We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park with amazing Monkey enclosure!”
Review of City Park

City Park
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with amazing Monkey enclosure!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent about an hour here but could've stayed longer just to look at the Monkeys! Travelling with a 2.5 & 6 year old - they were mesmerised by the Monkeys - as were the adults!! Loved this place & it's free. Will definitely return if in Launceston again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    487
    68
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful, old fashioned formal city park”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Launceston is full of surprises, like its charming squares and its many lovely parks and gardens. City Park is - as the name aptly suggests - right in the middle of the city (well, just next to the main shopping area). It has a formal layout and is a wonderful place for a restful stroll. It compares well to the beautiful grand gardens of much larger cities like Melbourne and Adelaide.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelmscott
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PLAY PARK”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We called into this park as we had been on the road for a while.The children had great fun in the playground .They also had a childs toilet in the shape of a mushroom which all our children then used.'For the older members of our group their was a radio museum plus a live broadcasting studio. The monkeys were great.There was also a tea room but we did not have time to visit.Something for all age groups here.Park is not large but has lots of things to see and do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KelmscottTapdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great train playground”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very nice and clean park with plenty of shade. Could do with some tables and chairs. Our son enjoyed the train playground very much. Monkeys were also a hit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ej1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely little park”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you are in the city shopping or admiring the beautiful old buildings you should really stop in here and spend 30 minutes or so wandering around. In autumn the foliage is lovely. The monkeys are cute and a bit of a novelty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank qofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Park also viewed

 

Been to City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing