We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B
Ranked #16 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Fiona's on Xmas eve, we arrived late and the key was left out for us, the room was beautiful, very clean, breakkie was lovely and plentiful on Xmas day. Hassle free stay - definitely recommend. Great location, walking distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    72
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
86
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Maybe the units reviewed by the other contributors were different from the one I got... We booked the 2 bedroom Townhouse. The only positives I can say about this accomodation are:

1. spacious. Large ground floor with living room and kitchen, and 2 bedrooms (with queen bed in each room) and toilet.
2. comfortable beds.
3. convenient location.

That's where it ends. The townhouse was extremely tired. When we entered, we found a black slipper underneath the very tired couches (that, as another contributor noted, sank so low, it almost feels you are sinking to the ground). We stayed there for 4 nights, and throughout those days, other than changing the towels and making the beds, the sink was not cleaned, and the carpets / floors not vacuumed or swept at all. It is quite appalling to find the same drowned flies in the sink area, or the twigs and leaves our shoes had brought into the living room, untouched even though the bed was made and towels changed. There was a creepy oriental cupboard with items kept in paper bags and locked up, in the living room. Kinda creeped us out. There is no variety to breakfast - it is always bacon, eggs, slices of bread, tomato. It was okay for one or two days, but by the 4th day, we gave up on breakfast completely. Whilst there was an air-conditioning/heater unit downstairs in the living room, there were only floor standing fans upstairs. Fortunately, when we visited, it was a very cool / even cold summer, but I cannot imagine that on hotter days, one would have to rely on fans. To boot, the fans were not really working properly - one could not rotate. The curtain tracks were falling off. Cannot imagine that they do not bother to repair them. The plates in the kitchen were dirty as well.

Whilst in the booking form it was stated that there would be free wifi provided in each of the units, this was not the case. Wifi was only available in the breakfast area/recep which closes after 5pm. So if you need wifi, you'd have to be at that area, and after 5pm, you'd have to sit at the steps outside that area to get it!

In summary, if all you need was space (I found it very difficult to find a B&B that could accommodate 4 of us - two adults with 2 young children - in one unit), but don't expect very much in terms of standards or cleanliness, this may suffice, but not otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed st Fionas for 2 days. It is in the middle of Launy. Situated on s hill and surrounded by shops and houses, you wouldn't even know it was there. At first you thing if a swiss chalet, then you enter the room and the red carpet and the oriental dresser gives an Asian feel. The staff are very friendly, the breakfast is cooked fresh for you every morning.i loved the sound if the birds in the morning. Close to everything in Launceston, minutes away from restaurants,bars and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I could not fault Fiona's B and B. The staff were friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the great breakfast was cooked right in front of us. There was plenty of off street parking and it is so close to the centre of town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 children. Units are cosy, staff helpful, its very quiet and the bed was the cosiest and warmest i've ever slept in. Breakfast was fantastic, all cooked fresh on the spot for you. Only drawback is lack of heating in the units with just one small heater for the downstairs, but this is a minor gripe. Would highly recommend this B&B to travellers. Easy parking, close to everything and very cosy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Fiona's, due largely to Natalie's exceptional service,( whether it be at check-in or breakfast) and knowledge/ recommendations of the area, nothing was a trouble for Natalie. The location is great being central but also quiet except for church bells nearby. The only marks against Fiona's is that the townhouse we were in was abit tired for two reasons- 1-The couch sank soo low when you sat down in it, 2- alot of the curtains tracks were half broken/ fallen out, but Natalie's service made up for that. otherwise everything else was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDTBdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had been warned about not getting a ground floor unit - the wooden floors from above can be noisy. And the nearby guests having a drawn out "domestic" was a bit unsettling - why would you have a full on shouting match in a B&B???
Great location and friendly staff. A movement activated light over the lane leading from George Street would be a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B

Property: Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B
Address: 141a George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Bed and Breakfast accommodation with panoramic views, garden setting and off-street parking. Stay in beautiful and spacious rooms with private ensuite, TV, fridge and tea / coffee facilities. Enjoy a delicious full cooked or continental breakfast. Fiona's B&B Launceston is only 1 1/2 blocks to city centre and is close to restaurants, cafes, bars, theatres, shopping and tourist attractions on offer in the historic city of Launceston including the magnificent Cataract Gorge and Boags Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiona`s b&b - Launceston b&b
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Bed And Breakfast
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Hotel Launceston
Fiona's Bed And Breakfast - Launceston B&B Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing