We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Launceston
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
256
142
79
22
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
256
142
79
22
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room heated pool bbq area continental breakfast great place to stay queen bed electric blankets two nights couple of nights convenient location city centre motel spa accommodation facilities playground tasmania
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for 3 nights for a 50th birthday surprise for my husband. I booked a 2 bedroom apartment as we had 2 teenage children with us. From the moment you walked in the old carpet smell and 'mouldy' old smell from the bathroom hit you. The premises are very outdated and could do with some serious refurbishment.
The small lounge was not very family friendly, nor comfortable and the small table and chairs were difficult for a family of 4 to sit around.
The stairs going up to the 2 bedrooms didn't feel all that safe and you could hear your neighbours walking up and down their stairs.
The bedrooms had creaky old floor boards that made quite a noise. The bed was only a double and was not too bad, although I've slept in much better, however the pillows were just horrible - not one of the 4 of us found any pillow to be comfortable and we resorted to sleeping with a folded towel under one of the very soft and cheap pillows.
Oh and we found out in the morning (after our first night there) that our door didn't actually lock, you could just push it open from the outside! Had I have known that before I went to bed, I wouldn't have slept. After speaking to reception, the owner did come and adjust the lock however I'm sure if my hubby had pushed on it with minimal force it would still have opened.
We won't be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Same cost as the Penny Royal but hasn't had any work done to it since it was built in the 70's, and it smelt like it too.
Open the door to the entrance flooded by the fridge and the odours from the bathroom. Two square metres with three different colour/age/style tiles, pastel blue toilet seat from somewhere else, pipes that scream when you turn on the taps, stairs that feel like they're going to give way under you, raw tile edges in the shower stall. The list goes on and we were only in the room 10 minutes.
They refused to refund even though we wouldn't stay in that dank and musty smelling room.

Avoid like the plague it probably contains.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 619robn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We stayed at village family motor inn for 3 nights in Jan 2020.
Premises and rooms are quite outdated but we didn't spent much time in anyway, just somewhere to lay our heads at the end of the night. They offer continental breakfast (toast, cereal and yoghurt with canned fruit) every morning and they also have a restaurant on site where you can get 10% off.
Our room was large with a single and queen bed and our towels were changed everyday.
Room did have a distinct old carpet smell as well as the toilet smelled everyday at the end of the day.
Service at the hotel was friendly.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MariJennyJohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

We booked for couple of nights with my friends and it was simply awesome. The atmosphere is soo quite and relaxing. Hospitality was great. We had a great fun in pool and spa. All over it’s a great place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank j0nnalagaddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019

We recently had a one night stay, and don't think we could have stayed longer. Advertised as being family friendly, but we didn't feel it was a safe place for children to stay. we have a 4 year old, 2 year old and newborn.

The upstairs bedroom bay windows had no safety measures and could have easily allowed a small child to fall out of them. The stairs were also very unsafe. There was nowhere comfortable to sit and relax. The double bed was the most uncomfortable we had ever slept in, about as supportive as a trampoline.

In general the place was clean enough, however the old mouldy bathroom could use some attention, and there was a distinct smell of stale urine. There was also only enough hot water for 2 adults and 1 child to have quick showers, before the third adult and child were left to cold showers! If you're going to have capacity to sleep 5 people, there should be enough hot water for 5 people.

We were excited for a swim in the pool and the spa. The pool room had barely any room to walk around it, and the one slippery metal ladder was awful and dangerous. We didn't use the spa because it didn't look very appealing at all. The playground was very old and the slide looked like a death trap.

We understand that we booked 'budget' accommodation, but we still paid $200 to be very uncomfortable for the night. We have stayed in many motels and always been happy with the basic but comfortable rooms Some very simple changes could be made to make stays in the future 100x more comfortable. At this stage we won't be booking again

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank S2430YRhannahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews