We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Seaport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
381 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed here for three nights over a weekend. The room was fine though the "city view" in fact consists of a main road and some car dealerships. The hotel is right on the waterfront however.

The reception isn't manned between 11 pm and 7 am although on arrival you are given clear instructions on what to if you have an early check-out or if there is an emergency. The staff were friendly and gave clear directions to the city centre (10 mins. walk) and the start of the cataract gorge (15-20 mins. walk round the harbour). There was a free internet terminal in reception which was useful.

I had breakfast in the cafe which although not owned by the hotel, does allow you to charge meals to your room.The food was excellent. It took a little while to be served though only in comparison to the bigger cities.

All round a very good base for a visit to this enjoyable small city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    277
    73
    29
    19
See reviews for
118
411
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

On our journey around this wonderful island we chose this as our base for the north of Tasmania.

The location is somewhat out of town but as compensation it is located on the Tamar River. Unfortunately the river was more mud than water.

Nonetheless our River Suite was a quite impressive site. Very spacious and with modern clean lines and cool furniture. The kitchen offerings were sufficient for those who would opt to stay in and cook meals and the bathroom, as was all the suite, fairly clean.

We enjoyed a great balcony off the lounge area and we elected to purchase some supplies from a local providore and enjoy local cheeses, pate and a delicious pinot noir for our dinner.

Perhaps what let Peppers down was the staff. As seems to be a common theme throughout large chains the staff were perfectly nice but failed to go that extra degree.Nothing untoward occured but it was generally a feeling of "I am only here to earn money" if you understand my drift.

Overall we did enjoy our days here and would recommend it as a base for visiting northern Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veritas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at Peppers Seaport Hotel Launceston for one night during our recent trip to Tasmania. If this is your first time coming to Launceston, location wise it was so easy to find. From the airport you get on the main road and then it is a straight 15 drive and there it is on the left hand side. We found this very handy as we arrived at 7.00pm and this being our first time to Launceston.
Checki n the girl at reception was very friendly, previous post in regards to paying for carparking, have to agree this is Launceston I do think this should be complimentary. Our room we had the standard room, no balcony which over looked a dealership on the main road, this was fine as it was only one night. The room itself was very impressive nice comfy lounge,and bed, and nice bathroom. So it ticked all the boxes.
We went down and had dinner at Mud, which is an unusual setup, it is also part of the pub, we unfortunately got seated in the pub section, and got stuck next to a table of 20 people, all drinking up and swearing every two seconds. The menu itself wasnt that extensive, I asked if they had garlic bread and they said no she asked the chef if he could make some up, came back and said no he could but instead gave us this clump of raw garlic butter - what on earth??? The meals took forever - however I risotto was very nice. Tip there is a great seafood takeaway place in the complex where you can sit and have a meal there overlooking the water.
That night I did hear people coming out of the pub, so if you can try and get a room overlooking the water. We paid $150.00 a night for it, and I thought it was excellent value for money, infact we Stayed at the Henry Jones Art Hotel and if you asked me which is better of the down I think Peppers Seaport would win handsdown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razzamartaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I've stayed here about four times now for business and the service is always excellent and the rooms are always clean. The home-made soap in the bathroom is lovely too! The rooms have a couch, mini-bar, king-size beds, modern bathrooms, iron and a safe. Although small, the rooms are comfortable.

It's annoying that you have to pay for carparking (about $3 / day) - in a small city like Launceston where parking is pretty much free everywhere outside of the city centre (this hotel is about 1km outside of the city centre).

The restaurant downstairs (I think it's called Mud) has a lovely menu although some meat dishes take 45 minutes to cook - they are worth the wait though! Mud is located on the promenade on the river with a lovely view across to the nearby hills. On a warm summer night, the outdoor deck is a must for a cool beer or crisp white wine!

Although the waterfront location is peaceful, it's a 10 minute walk to the city centre where there are plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants. Although I have to stay here for work, I would probably choose to stay here for personal trips.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed for 2 nigths in a 1 bdrm riverview suite. The sofa bed was made up for our 3 year old free of charge and there was plenty of room for our family of 3 in the suite. The main bedroom has a door you can close which is good if you need to put your little ones to bed before you. We had planned to have room service for dinner but the menu looked a bit fancy/posh for what we felt like on the night so we didn't end up trying it. I did note there was was a $5 delivery fee on top of the listed menu item prices which were not cheap although it was food from the fine dining Mudd restaurant so I guess thats the reason for the prices.

Parking was $5/night in the spaces outside the hotel. It is part of a public (payable) car park so you get a ticket from the front desk so you don't get fined & pay the parking on check out.

Nice bedding and pillows & the suites have a golf putter & roll up piece of fake turf for putting practice which was something fun to have a play with in the room. Kitchen was large & roomy with a full size fridge which is handy for families. The front desk staff were friendly & very happy to help with maps & directions to all sorts of places and they went to a bit of trouble to find out where we could drive to & show my son some snow which was really appreciated as we didn't want a long drive & no snow LOL. The view was pretty with the boats on the water right outside but the high power orange light outside the room was a bit annoying as the curtains didn't 100% block it out. Other than that minor thing - great hotel would stay again. Also complementary cookies at the front desk were a bit hit with my son.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank to_dee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights, staff on reception were helpful but lacked knowledge of the area and places to go. The room on the second floor was great with a lovely view over the boats and the hills and very spacious although the bathroom could have been a lot cleaner if you look closely. The restaurant was very nice too, the food was great, we loved the lamb parpadelle. We had breakfast in the cafe, the coffee is too milky due to the cups being too big. Also the Hollandaise sauce on eggs comes out of a packet and you can taste it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Very nice hotel with modern clean rooms. Staff pleasant and helpful. Unlike other peppers locations that i have stayed in this is just a hotel and not a resort. There is no one at the reception overnight between 11pm and 7am.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Seaport Hotel

Property: Peppers Seaport Hotel
Address: 28 Seaport Bvd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Seaport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Seaport Hotel offers modern, waterfront accommodation. Situated at the heart of Launceston's Old Seaport Dock area, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes offering a good choice of fine food and more casual dining. Just a short walk from Launceston's town centre and 15 minutes drive from Launceston Airport the hotel is built in the shape of a ship on the site of an old dry dock. The hotel exudes a stylish, contemporary design with a distinct nautical feel, accentuated by the extensive use of natural timbers and muted ocean tones. Accommodation includes deluxe rooms and suites with views overlooking the Esk River or the historic town and the mountains beyond. Guest room facilities include air conditioning, hairdryer, STD/ISD phone systems, fax/modem telephone lines, broadband internet access, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, TV, mini-stereo, clock radio, complimentary bathroom amenities and iron and ironing board. If you are staying in a Suite there are additional facilities including DVD player, desk & chair, large refrigerator, bar stools, armchair, lounge with sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen with microwave & dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and all our suites feature a balcony. Of an evening tantalise your taste buds with an exquisite dining experience at Mud Bar and Restaurant serving an eclectic mix of cuisines from around the world. To accompany your meal indulge in superb Tasmanian wines while admiring captivating Tamar Valley views. Adventures further afield include the impressive Cataract Gorge, the famous James Boag brewery and if youre a wine lover, Launcestons Tamar Valley, home to one of Australia's major cool-climate wine growing regions. The hotel makes an ideal accommodation base for a weekend away, short break or romantic escape and is a great base for exploring the Tamar Valley either by car or by river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Seaport Launceston
Hotel Peppers Seaport
Peppers Seaport Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing