We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN AND FRIENDLY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff at this motel were very friendly, from reception to bar and restaurant staff. The rooms were a little dated, but clean. Value for the money. Restaurant is very handy, and quite good. Location is excellent, I think it would be great for families, with good facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassiegrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 452 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved this motel, and ended up staying three separate times during our visit to Tasmania.
We came for the pool and playground, which the kids loved, and the good prices. We came back for the friendly hosts, the comfortable, clean rooms and the convenient & scenic location. An adequate breakfast was included but we still enjoyed the extra space of the self-contained apartments on our return visits. We cooked in the room most nights (also a BBQ available but it was a bit windy) then enjoyed the child-friendly restaurant on our final night. Laundry was helpful and more reasonably priced than other motels we visited. Will certainly recommend this one to friends, especially those with kids or looking for good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backyardexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

At a relative cost per room, Location is one of the highest single reasons for starters, the hotel has now come from humble to "Onward and upward"

New Managers with a uniform approach to working with interested corporate contracts looking for a quality package that is certain to engage with the needs of the staff and a solid seat within the required budgets of most companies.

From what i have seen of this hotel, over time. To date, it now has an air of new service attention, further more a vision towards upgrading rooms in a timely manor.

Armed with a large facility, fully enclosed off street parking and slopping downward park part of the property. Freeing me to wonder the next days objectives in piece whilst taking in the single most self promoting vista Launceston has to offer.

Bar/Meals

New Menu, New service New fresh clean

Short to the Point of it all.

Great Location ! Great to watch the path and progress of this Hotel . Great Value ! Thankyou for a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great views over Launceston especially at night. My daughter loved the heated indoor pool & I enjoyed the spa. Restaurant was good. Room was quite large but with stairs. Rooms are a little dated but clean & well maintained. Very affordable for the features & location, that's why I give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Choose one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel mid April 2013 the room was comfortable, clean and tidy,even though the decor is a few years old.
Dined in the restaurant and found the meals to be very good and not at the inflated prices of some establishments,service was good and the new owners from the mainland were very friendly and helpful.
Pricing for a largish room was only $110 per night including breakfast.
Close to the city and easily accessible,the only complaint was some traffic noise from heavy vehicles on the highway across the valley as our room had a balcony and large sliding glass door facing in that direction,thankfully that mostly died off later in the night.
Would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank kingcheeseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family stayed at this property recently.It was easy to find and close to amenities. We found the staff very hospitable and warm. The room was very basic and outdated but comfortable and clean, and not overpriced. Would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank kylie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The new owners had only just taken over when we stayed in March 2013, but were very hospitable and helpful even though they were still organising everything. Our room was clean and nice enough, a basic motel style room with a queen bed and single bed. The bed was comfortable. The verandah provided a nice view over Launceston. Liked the big bathroom vanity area, that was great. Also loved the huge shower, but the towels felt old. Unfortunately didn't have time to use the pool or spa, but they looked great and very inviting. Definitely a good value spot for a nights stay while exploring Launceston & surrounds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.9 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
800 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
379 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $83 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing