We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ... good breakfast ... warm welcome”
Review of Hideaway on George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hideaway on George
Ranked #16 of 32 Launceston B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We thought this place was delightful, the staff were welcoming and we had a generous and complete cooked breakfast in the morning. Rooms were spacious, clean, well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Central and quiet. It is true that the breakfast area can be hectic at peak hour, and that you might have to share a table, but B&B's are like that and that's how you meet interesting people. Fully met our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in Launceston for a one night getaway, and having previously stayed at Fiona's years ago thought we would try it again. We were not disapointed. Stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious, clean and the king size bed very comfortable. Very quiet in this area too. The hosts were helpful and friendly. Had dinner at nearby Pickled Evenings (Indian) which was awesome.
All in all a really nice experience and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Catwoman015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed two nights and would have rebooked for a future stay but they were full. Fionas is an upmarket, very well run B and B, rooms are beautifully furnished and the huge black marble shower was a bonus ( we stayed in a king suite for two). Te bed was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The location off the road makes it very quiet but within walking distance of the city and good places to eat, parking was outside the units, shaded by trees. Breakfast was good, fruit, cereals, toast, eggs bacon tomato baked beans cooked for you, not sitting in a Bain Marie as in many hotels. Overall great stay, I will go back anytime I am in launceston.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janex52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The service provided was of a high quality and is highly recommended; we had lots of questions about getting around Launceston and if the answer to any question was not known immediately, a quick search of the internet by Erin or other staff produced the results for us often with instructions/directions.

We stayed in a junior suite tastefully decorated with an oriental theme. Being a suite, there was plenty of room to chill out.

The location was central and we were able to walk down town to the many restaurants available in the general area. Would recommend the italian restaurant at the bottom of George Street. The availability of off street car parking was a bonus. What did we like least about the premises? Nothing except perhaps we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the facilities and the charm of Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stayed in Fiona's for two nights as part of a touring holiday. Arranging the booking was great - rapid replies to emails. On arrival the key was waiting in the rack. The room was more like an apartment - with a separate area for work/reading/watching the TV, and the separate entrances off the courtyard enhanced the feeling that you were getting a flat not just a room. The room was very well appointed, with everything that one could have needed.

There was ample off-street parking - and generally the offstreet location made it feel more secure overall. The location was very close to the centre of town and a range of good restaurants - I was glad that I had picked this accommodation rather than those further out of town, particularly those on the western side of the river.

Like other reviewers the cooked element of the breakfast was a bit disappointing - but at least unlike other B&Bs they took the trouble to offer a cooked course as part of the standard rate, and the girl cooking it was friendly and helpful. In any case the continental offering was very generous and I found this was sufficient on the second morning.

Overall very good value and an excellent location in the centre of Launceston.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
Thank AndrewWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Fiona's is a great B&B very centrally located near the city centre, and next door to the brilliant restaurant, Pickled Evenings. Rooms are large, beds very comfortable, and bathrooms fabulous - very clean, well appointed and spacious. The room rate at $120 was good value. The only drawback was a pretty ordinary breakfast - fried eggs & bacon the only hot option - the eggs were overcooked (and in a ring), and bacon not crisp. The continental selection was sparse, and the only bakery item offered was sliced bread (for toasting) from the supermarket. I'd be very happy to stay there again, but next time would breakfast out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I can see the argument from some of the other posters but would tend to say this is a good B&B. We stayed for one night over Easter 2010. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bathrooms were great. We had forgotten toothbrushes, so were pleased to see them supplied. Admittedly, there was nothing in the fridge, but this didn't bother us. There is good parking, and it's close to the centre of Launceston. Breakfast was ok - I think a B&B is expected to have a communal breakfast, but the juice wasn't fresh, and the bread was from a supermarket, and it was Hobson's Choice for how the eggs came, however it still tasted good. However, for $120 for the night (from Wotif) I don't think it can be faulted. If you want somewhere with all the little extras this probably isn't for you, but for a comfortable, clean and good value B&B, Fionas is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway on George

Address: 141a George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hideaway on George 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hideaway on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Hotel Launceston
Fiona`s Bed And Breakfast - Launceston Bed And Breakfast
Fiona`s b&b - Launceston b&b
Hideaway On George Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing