We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay. Great Value, Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Golden Beach, Australia
1 review
“Excellent place to stay. Great Value, Great location.”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner & I stayed for 3 days 15-18
April 2012 at Village Family Motor Inn
Launceston. We found the location,
facilities, service, great and staff friendly
and very helpful. On site Restaurant, free Continental Breakfast,
Pool and Spa are an added bonus.
We would have no hesitation to
recommend the Village Family Motor
Inn to our friends and would certainly
stay there again when next we visit
Launceston. Our rating on
Value for money and service 10/10
Eric & Norell
Golden Beach QLD 4551

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacon444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    123
    60
    16
    19
See reviews for
140
129
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great stay, and comfy large rooms for family. Disappointed with main bed as it was on an angle due to the setup of the room, was left with a bit of sore back. Room for the kids was great. Could do with a bit of updating and would have been good if the Tavern was open - chefs were away. Overall would recommend it to any family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We thought this motel was very good value for money ideal for families,great pool and restaurant .the rooms were very comfortable and spacious.The views of the Tamar River were Amazing and very central to the city and it's attractions .We would be very happy to recommend this motel to our family and friends

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisefaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for our last night in Tas and i was so disappointed. Looking at the other reviews i cant belive that other ppl are saying this was actually ok and that someone even spent their honeymoon here! I was eeked out by even putting my head on the pillow and i have stayed in a lot of places around the world. This is probably the most outdated place i have been, looks like it would have potential if they put the effort in, is in serious need of a remodel.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of launceston from our room. This is the most positive thing i can say about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GED_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Large comfortable room in good order. Somewhat dated.
Bathroom dated with noisy expelair.
Microwave, toaster and kettle.
Comfortable bed; large wardrobe; table with two chairs; sofa.
Basic continental breakfast. No fruit.
I spent a comfortable three nights in Launceston and would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Location is south of the city center and quite lovely, overlooking the city, with lots of landscaping and natural bush. In fact, there were many wallabies nibbling around the grounds after sunset. Really enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant, which is an attraction in itself and requires reservations. You should try it even if you are not staying here. Chatted with the manager and his wife (who does the cooking), and they were delightful, although apparently overworked. We were assigned room 45, which doesn't sound anything like some of the others reviewed here. Certainly no view from the room. Free parking in front of room. Interior was seriously underwhelming. Basic motel with need of an update. Room was large with king and twin beds. Did have a frig and coffee maker. Bathroom bizarre. Tub had been taken out and shower put in, but tub frame left in place. Didn't use the pool or sauna, but did use the laundry room, which was handy. $3 to wash, $2 to dry per load. Free parking. Looks to be great for families because kids under 12 stay free, and there are mostly housekeeping units. Plus there is a separate kids' game room and playground. About 15 minutes from Cataract Gorge, which is definitely worth a visit. We stopped on our way to Cradle Mountain. Be careful because rates take a serious jump during the week. We booked on Hotels.com and rate did not include breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 45 and 46 seem to be squished between other buildings. Other rooms possibly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

we stayed here on our 1st night in Tassie. Great accommodation with awesome views of launceston, the restaurant was well priced for dinner and the breakfast that came included with the room was well up to standard, the room itself was good, all u can ask for really for that price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,436 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Property: Village Family Motor Inn
Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing