We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice and clean Hotel with not too many frills but delivered exactly what was promised. Great staff and clean rooms and in a perfect spot to discover Launceston and come back to at the end of the day. Lots of great cafe's & restaurants downstairs - highly recommend a Spanish style breakfast at Salsa Tapas & Wine Bar downstairs for something different.
Views over the Harbour are great but depending on how much time you spend looking out the windows the City Views are just as good for a little less $$.
Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the 2013 Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 948 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The suites are a generous size, traffic noise can be hard to get used to if you are used to a quite environment but as I said the rooms are very nice.
The staff are always friendly and there are lots of good places to eat nearby including fish and chips,
Mud and Levee food.
Also if you need a doctor dr Gary Kilov is available nearby I was able to get in to see him on the same day which was very handy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the 2013 Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed three nights after having a our other accommodation advise us 2 days before travelling that they'd double booked (we booked a month earlier). There wasn't a lot of option in Launceston for the Sunday night due to a music festival, and so Peppers welcomed us. The staff are very friendly and, for the most part, very helpful. Unfortunately we weren't afforded a river side view, rather the morning and afternoon sun on the road side, teamed with a light breeze kept our spirits high as we arrived during a hot spell.

The doors and window absolutely must be completely closed at night to keep out road noise of the morning, which means air conditioning on. Unfortunately, there is no split system in the bedroom so a waste of electricity is called for to cool/warm the whole unit, rather than just the room you need. Also, the blazing lights of the JMC car yard across the road do not cease until daylight and even though there are good black out curtains, because they only go to the edges of the windows light does tend to pour in the sides throughout the night. We rectified one side by leaning the ironing board against it.

Cooking facilities were very good indeed. Plenty of knives in the knife block, good utensils and all pots and pans you might need, as well as a full fridge and drawer dish-washer. Good location, central to many restaurants, to the cbd and to the fabulous zig zag walk to cataract gorge. It served as a good base camp for our travels around Tamar valley and Launceston

Room Tip: Take a room over the river or be prepared to take evasive measures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologise that there has been a delay in response to your feedback which coincides with a series of Management changes at the property. As the now appointed General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel I have reviewed all of the 2013 Tripadvisor responses to identify our Guests verdict on nominated areas for improving. We look forward to delivering on these recommendations throughout the New Year.
Thank you for your stay and I look forward to meeting soon to enjoy.

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We came to Launceston to stay for the night and we where very impressed by this hotel.
We had a riverview room which had an amazing outlook.
Peppers is in a great location within walking distance to town and plenty of great restaurants at the bottom of the hotel.
I was very impressed by the service of Pam and Piers who where always so pleasant to deal with.
Looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daelc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and five star rated.

I am excited that you were impressed with our location, front office service and cleanliness. Thank you for your recent stay with us. I trust our service and cleanliness will be consistent for your next visit.

Regards

Junio Karo Karo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. The apartment we were allocated had a lovely view over the riverfront and was very comfortable - as expected from the price. The location was good with several local restaurants and being near to town and Cataract Gorge.

Our stay at Peppers Seaport was marred by four incidents:

1. On our arrival at approximately 7 pm, we were sent up to our room but were surprised to find the apartment was not completely ready. The sofa bed in the living room was opened out but not made up. Shortly after our arrival, a maid arrived and proceeded to make up the bed, despite my telling her that it was unnecessary as there were only the two of us. When she left, we tried to close the sofa bed but, owing to the bulk of the bedding, this was unsuccessful. Consequently we stripped the bed and tried to close it without the bedclothes. This was also unsuccessful because the mechanism was faulty. We reported this when we went out to dinner and, in our absence, the sofa bed was closed up. However the bedding was left on a sidetable and remained there throughout the rest of our stay.
2. On our arrival, we were told that we would be charged $8 per night for parking. When we were out at dinner, we discovered that the parking charge listed on the ticket machines was only $5. In addition, our booking through booking.com had indicated that the charge for parking was $5. We were advised on our return that we would only be charged $5. However, when we checked out of the hotel, the account still listed the charge at $8 per night and I had to ask again for it to be reversed.
3. On our arrival, we asked for the code and password for the wireless internet. However the connection was so slow, it was impossible to use. When we left for dinner, we asked for this to be rectified. We were given a different code and password and told to try that. On our return, we did try but could not inactivate the original code. Next morning, we spoke to the person at the front desk and he promised to have the connection investigated by the IT staff and to disconnect the unsatisfactory code. On our return that evening, this had not been done and we were advised to “wait for 40 minutes when the original code would expire”. After this, the new code worked very well but we had missed 24 hours of internet contact.
4. On our arrival in our room, we found that, in addition to the sofa bed issue, there was a half-empty bottle of water in the bathroom. We took this down to the front desk when we went out to dinner. I was absolutely amazed to arrive back in Sydney and to receive a letter from “Pamela, Guest Service Agent “at the hotel who advised me that she had charged $6.12 to my credit card for a bottle of water from the mini bar. We did not use anything from the mini bar. At the very least, this charge must be refunded.

We have written to the Hotel group about these examples of poor management - not up to the standard expected of this group.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElspethGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding our complementary Internet as this facility are usually the most highly praised for our attentiveness. I apologise that it has failed you on this occasion.

Please accept my apology if our recently increase on car park charges does not communicate to Booking.com. I trust my team have reversed the charges accordingly.

Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will one day return to the Peppers Seaport and give us the opportunity to show you that we really can be exceptional in every sense.

Please contact myself directly should you wish to discuss anything further.

Regards

Junio Karo Karo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we had a river view room, It was clean and new looking, with a spacious sitting area, good wifi, and plent of electrical outlets.Comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. The position is very convenient, with a few good casual restaurants within walking distance.
breakfast is purchased in the cafe on the riverfront, pay per item, which suited us very well, it was good quality.
a trouble free stay in a good position with plent of parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

We very much value your review, and enjoyed your recommendation of choosing a room with a spacious room over one with a North Esk River view.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of our location and rooms standards. Please feel free to contact us if we can improve on room cleanliness, service and value.

Kind Regards

Junio Karo Karo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We started our Tasmanian tour in a spacious river view suite. Great views, well appointed, clean room. Being just out of the City centre was ideal, with plenty of riverside restaurants to choose from. As previously mentioned, service levels varied greatly. We used minimal facilities as this was our base for exploring the region. I suggest that some employees could be a little more motivated when providing hospitality services. A nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: River view rooms are at the rear, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much value your review, and enjoyed your recommendation of choosing a room with a spacious lounge over one with a North Esk River View. The joy of our pretigious hotel are the location of the hotel in Marina and variance in the room layout. I must agree with you, hotel's riverside is also my favourite view but there is no better side or better view isn't it. It's just personal preference. Personal photos on tripadvisor must be a good bonus for travelers as they can clearly see the real thing.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of our staff. I hope our team can be consistent in delivering an excellent service standards despite how busy sometime at front office.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to have you staying with us in recent future.

Regards
Junio Karo Karo
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Seaport Hotel

Address: 28 Seaport Bvd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $157 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Seaport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Seaport Hotel offers modern, waterfront accommodation, situated at the heart of Launceston's Old Seaport Dock area. Just a short walk from Launceston's town centre and 15 minutes drive from Launceston Airport the hotel offers deluxe rooms and suites with views overlooking the Esk River or the historic town and the mountains beyond. Guest room facilities include air conditioning, broadband internet access, minibar, TV, mini-stereo. If you are staying in a Suite there are additional facilities including DVD player, large refrigerator, fully equipped kitchen and all feature a balcony. Mud Bar and Restaurant serving an eclectic mix of cuisines from around the world. To accompany your meal indulge in superb Tasmanian wines while admiring captivating Tamar Valley views. Adventures further afield include the impressive Cataract Gorge, the famous James Boag brewery and if youre a wine lover, Launcestons Tamar Valley, home to one of Australia's major cool-climate wine growing regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Seaport Launceston
Hotel Peppers Seaport
Peppers Seaport Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing