We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location ,awesome view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Family Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
aberglasslyn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location ,awesome view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

David was a very friendly & hospitable guy ,who gave us great service!!
We booked villas for a large group of 8 families & we were all satisfied.
The Family villa was spacious with all faciliites that our family required. However the rooms appeared a little tired & could do with a freshen up :)
The location was great as we needed to get to the Silverdome which was right around the corner. At night the view over Launceston was pretty with all the lights.
Thanks David & ps Aimee is still waiting for her icecream reward!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    120
    57
    15
    18
See reviews for
136
128
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

A great family place to stay. Dave and Rick are great hosts and I can recommend a yarn over the bar with Dave - especially if you love your Soccer.
Extra special views down the Launceston Valley and Rooms are excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Use Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim180957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

What can one say but how much more miss leading information can I find on this place.
So let me try and educate others so they don't fall into the same trap as I did. I stayed in the Self-contained Unit and the information I will provide will relate directly back to their web site and what they claim.
1. owners are rude and unhelpful and every time I had to go to reception with a question/concern I was made to feel like an ungrateful guest and the only time I saw anyone smile was when we checked out. ( happy to have our money ) real faulty towers stuff here.
2. The room was damp and unventilated with mould growing on the curtains (so much for climate control systems as advertised ). They advertise an ensuite, but in reality no such thing unless you call the bathroom upstairs near the kitchen an ensuite. Banister rails on the stair well very unsafe for younger children ( if the width still passes OH&S regulations I would be surprised ) And carpet that looks like it has not had a clean in years.
3. They advertise a indoor heated pool in reality the ambient air temp was warmer than the water and maybe they should advertise it as a polar pool. And stay away from the spa we used it on the last night and I drove all the way back to Hobart with 3 kids with gastro.
4. The guest laundry was a joke they must have over 30 rooms available but only 2 washing machines and 2 dryers for usage.
5. The wifi usage would keep dropping out and constantly needed to be re-booted and to maintain the connection was almost impossible.
In short if this is all you can get you have been warned as in my personal point of view I would rather stay home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singledad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed there for 4 days and found it to be a great value for money. The owners were warm, friendly and approachable and always willing to help. We had dinner there and the steak was amazing (make sure you get the prawns with it as well!). The rooms were relatively clean and big and the beds were comfortable and warm and there was no noise. We found the location to be convenient as it was easy for us to navigate to the main highway to get to attractions such as Cradle Mountain, Wineglass Bay and Launceston Airport.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and definitely recommend the place to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briancon, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Thanks to all the family, I had a wonderful time staying in this hotel!
I really enjoyed meeting the owners and chat about our travels in different countries.
The food was awesome and the bed really comfortable.
I didn't have time to try the swimming pool and the spa but would love to have a swim next time if I ever come back in Tassie!
Thank you again for your warm welcome and I hope to see you again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyM099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

This place is run by a family, father and son see to reception and mother is the cook. Restaurant food is excellent and well priced. The view is wonderful over Launceston. Free internet is a bonus. $105 per night was value for money. Good size room with Queen bed and most comfortable. Very clean. Windows can be left open with fly screens in so plenty of fresh air. Parking right outside the room. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. There are family suites and plenty for the kids to do. Great playground and very safe. Games room for the older kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassieacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We booked this hotel through wot-if (as we often do), as it was the only place available for the night we wanted. We discovered later that this was because the V8s were in town the next day...
The rooms are a little dated. But the room we had was spacious (Queen bed, single bed, table, large bathroom) and had a deck. Best of all, for a longer holiday, it came with a microwave! So we could actually prepare some food in-room and not eat out for once! Another bonus was the free in room wi-fi, this is the only place we stayed in Australia that had it.
The pool and spa were not quite warm enough, but were pleasant, and it was a treat to sit in the spa and watch the wallabies roaming the playground in the evening.
Right on a main road and above the motorway, we were expecting more noise than we got, and we slept quite well. Its a fair way out of town, but still only 10 minutes drive to the city.
The free breakfast was another plus. The food was basic, but enough to get you started.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
2.0 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Property: Village Family Motor Inn
Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing