We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of space for a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plenty of space for a good value”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A group of 5 of us spent 3 days at the Village Family Motor Inn in Launceston over the Australia Day weekend. Convenient location, near the airport, CBD, and Cataract Gorge, though not within easy walking distance.

We had a 2 bedroom suite. Ground level had a kitchen, vanity area, bathroom with a large shower, and lounge/dining area. There was a small shared balcony. Second floor had 2 bedrooms, one had a queen bed, and other had a bunk bed and a twin. Room was clean and furniture was in good condition. Appliances and fixtures were dated. Free wifi was appreciated.
Owner and son were friendly and helpful. They also appear to run the restaurant.

Reservations are required if you want to eat there for dinner, which we did one night. Food was decent, but not overly impressive and a bit overpriced. Service was fast.

Overall the stay met our needs for comfortable space for an affordable rate. Owner meant well and wanted us to enjoy our stay. Would recommend it if staying in Launceston and have access to a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    122
    59
    16
    19
See reviews for
139
129
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Myself and my 6yr old son stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. I spent a fair amount of time just taking photos of the great views! its so beautiful up on the hill... All the staff were lovely and welcoming! and the food at the restaurant was yummy home style, my son loved it... My son also loved the Pool and play area outside, he also enjoyed the breakfast and asked if we could do it like that back home... Room was spacious and clean and kitchen was handy and had lots of storage space for long stays.
Very Happy Customer

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex hills Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Myself, husband and mother stayed here for one night... it was a comfortable nights stay.
The rooms were a little tired looking and could do with a make over. But still, we had a good stay.
The restaurant was wonderful, we dined here and we all loved our meals... the steak and chicken snitzel was very yummy... so all in all a nice place to stay.. the breakfast in the morning was ample and filling...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. There was plenty of space in the room and lots of storage areas. I loved the large shower. Everything I needed was provided. Buildings are attractive and well maintained. Food and service was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great Place to stay and a convenient location The food at the resutant is fantasic and the service is great. Very Clean and tidy and the nicest hotel bar i have ever been in. Cofy chairs and a great atsomphere. It is in slight need of a renovation but overall it is a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDs_Battery_Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is the second year that my family and I have stayed at the Village, and we have re-booked for next year. We do AGFEST and it is close and convenient for us to Agfest and Launceston.
The food is fantastic and the rooms are warm and very confortable. We have no hesitation recommending the village...and already have as our fellow Agfest friends also have stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We (My husband myself and our daughter) just spent 8 nights with the Village Motel inn and found it to be a great place for a family to stay and to position themselves while being able to visit the rest of the state fairly easily!!! The staff are always friendly and there to help...(and give you discount vouchers where possible if they know you are going to certain places.)...The restaurant is child friendly and value for money. Heated pool and spa just another advantage as well as a children's playroom equipped with pinball machines and pool table. All of the staff were so happy to help with any request!!! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Just ask staff when making your booking! They will fit a room to your request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shtaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
2.0 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Property: Village Family Motor Inn
Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing