We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here with the family overnight, and it was just what we expected for the price. It was basic and dated, but the kids loved the pool and facilities. The staff were fantastic, the room was clean, with good TV and heating, but the bed was not very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant and was disappointed, the service was friendly and helpful, but the menu was limited and not really good value for money. The included breakfast was handy. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have the advertised view. Ask if thats important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    123
    60
    16
    19
See reviews for
140
129
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Village Family Motor Inn with my 3 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Yes, it is very dated but clean and comfortable with a very reasonable price.
The food was delicious home cooked fare and everyone was so friendly and helpful.
We will definitely be back to stay again.
I have read the reviews on here and my opinion is that you get what you pay for and I was thoroughly satisfied with what I paid for.
If you want 5 star modern accommodation then you have to pay for it.
Research before you book! Most motels have photos on-line!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was on a holiday with my family and stayed at village motor inn for 6 days and 5 nights
it was a great experience, the staff were very friendly, service was great and we loved everything.

Large rooms, clean, tidy, nice and warm. Housekeeping was great, wi fi was a plus point

Glen and Pam, you and your team were great. A Big thank you goes to you,
and a special thanks to Glen comes from my little daughter Ruth

all in all it was a great time and keep up your good work

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederickruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful accommodation, stayed 3 nights, hosts couldn't do enough for us. Thankyou Chris, Pam, Glen and Craig for the yummy food and suggestions about popular local points of interests. Central location with great views of the Launceston Harbour. We loved Launceston and we'll be back. Keep our room free!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here for four nights whilst working in Launceston. It was within fifteen minutes drive to the airport and only minutes away from work in town.The staff on the front desk were very helpful and sorted out some problems with my rental car.The room was clean and warm and wi-fi was a plus. The big surprise for me was the quality of the restaurant food. It was excellent, traditional home cooked meals.All in all good value for money and one to return to the next time i am in Launceston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a quick break from the mainland during our recent student study vacation period. What a treat the Village Family Motor Inn was! The owners were incredibly helpful and directed us to all sites and happenings worth checking out in the area. We can't wait to come back with our friends later in the year. Charlie was a delightful highlight! What an adorable feature to have to greet the guests. The food in the restaurant was beautiful as well, the roman lamb was amazing. Rooms were clean and fresh and what beautiful views and surroundings. Hard to go past a stay at the VFMI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaAlistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This motel was extremely basic. We booked because it had an indoor pool. The pool was the only thing it had going for it. The rooms have not been refurbed since the 70s. Broken phone, bumpy bed, old towels, cold rooms and 70s nightmare decor. To top it all off,our daughter is scared of dogs and the owners dog roamed freely through the grounds so our girl wouldn't go outside to the playground. Won't be booking there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaG913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Property: Village Family Motor Inn
Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing