We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst Peppers there is and hopefully was” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Seaport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worst Peppers there is and hopefully was”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

1) nobody to help you with baggage. you'll need to use their luggage cart yourself to lug everything yourself to your room.
2) staff with mightier than thou attitudes
3) rooms all have a huge cement / sand processing industrial complex view. which is not at all appealing.
4) feels more like a beautified YHA or YMCA.
5) No towel rails to hang wet towels to dry.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dukem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Belinda Croudis, Hotel Manager, Peppers Seaport Hotel, 03 6345 3333 belinda.croudis@peppers.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    277
    73
    29
    19
See reviews for
118
411
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a riverview suite for three nights. We found the standard of the suite and the service provided by staff to be above average and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaspercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Belinda Croudis
Hotel Manager
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights - quite a large family group, the staff were quite nice but coould have been more family friendly. We had to pay for Parking which is a bit rude for this standard of hotel. We also had to pay for Wireless internet - would have expected this to be inlcuded.
What worked well was having two adjacent rooms with a common vestibule - one suit e room next to standard room with a common hall and door. The rooms were very comfortable. We would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilySeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify Broadband and Wireless Internet are complimentary in all guest rooms. Can you please contact directly if you have been charged for this and I will correct this immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Belinda Croudis
Hotel Manager
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and could not fault it in any way!
We stayed in a River View Suite, which was the size of an one bedroom apartment. All modern facilities including two televisions with a few pay tv channels , stereo, ipod dock, coffee machine etc etc... The room was like being at home!
Service from reception was exceptional, nothing was a problem.
Mud bar and restaurant was great for Cocktails, along with the Cube Cafe for breakfast.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threezacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Belinda Croudis,
Hotel Manager,
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Peppers is located on the Port & has the best seafood restaurant right next door. Shampoo/Conditioner/body wash/body lotion supplied & white bathrobes in cupboard. Only negative is room could have been a little warmer- -2 degrees the nights we were there! No extra blankets in the cupboards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonnieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

If travelling to Launceston I would suggest staying anywhere but here. The reception staff were discourteous and unhelpful. They demanded a personal credit card on arrival despite the account being paid by a business concern. When the manager was called to assess the situation she demanded the credit card or $100 cash. When questioned about us not offering either she informed my colleague and myself that we couldn't stay at the hotel. Pay up or leave. Another colleague arrived one hour later and was not asked for a credit card or cash. There were ten rooms booked for our company and when asked if we could have adjoining rooms or rooms close together we were refused. The manager stated it was not possible due to bookings and the lengths of stay. We were located on different floors at extreme ends of the corridor. The next day we found one of our colleagues in an adjoining room for the exact length of stay. He checked in one hour after us so it was entirely possible for the rooms to be changed. No breakfst vouchers were given to us, but were given to our colleagues. The bookings were all made simultaneously. The breakfast was delivered to the room on one morning. The plastic tray was filthy, food stained and grimy. There was a plate and a dish covered in foil. No implements, napkin, tray liner or condiments. My colleague's breakfast did not even come on a tray, filthy or otherwise.
The rooms are large but the decor is tired, the cheap vinyl ottomans are stained and the stitching is coming adrift. They have old, clunky TVs, not flat sceen. You need a cable for the internet. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. there were stains on the carpet and the furniture. The blinds are very heavy and difficult to pull up and secure. The toiletries are very nice though.
Do not bother with the Mud restaurant, the food is overpriced and not very inspiring. We were seated at the end of the restaurant near the doorway despite asking for a table - vacant - in the restaurant proper. It was freezing. We were told the table was reserved, it was unoccupied for the entire hour and a half of our stay. The temperature outside was below zero and the room was cold. They have a TV with a picture of a log fire on the wall. There is no heating and everytime the door was opened we were hit with an icy blast. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighclereAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay with us. The hotel does not operate any of the food and beverage establishments within the complex; both Mud Restaurant and Cube Café are independently owned and operated. However, I have personally communicated and addressed your concerns with the operators as we understand that at times their operations reflect on Peppers Seaport.
Kind regards,
Belinda Croudis
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Couldn't fault the service of this hotel; check-in was smooth, parking easy ($5) and the location was quite good. The room was spacious and bright but the river view a little disappointing. We didn't look over the marina as per the photos on the site, but across from the cement works and a public walkway. The river water looked pretty dank to say the least. We particularly asked for a balcony as my partner smokes and were lucky it had recently stopped raining because it was uncovered, which I didn't like. In saying this, everything in the room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The bathroom was very big with lots of room to put things, but the shower nozzle wasn't very friendly and there were no towel rails, just hooks.
There were some good restaurants close by and breakfast was cooked to order in the cafe downstairs, which was a bonus. {I'm really getting tired of soggy bacon in hotel buffet breakfasts.} Would probably stay again if in town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come and stay ask for a suite on the 1st or 2nd floor as these balconies are undercover. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
Belinda Croudis
Hotel Manager,
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Seaport Hotel

Property: Peppers Seaport Hotel
Address: 28 Seaport Bvd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Seaport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Seaport Hotel offers modern, waterfront accommodation. Situated at the heart of Launceston's Old Seaport Dock area, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes offering a good choice of fine food and more casual dining. Just a short walk from Launceston's town centre and 15 minutes drive from Launceston Airport the hotel is built in the shape of a ship on the site of an old dry dock. The hotel exudes a stylish, contemporary design with a distinct nautical feel, accentuated by the extensive use of natural timbers and muted ocean tones. Accommodation includes deluxe rooms and suites with views overlooking the Esk River or the historic town and the mountains beyond. Guest room facilities include air conditioning, hairdryer, STD/ISD phone systems, fax/modem telephone lines, broadband internet access, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, TV, mini-stereo, clock radio, complimentary bathroom amenities and iron and ironing board. If you are staying in a Suite there are additional facilities including DVD player, desk & chair, large refrigerator, bar stools, armchair, lounge with sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen with microwave & dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and all our suites feature a balcony. Of an evening tantalise your taste buds with an exquisite dining experience at Mud Bar and Restaurant serving an eclectic mix of cuisines from around the world. To accompany your meal indulge in superb Tasmanian wines while admiring captivating Tamar Valley views. Adventures further afield include the impressive Cataract Gorge, the famous James Boag brewery and if youre a wine lover, Launcestons Tamar Valley, home to one of Australia's major cool-climate wine growing regions. The hotel makes an ideal accommodation base for a weekend away, short break or romantic escape and is a great base for exploring the Tamar Valley either by car or by river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Peppers Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Seaport Launceston
Hotel Peppers Seaport
Peppers Seaport Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing