The place was musty, dusty, cramped ... and the railing for the stairs was unsafe for our toddler. The reception staff are nice, but thats where the joy of the place ends. We had a plastic chair as part of the lounge furniture. They consider "ensuite" to be open to interpretation. Their website says ensuite, but there's no toilet or bathroom or anything off the bedroom. It pretty much a closet with a toilet and shower in it ... off the kitchen area. The carpet is worn, there's nothing appealing about the units. We hated it. Ended up having to find other accomodation ... 6pm ... with a toddler. Dont stay there it'll ruin your holiday.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vivstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    123
    59
    16
    19
See reviews for
140
129
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2010

'Wow how terrible is this hotel. It's only redeeming quality was that the front of house personnel were okay. The rooms are old and the furnishings are not much chop either. The stairs worried me and I am glad that there were no accidents.(open faced stairs on a steep angle) The pool was okay but there was a problem with the spa (something to do with bacteria!!). The games room is okay if you have pleanty of money and no imagination. We found there to be no food service on site even the complimentary breakfast did not appear so perhaps should have been imaginary breakfast!
In short find somewhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crows Nest, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The staff were friendly enough and it was only $99 for the three of us (2 adults 1 child). That included breakfast which was just cereal and toast, juice and tea/coffee. $5 extra for childs brekky... don't bother! Our room itself was clean and tidy but the toilet had a smell of stale urine as if it is in the wall/tile grout and I imagine they are just too old. I didn't expect much but to be honest I would pay extra to stay elsewhere, or just stay in an ensuite cabin in a caravan park next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is not suitable accomodation if you take your elderly Mother as the bedrooms are upstairs( old and open) and the toilet /bathroom is downstairs. There is no airconditioning and no flywire screens on the bedroom windows. It was hot when we stayed so we left the bedroom windows open. As the Motel is close to a main road it sounded like the cars where coming in one window and going out the other all night. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the occupants nextdoor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2009

The reception of the hotel from the time of booking over the phone was very warm and welcoming. Our family did not expect much considering it has a rating of 3. We arrived on Christmas Day and were exhausted having slept only 2 1/2 hours the night before. Having noticed our condition, the hotel manager directed us to our room to have a much needed sleep and offered to sort our the paper work later that day. Although our room could do with some upgrading, it was sufficient for what we required over our two days stay. We received a type of service that is unmatched by any standard. Our children felt at home and enjoyed the simple yet secured environment. We did not mind that the motel not being in the town centre. We knew the shops would be closed on Christmas Day and we had a car to go around town anyway. The big plus was that there was a grocery store 200 metres away that was open on Christmas Day where we were able to get all the supplies that we needed.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, clean, quiet, self-contained
  • Disliked — TV reception
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himpapawid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We nearly left after being given keys to an uncleaned family room, but the staff were so apologetic we stayed. The other apartment was 3 star only, clean but tired and could use an all over decor refresh. But the beds were comfortable and the lounge sittable. The garden beds needed a bit of a spruce up.
The restaurant whislt the service and atmosphere was good, the food was really only equal to take away.
A bit of out of the way for those wanting to stay close to Launceston in town, we were in the suburbs it seemed. But it was fine for a few nights stay with a family.
Clean and basically comfortable with lovely staff.
The manager was very helpful in trying to find us last minute accomodation for us New Years in Hobart when our booked accomodation was cancelled the last minute !

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azlell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
726 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Property: Village Family Motor Inn
Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing