We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B
Ranked #19 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The service provided was of a high quality and is highly recommended; we had lots of questions about getting around Launceston and if the answer to any question was not known immediately, a quick search of the internet by Erin or other staff produced the results for us often with instructions/directions.

We stayed in a junior suite tastefully decorated with an oriental theme. Being a suite, there was plenty of room to chill out.

The location was central and we were able to walk down town to the many restaurants available in the general area. Would recommend the italian restaurant at the bottom of George Street. The availability of off street car parking was a bonus. What did we like least about the premises? Nothing except perhaps we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the facilities and the charm of Launceston.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
86
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stayed in Fiona's for two nights as part of a touring holiday. Arranging the booking was great - rapid replies to emails. On arrival the key was waiting in the rack. The room was more like an apartment - with a separate area for work/reading/watching the TV, and the separate entrances off the courtyard enhanced the feeling that you were getting a flat not just a room. The room was very well appointed, with everything that one could have needed.

There was ample off-street parking - and generally the offstreet location made it feel more secure overall. The location was very close to the centre of town and a range of good restaurants - I was glad that I had picked this accommodation rather than those further out of town, particularly those on the western side of the river.

Like other reviewers the cooked element of the breakfast was a bit disappointing - but at least unlike other B&Bs they took the trouble to offer a cooked course as part of the standard rate, and the girl cooking it was friendly and helpful. In any case the continental offering was very generous and I found this was sufficient on the second morning.

Overall very good value and an excellent location in the centre of Launceston.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Fiona's is a great B&B very centrally located near the city centre, and next door to the brilliant restaurant, Pickled Evenings. Rooms are large, beds very comfortable, and bathrooms fabulous - very clean, well appointed and spacious. The room rate at $120 was good value. The only drawback was a pretty ordinary breakfast - fried eggs & bacon the only hot option - the eggs were overcooked (and in a ring), and bacon not crisp. The continental selection was sparse, and the only bakery item offered was sliced bread (for toasting) from the supermarket. I'd be very happy to stay there again, but next time would breakfast out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I can see the argument from some of the other posters but would tend to say this is a good B&B. We stayed for one night over Easter 2010. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bathrooms were great. We had forgotten toothbrushes, so were pleased to see them supplied. Admittedly, there was nothing in the fridge, but this didn't bother us. There is good parking, and it's close to the centre of Launceston. Breakfast was ok - I think a B&B is expected to have a communal breakfast, but the juice wasn't fresh, and the bread was from a supermarket, and it was Hobson's Choice for how the eggs came, however it still tasted good. However, for $120 for the night (from Wotif) I don't think it can be faulted. If you want somewhere with all the little extras this probably isn't for you, but for a comfortable, clean and good value B&B, Fionas is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We had an awful time during our stay at Fiona's. The room was poor due to a lack of effort and hygiene, no fresh fruit, refridgerated water or milk. The breakfast was in a communal room with no privacy, only a choice of bacon and eggs which didn't impress my vegan wife. The "fresh bakery bread" was a loaf of homebrand packet bread. Overall we weren't impressed with all the cut corners Fiona decided to take.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed in Suite 1 (King Suite) for 2 nights in late June. I was very impressed with the quality of the room and think it was quite good value for money ($160 per night).

Location on the edge of the CBD was excellent. Nearby pub (O'Keefes) and restaurants (Pickled elephant) were good. Parking is excellent and all in all I would stay there again.

the only "slight" negative is the breakfast. It is unadventurous, pedestrian and bland. The breakfast setting is also lacking in style and class. Eggs are fried (in rings) and that is the only way they come.

No plates in the room if you want to indulge in take away in your room.

I would gladly stay there again but it does have its limitations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Fiona's impressed us with its huge rooms in a quiet spot off the street. Parking provided and a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B

Property: Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B
Address: 141a George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Bed and Breakfast accommodation with panoramic views, garden setting and off-street parking. Stay in beautiful and spacious rooms with private ensuite, TV, fridge and tea / coffee facilities. Enjoy a delicious full cooked or continental breakfast. Fiona's B&B Launceston is only 1 1/2 blocks to city centre and is close to restaurants, cafes, bars, theatres, shopping and tourist attractions on offer in the historic city of Launceston including the magnificent Cataract Gorge and Boags Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiona`s b&b - Launceston b&b
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Hotel Launceston
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Bed And Breakfast
Fiona's Bed And Breakfast - Launceston B&B Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing