We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveler rating
643
391
106
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
391
106
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view mud restaurant cataract gorge one bedroom suite per day washer and dryer reception staff great spot city centre down stairs full kitchen car park great room visiting launceston lounge area king bed easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Spent two nights there in June 2016. Not cheap because the football was on but not unreasonable. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Couldn't find one thing to criticize except there was no complimentary newspaper outside the door in the morning but that is clutching at straws. Breakfast was modest but service and food quality first class. Great selection of whisky although beer selection (for a true beer drinker) lacked imagination and variety.
Ate in the restaurant and while on a strict diet was perfectly accommodated. 100%.

Room Tip: Offered all I like in a hotel - good service, good rooms and good food.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Luxury stay, beautiful view. Largest suite & extremely tastefully decorated. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Quite new & very clean. Luxury as well in bathroom appointments. Nice eating venues close by - thoroughly enjoyed stay

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annemU1193HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Customer service - where can I start? Told 2 boxes arrived the Thursday before and when arrived found out "still looking" ! Did not arrive. Patronising comments made by some reception staff on check in. I don't believe they looked twice. If had known not arrived the week before, after telephoning, where was told had arrived I would have contacted courier and then gone into Plan B. Then my company name was spelt incorrect so no confirmation email re booking received. Ignorance really. Told bc booked thru head office charged normal rate, although did state I was corporate rate. On booking my corporate credit card was charged immediately with $243.37, whilst others paid $160.00 for same room. So paid 4 May, although stayed 28 June. As a frequent traveller this has never happened before. Then got parking fine outside - as I had to stand in line whilst Asian bus load checked in and bus blocked Reception entry. Although parking - yes extra - $A8 per night on card apparently the parking fine will be over turned. Wait and see on hire car. Also noticed the shower had black hairs on the shower wall (I am blonde) - made me cringe. Another client staying on same floor complained that his wife had been "bitten" in the bed and was going to Reception to complain about bed bugs - really? People with me heading to Hobart and were going to stay there on way back from Hobart, hearing my displeasure, decided to either cancel booking or not go there. Supposed to be the top place for Launceston ..... Rude staff with condescending comments. As in the customer service business would never employ any of them - can't be bothered attitude and/or annoyed. If I was them not only would I gave spoken with the staff member concerned but also would have offered either a free breakfast or a bottle of wine or something for inconvenience caused.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank QueenscliffMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Not luxurious like other peppers hotels, especially when your paying top dollar. The reception lady had no idea how to book a james boag brewery tour and got back to us an hour after we just booked it ourselves, even though the hotel book in room says reception can book your tours, we enquired about the ghost tour, but again she said its not very good, I think again she just had no idea how to do it, meanwhile it was a fantastic tour! Wouldnt choose that location for peppers again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N1960PBlisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

This hotel overlooks the city and the Tamar and Esk Rivers and is located on the edge of the main town centre. We stayed in a city view one bedroom suite on level 3. We booked and prepaid via Wotif and got a pretty good rate which included free car parking (usually $8 a night) and internet. The room did look over the city centre and was very clean and stylishly decorated. This side of the hotel faces a busy main road (East Tamar Highway or the A8). I could hear trucks rumbling past or starting up near traffic lights and there isn't much privacy. A river view room would be better, however, I still enjoyed my stay. The apartment itself was quite huge with a separate bedroom and large hallway. The kitchen was fully equipped (full sized fridge, 4 hotplates, microwave dishwasher) except it did not have an oven which would be useful. I thoughy it could have a better range of pots and pans. So this is something to be mindful of if planning a longer stay and want to self cater. If you want to eat out there a few places to eat on the ground level e.g. Mud cafe - a bit pricey. There are lots of places to eat in Launceston around George Street about 5 mins drive away by car. The bed was very comfy and they even had bathrobes. The apartment is fully air conditioned and overall has very good lighting, which is difficult to find these days. The shower was good although a bit temperamental and the drain made a revolting gurgling sound. Peppers supply a lovely range of complimentary shampoos, body washes and lotions.

The living room area has ample seating. There are a lot of cable TV channels to choose from.

Reception and cleaning staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews